We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location with an extraordinary view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #33 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Handy location with an extraordinary view”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over a weekend and it was the perfect location for accessing the CBD and nearby suburbs. Great to have the option to leave the car in the car park and walk or tram it. Tram and train stops right nearby. A 5 minute walk to Crown Casino and the river walk restaurant precinct.

The hotel itself is great, very nice room with a stunning view over the river and across to Southbank. The room was modern and comfortable with good amenities and plenty of space.
There's a cafe on the ground floor open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner, but I only had the opportunity to eat breakfast there. Pretty darn good and reasonably priced.

Big kudos to the staff, who provided outstanding service and were unfailingly friendly and helpful, both at reception and in the restaurant.

No hesitation to book this place again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiguy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we have to agree we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and the team are delighted to read that they made your stay any enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    371
    89
    25
    16
See reviews for
242
401
67
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ask always for a River view room. It will add 1000% to your enjoyment of the location and views.

The location is so close to all transport options. I left at 4.30am and a Taxi was at the front on a rank, available without booking. The Reception staff , God bless them for their friendliness and efficiency, helped my early morning departure with a complimentary bread selection, so I could make toast for a quick 4am breakfast. Early morning checkout very expeditious if you settle the night before.

Only downside is they still have not embraced free wi fi. Why are some big hotel chains so greedy of the revenue stream they should let go of ?

Room Tip: If you can afford, ask for a river view room as it adds 1005 experience happiness to your stay compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. We must agree the River View rooms do offer amazing views of the Yarra River as well as a few of Melbourne’s other iconic landmarks.
We continue to look at ways to reduce or even eliminate the cost of Internet for our guests, however, with the current restraints and the lack of a cohesive national broadband system in Australia it is a real challenge. I would like to assure you that it is not a matter of hotels being ambitious, more so the cost of service delivery remains very cost prohibitive due to subsidies in remote areas of this vast country.
In the interest of adding more value, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services including the internet. If you aren’t already a member, join today!
A bit of news - we are very excited to be in a position to advise that after a long process our new proto- type refurbished room has been approved. Therefore we are programed to complete this project by mid-year 2014.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was the first time we have stayed at the Hotel. Will certainly be going back, we loved everything about the stay. The room, the food, the facilities, the staff and the cleanliness of the whole hotel were first class.
Highly recommend it to all travelers whether families, couples, business.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights through a "mystery hotel" deal. Previous reviews here led me to believe it would be a great place to stay, but we were disappointed.

Good points are it's location, the on-site car parking (at $27 day its cheaper than other aces I've stayed in Melbourne, but it's small and the parks are tight) the cleanliness and the service.

Bad points are the sofa coverings were worn through to the cushioning and need replacing, and the bed was uncomfortable as it dipped in the middle and I woke up with a sore back both mornings.

We knew we were getting a room without a view due to the deal, but were pleasantly surprised to see how much light came in the large windows.

Since our stay I've learned they are embarking on a refurbishment soon, and it is needed in my opinion. I wouldn't give it 4.5 stars as RACV has done - it is 3 stars based on my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreqAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, although, I would have hoped that we were in a position to better care for you during your recent stay with us, as this is our primary goal. Please do accept my apologies that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion, this is regrettable.
All hotel ratings are facilitated by national body- AAA Tourism, and generally hotels do not have much input in this determination process, based on this formula we recognize that we must implement refurbishment. Therefore, we are very excited to be in a position after a long process to approve our new proto- type refurbished room on the - 14th Feb.
Based on this, we hope that the program will be completed by mid-year 2014.
As a measure of promoting value, we opted to make rooms available at deep discounts; therefore, this package forms part of that undertaking until we have concluded refurbishment.
We sincerely wish that we will have an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the patch
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Well here i am again reviewing Clarion Gateway Suites.Just spent a relaxing couple of days in Melbourne with my family over the Australia Day long weekend at Clarion and it just always seems like home when we return.Fantastic staff with great sense of humor,especially Thomas who always gives me a laugh when we see him there!!We were given a lovely 2 bedroom apartment on the 17th floor and we were not dissapointed with the fantastic bottle of wine and cookies on arrival.Once again Tony and his team made us feel more than welcome and that is why my fanily and i choose to stay here because if you remain loyal then Tony and his wonderful staff will remain loyal to you.Thank you once again for a wonderful time in Melbourne and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a deluxe corner suite on a high floor for the awesome views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePatchDasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your continued support it is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel.
We really appreciate your comments about our facilities, staff and service. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Tony & The Clarion Suites Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel previously with family and friends.my last visit was 2days ago and it was a wonderful experience.our group checked in late after a day at the tennis and got a fantastic shock to be upgraded to the penthouse.the staff are always very helpful,the beds comfortable,the hotel is well located to the city and southbank.room service was delicious and efficient.the porters were most helpful with all our luggage-there were 5 of us.highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suites are great for family or groups.they overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and also your continued support, it is well regocnised and most welcome at our Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This day and age it's so easy for hotels to know you are previous visitor and they of course love to welcome you back. This of course leaves the situation wide open to say thanks for having me back, especially after last time I visited. The staff at Clarion do have a sense of humor. This hotel is in a great location, a part of the CBD and a couple of torpedoes, with the wind, from Crown Casino.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chestyhorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciated you taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. Thank you for your comments about our staff, we do pride ourselves on our customer service and we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,517 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,734 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
177 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing