We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
morwell
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on 1 st of August we booked a mystery hotel and scored a one bedroom apartment . Our room was lovely and clean the apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a washing machine/dryer as well . Reception were friendly but the type who are boardering on being up themselves not the down to earth type . Parking at this hotel was easy the drive was to the right of the front entrance and about $25 a night . This hotel is a short walk to the casino and flinders st station . We would stay again

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pammyMorwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your post and also for staying with us.
Please do accept, my apologise, in that our communication was not delivered to you at a level of heightened hospitality; I would like to assure you that we value all our hotel guests, and that your comfort is and will be our main focus.
It is very important to recognize that we appreciate your patronage which has allowed us to be of service to you, with this in mind and in the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. Join today.
We do hope to welcome you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    354
    85
    25
    14
See reviews for
227
387
66
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

This room was booked using a Mystery Deal with a third party vendor. We took the risk not knowing where the hotel is going to be located. I was pleasantly surprised to get a hotel facing the Yarra River, walking distance to bus and tram and right across is the promenade where shops and array of restaurants are located. So it was a beautiful experience. It was a one bedroom suite with ample living area space on the tenth floor. Huge decent washing machine , microwave, kettle and toaster and oven. Full kitchen facilities. Decor is decent, white and neutrals with furniture not so tired looking. The only gripe is the mystery deal that came with mention of wifi specific to the room but the hotel refused to honour what was shown when presented with our booking deal/invoice. They said wifi is provided in the hotel but not for the room. So we have to take it up with the third party vendor. But I feel the hotel can be gracious enough to do the extra mile to offer at least a free one hour for us in the room without payment or call the third party vendor to clarify instead of putting the onus on us . We were told we can access free wifi in the lobby bar Williams if we get a drink OR pay $5 for an hour or $14 per 24 hours with the hotel. More can be done by the Assistant manager we spoke to and Diem the hotel counter staff. That aside, the bedroom is a proper room and not separated by some wooden cupboard panel. My room had no view, it was facing another office building but that is no issue with me as i was only spending a night in Melb. Bed is great which has a Sealy mattress. Bathroom is very tight, space for one person each time. No sink area top to put your toiletries and please bring along your toothbrush and toothpaste. All other soaps are provided. This hotel has no balcony. I did not have time to explore the rest of the hotel except for the room itself. The location is great to take a tram to the offices three stops away or to the newish shopping area in Harbour Town or Etihad Stadium. For great dining experience, I suggest trying the Promenade which is within walking distance from Clarion Suites Gateway across the road and river.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for your post.
We are most pleased to hear that almost all aspects of your stay was satisfactory, please do accept my apologies for the internet charge confusion; I think most hotels face this dilemma. Although we do understand that guest expectation does suggest that it should be complimentary, cost of this service delivery into the hotel does not allow this possibility at this time. Therefore we entertained the notion of incorporating the cost of internet in the room rate, which did not offer a fair proposition, as some guest are already connected, and a fair percentage of guest do not use the internet.
Of course I was very concerned that this charge part of a Mystery Package was denoted inclusive, unfortunately we were unable to locate this site, and therefore it will be of great assistance if you will kindly let us know which site it’s implied.
We do also offer – Studio rooms, 2 & 3 bedroom suites for extended stays, or for families, all our suites are fully equipped.
One of the key selling points of our location in that we boast one of the best views that Melbourne has to offer, in particular the fantastic views over the Southbank and the nightly Casino fireball show. The fireball show is performed every evening on the hour and it is truly magical, one should have a camera handy. We do suggest taking advantage of these sensational views in the event that we have the pleasure of your company once again.
Also as a measure of value adding - may I take this opportunity in recommending our - One William Club program - which offers 20% discount off, almost all hotel services – including food beverage & internet. Please do access our site for further information.
Our quality Sealy beds were part of our refurbishment program, and we do have more work to do, such new curtains, 48inch Smart TV’s, and additional pieces of furniture.
Thank you so much for staying with us - and if I may be of further service please do contact me directly at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great central location on the corner of William & Flinders sts. My husband and I were both down here for different work commitments, he in the North end of central Melbourne and I at the convention centre, so it was great. The rooms are very comfortable. We were originally allocated an apartment on the 5th level facing the Flinders st and the Yarra. IT was light airy with great views BUT... the train noise from the Flinders st stations tracks right opposite our apartment balcony was quite loud, starting from about 5 am till 1 am in the morning constantly. The staff however were terrific. A special thank you to Miko at reception for moving us to a much quieter, equally comfortable apartment at the north facing end on the 15th level. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Marie,

Thank you for your recent review, this is most welcome.
In particular glad to hear that Mikko made another room available for you, your comfort is our primary goal.

Due to the very nature of our location opposite the - Yarra River, generally the double window glazing in all the bedrooms does provide protection towards any noise intrusion, however, the effective functionality of the double glazing works best when the second panel of glass is sealed closed.

We do also have in our hotel rooms which are located facing north, although these rooms do not offer any views over the Yarra River & the fantastic nightly Casino fireball show, we will be more than happy to oblige with your preference.

We do appreciate your patronage and in the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. Join today.

Please do let me know if I may be of further assistance to you, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Clarion in August.

The stand out feature of our stay was the fantastic service. Every staff member we encountered during our stay was friendly & extremely helpful. They all appeared to truly love their jobs & that their main priority was to have happy guests. Jana on reception & Assistant Hotel Manager was like a glass of champagne - always bright & bubbly. Nothing was ever a problem for Jana.

Our apartment was spotlessly clean - housekeeping did a fabulous job every day. The beds are amazing!! The bathroom in the second bedroom was small but was more than adequate. The kitchen in the main part of the apartment had everything you needed for an extended stay. The location was great - tram stops close, convention centre close, grocery stores handy. We found the rooms to be quiet apart from the odd bit of usual city noise.

All in all, a perfect stay & we will most certainly stay again. Thanks to all the team at Clarion for making us feel like we were at home.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room at the front of the building overlooking the Yarra. The view at night is bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelofBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and most importantly for allowing us to be of service to you. Your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance.
We welcome your commendation concerning Jana she is delighted to have had the opportunity in making your stay more comfortable.
It is pleasing to read that our hotel met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms consisting of Studio rooms, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments which accommodate singles, couples and families of all sizes.
Our location is indeed very convenient and it is kind of you to highlight this. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Isabel Garcia – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our first stay in the hotel and we were very impressed. We unexpectedly received an amazing upgrade and loved everything about the hotel. The staff were lovely and helpful, the location was fantastic and the views were amazing. The rooms were clean and comfy. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: River view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Justene,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
As a measure of value adding on your next visit, if not already a member, may I take this opportunity in recommending our - One William Club program - which offers 20% discount off almost all hotel services, including food beverage. Please do visit our website for further information.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed on 14 floors with a view of the river. We were amazed by the firework displayed.

Great location. Easy walk to the city.

The staff is frendly. But we have not got two beds as booked. It was too late when we checked in, we didn't request for a change.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the view from one of our River View rooms, the views are fantastic, overlooking Southbank and the nightly Casino fireball show. We like to think that we have a bit of Las Vegas at our door step.
In regards to the bedding configuration, we do apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced. This is most regrettable and I would like to assure you that our Front Office Manager and Executive Housekeeper have been made aware of your comments with the need for improved service standards and attention to detail.
Also in the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. Please do visit our website for further information.
We do hope to welcome you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've stayed here numerous times when on business for trade fairs, good value, close to the casino for cheap parking and movies. Alway pay for the river view rooms it's great. The breakfast are good as well.

Room Tip: River view rooms or better still the corner view. Australia is a bit slow with free wifi.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tania h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Tania,

Thank you for your review and your continued patronage, it is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We have to agree we are situated in a great location and with Crown Entertainment Complex and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoy our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Isabel Garcia – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing