We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The gateway is located on the corner of William and flinders st in Melbourne so is a perfect location for walking to the casino area or the main part of Melbourne City. Trams from the front door get to the mcg and rod laver. Rooms are usually pretty good, and the suites are perfect for a trip away containing a kitchen and washing machine/dryer.
Staff are always great, with nothing too much trouble.
Would give it 5 except the rooms are a little tired, but I've just found out they are starting renovations so I look forward to upgrading the rating in the future.

Room Tip: Try for a flinders st room on a higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor.
You are correct, we are very excited to be in a position to advise that after a long process our new prototype refurbished room has been approved. Therefore we are programmed to complete this project by mid-year 2014.
In the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. If you are not already a member, join today!
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    356
    88
    25
    15
See reviews for
229
390
66
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Svizzera
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice place, in a nice location, very central and within the Central Business district CBD of Melbourne.
Strategic position to visit the whole city by feet (Federation Square, Flinders street station and so on are not that far).

Warmly recomended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raf_1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we have to agree that our location is near to many attractions like the Crown Entertainment Complex, Yarra River and south gate shopping precinct and we appreciate that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arzier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

In Melbourne, just discovered Chinatown and Greektown off Bourke street, which turned out to be a pedestrian area. Streets full of mostly young people of all colors, shapes and sizes. Restaurants can be dry, byo or fully licensed. Found this Thai restaurant and am having money bags, duck curry and a draught beer. Waitress with a heavy accent and difficulties to pronounce draught. A young couple next to me checking their cell phones more than each other. Older American couple taken shots of their food, for further reference in case of litigation, I guess. Most livable city in the world? You betcha.

Went through a side alley with Chinese neon signs I don't know the hell they were advertising. My money bags are coming, five (five! Is that some kind of lucky number in Thailand?). Meat inside tastes again like they chopped up the whole chicken, bones and all. Authentic, I think you call this. The draught is not a draught, but comes in a bottle. Discovered a pub around corner that looks promising.

Asia has half of the world's population, and it's growing fast. Australia's has grown exponentially, and so has Melbourne. Hotel manager at Carlton suites last night (a guy from Turkey having lived in Germany as a kid and came to this place in the seventies) told us that there was nothing much the other side of the Yarra river then. Now there is the tallest apartment building in Australia, a huge conference and exhibition center, and a casino where the wharf used to be. They kept a sailboat and a dilapidated shack just for old time's sake there. Beautiful promenade along the river, with restaurants for the lunch crowd, with bicycles to rent, music from the loudspeakers in the morning, and fire blasts at night. Gotta be careful not to be run over by all the people going to work by bike, though.

Carlton suites: a little run down hotel just opposite the train tracks, and a stone throw away from the river, and about 10 mins form the conference center. Staff and management try to keep appearances, and they almost succeed. Renovations are starting now. As a sort of excuse they offered free drinks and nibbles at the bar last night, that's when I had a chat with the manager. Suites are huge, I had a two-room with a fully equipped kitchen, TV in the living and the bedroom, a washing machine, huge bathroom with a tub (I mean, a real tub you could soak in, not the American variety), and did I mention the balcony? Floor-to ceiling windows were double glazed, did not here a thing from the street and train ten stories down. Yep, there were scratches and old paint and a leather sofa a tad worn down, definitely a fixer-upper, but really nothing to worry about. WiFi for 15 bucks, and for one device only. Breakfast was continental, with specialties to order, with some really decent bread. Bang for the buck? Çok güsel, as they say in Turkey, very nice. Will stay there also with my significant other on my next trip down here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a night after staying over at least 18 months beforehand. The staff recognised me and was down to earth and wonderful! The serviced was once again tops, and the rooms were crisp and clean. The restaurant had a huge variety of food and breakfast was great. it's close enough to walk into the CBD of Melbourne too. No noise from the busy streets and a great view of the South Bank. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the South Bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingfox2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel. We really appreciate your comments about our rooms, amenities, staff and location and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Have just spent weekend at the Clarion Suites. We had a one bedroom apartment on 14th floor overlooking river. Everything about our stay was perfect. The apartment was lovely, very clean, spacious and had everything you need. Great kitchen, bathroom with washing machine, there was nothing we could fault. The view was awesome, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great too, and was included in our deal. Perfectly situated within walking distance to a lot of things in Melbourne. Thankyou Clarion Suites!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your comments about rooms, amenities, staff and location and we hope to welcome you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovedale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

third time we have stayed here , the most friendly place to stay , the views are fantastic, the service amazing, central to all Melbourne has to offer ,would recommend to all whether it be a family stay or a couples romantic stay , you will enjoy

Room Tip: book a room with a view, you pay a little more , for so much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Brett,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome here at our Hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to our service, the team are delighted to have made your stay a more memorable one. We have to agree the River view rooms do offer amazing views of some of the city’s best attractions.
We look forward to having you stay with us next time you visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Amazing view from our room..level 11..and not expensive..room was clean and spacious with kitchen, separate bedroom and living..a small balcony as well..
Close to southbank and the shops in cbd..
Not the most luxurious hotel but the view was amazing! Will go there next time for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oly72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your comments about our rooms, amenities location and views.
A bit of news - we are very excited to be in a position to advise that after a long process our new proto- type refurbished room has been approved. Therefore we are programed to complete this project by mid-year 2014.
In the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. If you aren’t already a member, join today!
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing