We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #32 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartments”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have just returned to the UK from a holiday in Oz. The Clarion was an excellent location, very friendly staff, very clean and well appointed, nice choice of breakfast. Excellent location for the city, Sports locations and sights - stands on the bank of the Yarra River in the city centre. The view from my bedroom was absolutely stunning. One member of staff dealt with a very difficult problem in a very professional manner. Would definitely return.

Chris Jones, Shrewsbury

Room Tip: Front of hotel - overlooking the river - higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hristopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your recent stay in Melbourne, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    371
    90
    25
    16
See reviews for
242
403
67
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have just returned home from our stay after booking this last minute on wotif as a mystery booking. Upon check in we were pleasantly upgraded to a one bedroom deluxe room with a view, we had intended to only stay the one night but upon seeing the view we booked an additional night. The staff were friendly & extremely helpful & location perfect. We loved it that much that we intend on booking for NYE. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Kate,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments about our location, amenities and staff. We are delighted that you choose to extend your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for NYE. In the interest of adding value to your next stay, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. To find out more please visit our website today.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

When I booked this hotel, I was advised that there was no views. I was surprised to have seen the view. OK it was into a the other building, but I got to see in the windows of the other building, the Crown Towers as well as the gas display in the night every night we were there. The good thing was there were 2 tvs which came in handy when you didnt want to see the same thing, we got a complimentary newspaper we asked for, and amenities when we asked for it. The only thing I found an issue was that the indoor pool was a little smaller than i anticipated, but overall, loved it and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawks_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Hatzina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. We appreciate your comments about our location and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Booked this as a mystery hotel through wotif...24th year Anniversary night away...
Such a disappointment :(
Staff who can't seem to manage to smile at all?!?!
Room right next door to noisy lift
Bed that was so old and hard, dipped in the middle...
Combine that with a noisy elavator right next to us made for no sleep whatsoever
An inch later of dust above bathroom door and worn out fittings in bathroom combined with worlds smallest shower made the whole experience the worst I have ever had in a hotel!!
4.5 stars laughable
"Right on the banks of the Yarra" a huge joke
This hotel is in desperate need of a major update
Staff need a lesson in customer service...
Especially in the bar/resturant
Would NOT recommend
Would definitely never return

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinejane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear CarolineJane,

Thank you for your post, although I am very disappointed that we were unable to exceed your expectations on this occasion.
With your indulgence may I just offer some information- our last refurbishment was transacted seven years ago, and at this very moment we have just about completed a proto-type room. Subject to management approval we envisage that we will roll-out our refurbishment program in eight weeks, with a turn around by - April 2014. Thank you also for letting me know your experience in our restaurant, I would like to assure you that we will address this matter as a matter of urgency. In a general sense we are inspired by positive guest comments concerning customer service, and we will dedicate more resources to this department, it certainly does indicate that we have more work to do in this regard.
In our experience we find that noise intrusion is based on individual’s disposition, however, we would be very happy to note this for any future stays, if you would care to advise your contact details.
I do hope that we may have another opportunity to be of service to you upon refurbishment completion, so that we may demonstrate our purpose of exceeding your expectations.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Book this hotel for NYE...you wont regret it! you have the BEST views of the yarra for the fireworks. It was really breathtaking!

Has room service and a restaurant downstairs with a cute bar and seating outside.

I stayed in a studio balcony with balcony on the 9th floor and loved it.

Room Tip: Pick a river view room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessivai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, I have to agree we do offer some amazing views of the Fire Works displays on NYE and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. For terms & conditions and to find out more please visit our website today.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I spent this past New Years Eve at the Clarion Suites Gateway, and the floor to ceiling windows in the Deluxe Riverview Room was incredible. Views from along Flinders Street all the way along Southbank to Crown Casino, with the MCG in the background. The rooms were a little dated, but everything was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Double glazed windows in the bedroom so the sounds of the street were soft. The service upon arrival was extremely friendly and helpful, the staff working hard while still being personable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiek84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, we have to agree the views from our rooms that overlook the Yarra River and Southbank are amazing. Our last refurbishment was transacted seven years ago, and at this very moment we have just about completed a proto-type room. Subject to management approval we envisage that we will roll-out our refurbishment program in eight weeks, with a turn around by - April 2014.
Thank you for your comments about our team, we do pride ourselves on our customer service.
I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. For terms & conditions and to find out more please visit our website today.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauzac, France
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A rather old fashioned hotel, but the rooms are spacious and clean. Take a room on the Yara river side and benefit from the excellent views. For breakfast there is a large choice, including lots of gluten free pastries - much appreciated. Do not ask the reception staff for recomendation for dining; they sent us to the most seedy 'joints close by on the same side of the river - not a very nice area at night. Because of the rain we had not seen that the other side of the river was entirely restaurants, so we had a long, wet search in the rain before eating. But the staff were on the main kind and polite.

Room Tip: Choose a Yara river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear ChristineJane,

Thank you for sharing your valuable and constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on the areas which require immediate improvements. I do apologise in regards to the dining recommendation, I assure you it was not our intention to disappoint you we will ensure that our team is better equipped to offer more options concerning local dining. In a general sense the hotel team do recommend restaurants which offer a Melbourne experience more so than the international high-end venues, although we do recognize that more discerning guests prefer this option.
Our last refurbishment was transacted seven years ago, and at this very moment we have just about completed a proto-type room. Subject to management approval we envisage that we will roll-out our refurbishment program in eight weeks, with a turn around by - April 2014.
I would also like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. For terms & conditions and to find out more please visit our website today.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
181 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing