We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Amazing view from our room..level 11..and not expensive..room was clean and spacious with kitchen, separate bedroom and living..a small balcony as well..
Close to southbank and the shops in cbd..
Not the most luxurious hotel but the view was amazing! Will go there next time for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oly72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your comments about our rooms, amenities location and views.
A bit of news - we are very excited to be in a position to advise that after a long process our new proto- type refurbished room has been approved. Therefore we are programed to complete this project by mid-year 2014.
In the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. If you aren’t already a member, join today!
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just had our 5th Stay at these suites. As usual it was a fantastic experience. Very, very nice one bedroom apartment, with fantastic river views from a private balcony. I don't think we could stay in a better position in Melbourne. Easy walk to a heap of the city attractions. Friendly, helpful staff always make us feel welcome. Beautiful buffet breakfast to round off the stay. 5 times a pleasure.

Room Tip: definitely go for the river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your comments about our rooms, location and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here over Superbowl weekend in February. Good price, and they upgraded me to a river view room, which was great. The location was very good, as most of what I was doing was around the CBD. It's only a short walk to Federation Square, and across the Yarra to the Crown Casino. The room was clean, and the air conditioning cold! Helpful staff and a decent restaurant.

Room Tip: great hotel to stay at in Melbourne CBD
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evanrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Evan,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location, room features and service, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great hotel in a very convenient location in the city. A free wine bottle to enjoy the stay is a bonus. One small drawback about this hotel - it doesn't offer free WIFI for us while in our room. Room is comfortable and TV does have captions - perfect for deaf and hard of hearing people who stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Stephen,

We do appreciate your post. Thank you also for your comment re the internet. We continue to strive to assess our fees for services offered and it remains a real challenge with the internet, due to constraints and the lack of a cohesive national broadband system. However, we will be reviewing our current fees for this service based on guest comments, and I would like to also make you aware of our One William Club membership which offers 20% discount off most hotel services which also includes the internet. The cost of this service remains prohibitively expensive for most Australian hotels, and I am unsure how we will progress in the future. Thanks for staying with us, we hope to have the pleasure of your company when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

stayed for one night over labour day weekend and was totally impressed. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a view of the river and it ticked all the boxes. Very clean , enough space. The washing machine in the kitchen was an added bonus. The balcony with the view was fantastic. The bed was pretty comfortable and the bathroom was quite large. Our check in and check out was smooth with the reception people extremely nice and helpful. We had a few drinks in the adjacent bar/restaurant and thought it was quite nice although we did not eat any food from there. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to other people looking for a place to stay in melbourne with an A+ location close to everything.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnchartedGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms, amenities and service and are pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in a 2 bedroom apartment over looking the Yarra. Great for a family stay. The apartment was huge! We had a corner room and it was bright and sunny in the morning, the double windows blocked out any road noise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asifwecant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope that we may see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Clarion and our room was adjacent to the lifts. unfortunately, one lift was being repaired leaving the second one making a noise which was a little disturbing. Even though the Hotel was almost full, reception managed to find us another room for the night which was superb. The Customer Service was faultless and even though the Hotel is shortly to be refurbished, we found it very clean and extremely comfortable. Great bar, great restaurant and sensational service. We shall return. Thank you.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a yarra view room, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Patti,

Thank you for your review, we do apologise that one of the lifts was being repaired during your stay, unfortunately that was out of our control. It is pleasing to read that we were able to provide you with a suitable alternative.
We do pride ourselves on our customer service and it is pleasing to read that we exceeded your expectations.
As you mentioned we are very excited to be in a position to advise that after a long process our new proto- type refurbished room has been approved. Therefore we are programed to complete this project by mid-year 2014.
We do look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#25 of 162 in Melbourne
200 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
669 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#90 of 162 in Melbourne
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $77 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing