We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place to stay, especially for a convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #32 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, especially for a convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

At the banks of the Yarra river, just a short distance away from Melbourne convention centre, we stayed there for a week for the International Diabetes convention.

The staff were kind and friendly and when we arrived early after an overnight flight, kindly provided us with the opportunity to freshen up on the fifth floor. The hotel is just in front of the city tram line, making it very accesible and has some good eating spots nearby such as the Hare and Grace and the Merchant.

The cafe on the ground floor is fairly good and the room service breakfast well proportioned.
Some shortcomings are that the hotel does not lend Australian socket coverters and the
fire show of the Crown across the river may wake you up at due to noise or brightness as they do hourly blasts at least until midnight.

Thought a bit on the expensive side, would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyongKi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, we appreciate your comments about our location and service. Please note for future reference we do have rooms on the other side of the building away from the fire displays at Crown, please do advise us of your preference when making your next booking, we would be more than happy to accommodate your request. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    347
    78
    26
    13
See reviews for
219
359
62
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea Heights, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Booked on wotif at last possible minute. Great location. Very helpful & accommodating staff. Stayed with our two kids and every staff member made it enjoyable. Restaurant food was excellent & waiter was extremely patient.

Room Tip: Rooms without river views are still really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xavier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Xavier

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive comments about our location, staff and restaurant. In the interest of adding more value to your next stay, I would like to take this opportunity in making available to you additional benefits under our in-house program, One William Club, which accords you -Our valued guest- 20% discounts on just about all hotel services. For terms & conditions and to find out more please visit our website today.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, that's well maintained and has a relaxed casual feel. If wanting a view request the yarra river side. Although there is a train line below the windows are double glazed so we didn't hear anything.
Staff are friendly, a couple of slightly surly ones but overall I would say they all give the impression that they enjoy working there.
Complimentary drink vouchers on arrival was a nice gesture too.
I found the heating a little complicated to figure out, upon walking into the room it was like an oven, we turned it down but as the night went on it seemed to creep up again to the point I put it on cold just to cool down. This may have been due to my own inability to work it rather than the fault of the hotel.
As there were 5 of us staying we had a couple of friends join us before heading over to Crown for dinner. The girl on reception called to check exactly how many people we had staying which I didn't really appreciate as we signed a form before checking in that we were not having any parties. So don't like to have my integrity challenged.
Anyway it was a great hotel, great location and would most certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, your patronage is well recognized and most welcome.
Your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance. We apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced during your recent stay with us, at times it is a real challenge to assess guest movements, and on this particular occasion we were too ambitious, thank you for letting us know.
Our air conditioning system does function in a peculiar fashion! The suite air conditioning overrides the air flow into the adjoining room, which is supported by a damper, for air flow regulation.
Therefore, it is best to set the temperature in your suite at an ambient level, so that the air-flow is regulated to your personal requirement.
We will be happy to show you on your next visit!
Under our One William Club rewards, we offer 20% discount off most hotel services, do consider joining, an application can be downloaded from our website.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here recently whilst travelling for work. The location of these apartments is perfect for exploring places around south bank. The restaurant and bar has great atmosphere and food, if you don't want to walk to the many other options near by. The rooms were spacious and had everything you need. Service was friendly, which is a nice change these days. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My daughter and I wanted to have a fun weekend in Melbourne for her to take in the sights. We wanted somewhere to stay that was reasonable but convenient clean and safe. The Clarion was all of these things.The staff were lovely, friendly and were always willing to assist. We didn't have a view but we weren't interested in one, everything is just a short walk, train or tram ride away. The tram is right outside the door and the train station is just around the corner it was a great spot. We had a small kitchen with a washer/dryer and everything was lovely and clean. We only used our room as a place to sleep but you could see the Clarion was very family friendly. Thankyou for a lovely stay, it was a great introduction of Melbourne for my daughter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Erin,

Thank you for your kind words, we take pride in our customer service and appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

After much consideration of options I settled on the Clarion Gateway for our three night stay in Melbourne. We had a one bedroom suite overlooking the river, and although I can't compare with the other rooms, I think it is definitely worth the expense to treat yourself to the view. Our toddler was kept busy watching the trains and trams along the river, while at night we had the perfect spot to watch the sky darken and the lights of Southbank come alive. Every hour there is a gaslight show with giant balls of flame shooting into the air - I'm not quite sure what it was all about, but it added a bit of excitement nonetheless.

Inside our unit we had a small but well-equipped kitchen, standard bathroom with a washing machine, dining setting , very comfortable (faux leather) lounge and a very comfortable king sized bed. Our toddler slept in a portacot which the hotel supplies free of charge (thankyou!).

Arriving later than expected due to a cancelled flight, we had room-service dinner on our first night and the food was good. Excellent fish and chips and a spaghetti bolognaise, a little pricey but very nice and delivered in good time.

As you are overlooking a major train line (as well as the river) there is a little bit of noise from the trains, but the bedrooms have double-glazed windows so it was not enough to keep us awake.

Location is pretty good - its a few blocks walk up to the mall and shopping streets, and the free city circle tram can be picked up just around the corner. Its an easy walk across the river to Southbank which has a multitude of dining options.

Tip: book through the Clarion website and you will receive a few minor rewards such as freshly baked cookies and free drink vouchers for the bar downstairs. The price was the same as booking with Wotif so why not?

Room Tip: Go for the view - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, views, location, service and amenities and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed here five times over the last few years finding the location very convenient when staying in town for shopping and the casino. Easy walk to the casino and trams run past the door for shopping needs. Car park is a bit of a challenge would not want to be in a 4 wheel drive, very tight to move around!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Yarra Are the pick, you can watch the flames go off at the casino very impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing