We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Penthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Night Penthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We recently had a wedding at the Crown Complex, we decided to stay in the top floor Penthouse of this hotel, fantastic spacious room with everything and great views of the city. We had 3 couples staying in the 3 bedroom suite and all commented on how good accommodation was along with breakfast buffet the next morning.

Would reccomend this to all friends

Room Tip: Face the Yarra River for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitdads L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation, the team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    354
    85
    25
    14
See reviews for
227
387
66
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked into a Studio Riverview room and were on the 15th floor, it was a Saturday night and we paid $301.99. There was a huge festival on (White nite) In Melbourne and the room rates everywhere we tried were very high (some as high as $800 a night, for example), and this was reasonable in comparison and had a very central location on Flinders Street. Loved having a view of the river. The hotel was slightly older than some we had stayed in but the room had everything we needed, and included a desk with a chair, a table with 2 chairs for eating at, AND a two seater settee - great! Perfect if on business. It was also spacious. Also a microwave, "kitchen sink", a fridge, etc all behind a cupboard so no noise. Also a bathroom, with a shower and a bath together, plus a sink in a separate area which is a bonus - can still clean your teeth or put your makeup on while someone is on the toilet! There was no problem with noise from the street or railways, as they had two lots of double glazing on the windows, there was an occasional low rumble from a train but this was quieter than the airconditioning in many hotels. Their airconditioning was quiet. The people on the front desk were consistently superb both days - so happy and helpful - Diem was outstanding and Tom too. Thank you! Yes I'd be happy to stay here again especially for work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelGreenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Rachel Green Travel,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments about our rooms, amenities and location.
We pride ourselves on our customer service and Diem and Tom are delighted to read that they were able to make your stay a memorable one.
A bit of news - we are very excited to be in a position to advise that after a long process our new proto- type refurbished room has been approved. Therefore we are programed to complete this project by mid-year 2014.
In the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. If you aren’t already a member, join today!
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

2nd time we have stayed here and always have a Deluxe One Bedroom Riverview Suite. It is just a perfect location with fantastic views with the floor to ceiling windows over looking the Yarra and Crown complex. The room, the food, the facilities and the cleanliness of the whole hotel is first class. What a delight to have beautiful clean towels every day. The access to transport is wonderful with a tram stop within mins away and Crown Casino a 5min walk. Thank you for our wonderful stay can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room well worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmossy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciated your positive comments about rooms and location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over a weekend and it was the perfect location for accessing the CBD and nearby suburbs. Great to have the option to leave the car in the car park and walk or tram it. Tram and train stops right nearby. A 5 minute walk to Crown Casino and the river walk restaurant precinct.

The hotel itself is great, very nice room with a stunning view over the river and across to Southbank. The room was modern and comfortable with good amenities and plenty of space.
There's a cafe on the ground floor open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner, but I only had the opportunity to eat breakfast there. Pretty darn good and reasonably priced.

Big kudos to the staff, who provided outstanding service and were unfailingly friendly and helpful, both at reception and in the restaurant.

No hesitation to book this place again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiguy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we have to agree we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and the team are delighted to read that they made your stay any enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ask always for a River view room. It will add 1000% to your enjoyment of the location and views.

The location is so close to all transport options. I left at 4.30am and a Taxi was at the front on a rank, available without booking. The Reception staff , God bless them for their friendliness and efficiency, helped my early morning departure with a complimentary bread selection, so I could make toast for a quick 4am breakfast. Early morning checkout very expeditious if you settle the night before.

Only downside is they still have not embraced free wi fi. Why are some big hotel chains so greedy of the revenue stream they should let go of ?

Room Tip: If you can afford, ask for a river view room as it adds 1005 experience happiness to your stay compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. We must agree the River View rooms do offer amazing views of the Yarra River as well as a few of Melbourne’s other iconic landmarks.
We continue to look at ways to reduce or even eliminate the cost of Internet for our guests, however, with the current restraints and the lack of a cohesive national broadband system in Australia it is a real challenge. I would like to assure you that it is not a matter of hotels being ambitious, more so the cost of service delivery remains very cost prohibitive due to subsidies in remote areas of this vast country.
In the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services including the internet. If you aren’t already a member, join today!
A bit of news - we are very excited to be in a position to advise that after a long process our new proto- type refurbished room has been approved. Therefore we are programed to complete this project by mid-year 2014.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was the first time we have stayed at the Hotel. Will certainly be going back, we loved everything about the stay. The room, the food, the facilities, the staff and the cleanliness of the whole hotel were first class.
Highly recommend it to all travelers whether families, couples, business.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights through a "mystery hotel" deal. Previous reviews here led me to believe it would be a great place to stay, but we were disappointed.

Good points are it's location, the on-site car parking (at $27 day its cheaper than other aces I've stayed in Melbourne, but it's small and the parks are tight) the cleanliness and the service.

Bad points are the sofa coverings were worn through to the cushioning and need replacing, and the bed was uncomfortable as it dipped in the middle and I woke up with a sore back both mornings.

We knew we were getting a room without a view due to the deal, but were pleasantly surprised to see how much light came in the large windows.

Since our stay I've learned they are embarking on a refurbishment soon, and it is needed in my opinion. I wouldn't give it 4.5 stars as RACV has done - it is 3 stars based on my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreqAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, although, I would have hoped that we were in a position to better care for you during your recent stay with us, as this is our primary goal. Please do accept my apologies that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion, this is regrettable.
All hotel ratings are facilitated by national body- AAA Tourism, and generally hotels do not have much input in this determination process, based on this formula we recognize that we must implement refurbishment. Therefore, we are very excited to be in a position after a long process to approve our new proto- type refurbished room on the - 14th Feb.
Based on this, we hope that the program will be completed by mid-year 2014.
As a measure of promoting value, we opted to make rooms available at deep discounts; therefore, this package forms part of that undertaking until we have concluded refurbishment.
We sincerely wish that we will have an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing