We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely book this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #30 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely book this hotel”
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We recently stayed at this hotel which we booked over the internet, and I have to say that it was everything and more! The room we stayed in was comfortable , very stylish, with elegant settings, and also being family friendly. The kids loved the indoor heated pool and the cable tv was a real hit. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen was also great to cook in. The room service was efficent and delicious, and very reasonable.
I would definately give them a 10. Will definitely be telling my friends and re -booking a stay!!!!

  • Liked — Up tp date furnishings
  • Disliked — ????????????????
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adamjohn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    363
    88
    25
    16
See reviews for
235
398
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tocumwal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Upon entering the hotel we were treated like royalty. No wait to book in and no problems. Room was perfect- clean and had all the comforts of home available.
We didn't dine in due to other commitments
Upon check out the service was equally as good.
We would definately recommend and will stay there when we are in Melbourne again.

  • Liked — efficent and friendly service
  • Disliked — no negative experiences
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank micheletocumwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corlette,Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We had the best "Mother, Daughter, Grand Daughter. holiday The position is excellent for shopping , the service and the staff
are excellent , I would recommend this Hotel to all
Regards Sunday9

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We are just back from a weekend in Melbourne staying at The Clarion Gateway Suites. We booked a one bedroom riverview room thru Wotif.com. We had 2 adults and 2 kids (11 and 6) and requested a King bed, double divan and rollaway. When we checked in we were upgraded to a Deluxe Riverview, which are a bit bigger than the "regular". We were on the 13th floor in a corner room. Great views up Flinders st, and, from bedroom and lounge, fantasitc views of the Yarra and Crown. We didnt get the rollaway as requested, but I figure the room upgrade outweighed that. Yes the trains and trams do go past on Flinders, but unless you are a very light sleeper they shoulkd be no bother. They are not unlike the rumble on the New York subway. Anyways the windows in the bedroom are sort of double glazed. As mentioned in another review, the bedroom is quite small with only 1 bedside table, but to counter that the King size bed is HUGE! And we were only there to sleep. The bedroom had adequate robe space, floor to ceiling windows, curtains that blocked out the light pretty good, a phone/alarm clock and a tv. The lounge had the same full length windows and good curtaining, a double divan that the kids slept on together, a flat screen LCD tv, a small stereo/cd player in the tv cabinet, an armchair, work desk and chair and 6 seat dining table. There was a small balcony that looked up Flinders st not really good for much as it is non smoking area, too small for more than one and quite noisy as the AC compressor takes up the other half of the balcony..All furniture and funishings were in good condition and there didnt appear to be any stains on the carpets. The kitchen was well equipped with all appliances including dishwasher (with soap) and a front loader washer/dryer and there appeared to be adequate crockery and cutlery for 4. The was a good size fridge/freezer with some mini bar items, but beware of doing the "ol switcheroo" with these items though they appear to be marked. The bathroom had a shower into the bath with good pressure and hot water supply, a vanity that was well lit, a hair dryer and soaps and shampoos in individual bottles. (the way I like them, not those horrible european pump things on the wall!) Once again, allthe bathroom fixture/fittings looked fairly new and clean. The lifts and common areas were clean and in good condition, there always appeared tro be staff cleaning and mopping everywhere even the front steps. The staff were very friendly and greeted guests with a smile smile and a greeting. The pool on level 5 is small, but adequate for the amount of people using it at the time we were there, but if there was a rush on to the pool it could fill up easily. There were also some tables and chairs to relax on poolside. Beware though the pool surround tiles are slippery. Check out was fast, and staff asked us about holding our bags for the day, before we had to ask them! We didnt use the hotel carparking so cant comment on it.
Location is excellent, close to trams on Flinders st, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown and Southbank, 2 blocks to Spencer st and the tram to St Kilda. Maccas is 2 blocks uphill (on Collins) for brekky in the morning (the hotel restaurant and bar were being renovated while we were there). Be sure to keep an eye out (Really you cant miss it!) for the Fire show at The Crown, on the hour from 9pm. The whole room lights up, quite spectacular. And just over Queens bridge (opposite the hotel) is the Eureka Tower and the 88th floor lookout, well work the trip at dusk. Thre is a 20% off voucher in the tourist brouchures, brought the family ticket down to $31.50.
I can highly recommend Clarion Gateway Suites, for location, room space, staff and cleanliness.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Only one towell rack in bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry00seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Very conveniently located - directly opposite Crown casino and the happenings at Southbank.
The apartments were large, well stocked with everything you could need. Some small maintenance issues but on the whole above average furnishings. Bedroom is very small, and difficult to move around with only one bedside table but the rest of the apartment makes up for that.
Staff were good - especially the guy working on Xmas night (and again Boxing Day morning!). He was very friendly and helpful - remembering names and appearing geniune in his enquiries, a definite asset to this hotel.
Great views of Melbourne and the river from the apartments and a small walk to the tram.
Enjoyed the first day of the Boxing Day Test (which turned out to be the best day!) and won tickets to Wicked in their lottery. If you haven't heard about the Wicked lottery (Wicked is a great musical running at the Regent Theatre) then get along to the Regent Theatre 2.5 hours before a performance, put your name down in the drawer and cross your fingers. If your name is drawn out and you are present (drawn within the half hour window when people enter) then you 'win' front row tickets to the next performance for $30 each (as opposed to $120 full price). Great idea and well worthwhile entering - you never know your luck!

  • Liked — The views and location
  • Disliked — Small bedroom with little room to move around or unpack
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Billi_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I stayed in a one-bed river view suite at the CSG for 11 nights over Christmas as an extension of a business trip. The hotel surpassed my expectations in several ways. The views are quite stunning - down to the MCG (the cricket ground) in one direction and over the river in the other. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the bed was particularly cosy. I was on the 13th floor so didn't get the noise that some reviewers have complained about. The kitchen was reasonably well-equipped and the bathroom was fine. The suite had a microwave, a fridge, a cooker, a dishwasher and a washing machine.

In terms of location CSG is excellent with Flinders St station a couple of minutes away, trams everywhere and some good food shops close by.

The wireless internet access isn't free and set me back $40/week which isn't clear from the CSG website. The pool is pretty small and there's no gym. You can get complimentary access to a health club across the street, though.

All in all I loved CSG and would happily go back tonight.

  • Liked — Location, comfort and the views
  • Disliked — Paying for the wireless internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

I have had 2 stays at 2 different hotels in Melbourne recently. I'm surprised that the Clarion Suites currently rates better (by a few places) on tripadvisor compared to Mantra on Russell. My stay at Clarion Suites was ok; but not quite as good as Mantra on Russell. Here's why:

The carpark was a little scary - hard to maneouvre around and some steep bits.
The balcony in my room on the 17th floor was even scarier - it was about 1.5 x 1 metre and the floor was like a metal grate that you could see through... Also, the day I arrived, it was a very windy day, and there was a horrible high-pitched noise of the wind coming through a crack in the door to the balcony.
When I booked, I said a view would be nice - the view I got was a reflection of the Yarra and Crown in the window of a neighbouring buliding.
There was no bath in the room, and no spa in the pool area.
The room was fairly clean I guess - a few hairs and crumbs here and there. I have seen better attention-to-detail before. The cutlery wasn't entirely clean, chipped crockery, etc.
The room service food wasn't that great - limp salad with my steak; apple and berry crumble wasn't the best.
This can't be helped, but - I had noisy neighbours. I managed to get a good sleep though.

This sounds all fairly negative so far! On a good note, it had a bedroom separate to the open plan kitchen/lounge area. The location was great for the wedding I attended at the Treasury at the Sebel. I imagine the location is also great if you have a function at Crown or Southbank.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lacked a little attention-to-detail
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catdon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
1,642 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,827 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing