We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service Is Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #27 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Whitemark, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer Service Is Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The customer service was the best from the time we checked in. We were early but our room was ready. Loved our 1 bedroom apartment, the bed was comfortable, the full kitchen was as spotless as the rest of the apartment. Nice to have space inside as well as our balcony. We ate in the Restaurant and the meals were very tasty. Our waitresses were the best we have ever had serve us in Melbourne. Nothing was too much for them to do for us. Late check out is a big bonus. We will be staying here again for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Julie,

It was a pleasure for us to host you during your recent stay in Melbourne. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor and for the nice words about our hotel, amenities, service and our Restaurant. Our staff are delighted that they were able to make your stay a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    354
    85
    25
    14
See reviews for
227
387
66
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently visited Clarion Suites and were greatly impressed with the Penthouse Suite! Amazing views, beautifully furnished and ultra comfortable beds. The staff were amazing and very helpful. It was our first time staying at Clarion and we would certainly return to enjoy this great hotel and location. Thanks Clarion for the memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Crystal,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, location, facilities and service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wow Clarion Suites, you have impressed me! From the minute I had a ridiculously early check in until the moment I left, I felt incredibly special and valued. I had taken a risk and booked a wotif mystery deal and I ended up with a one bedroom apartment at the Clarion Suites, for a truly excellent price.

The apartment was a great size and was extremely clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable too. I asked to move rooms as I was originally placed in a room right next to the lifts, which wouldn't have been an issue for anyone except me - I seem to have superhuman hearing. Anyway, the staff at reception were more than helpful in assisting me and made me feel that it simply wasn't a problem. I really appreciated that. My second room was as great as the first, and at the end of the hallway.

You really can't fault the Clarion Suites location. I loved the convenience of being able to step out and be on Flinders St or Flinders Lane within moments. It suited me perfectly as a base for exploring Melbourne by foot.

I will definitely recommend the Clarion Suites to friends and family who are after an affordable and well located apartment hotel in the Melbourne CBD.

Room Tip: For an extra touch of luxury book a room with a view over the river as the others look towards car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie_L_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sophie,

We’re so pleased to hear that our service and location met your expectations. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and the staff are delighted to hear that they were able to make your stay even more enjoyable. I have to agree we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel has everything you could want at reasonable prices. It's location is superb . I had a view of the river and was superb at night time , my own little balcony made it a great people watching spot. The windows were all doubled glazed so no noise .
The apartment was spacious, well equipped and clean .
I would definitely return.

The only let down was they didn't have a descent hair dryer , just one of those slow , wall mounted ones in the bathroom. You can remedy this by taking your own .

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanjane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. We will definitely take into consideration the hairdryers during our next refurbishment program. It is very important to us that our valued guests are comfortable and enjoy their time during their stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed 1 night. I scored a river view room on one of the lower levels, great view over towards Crown. Room was big, clean, and had a comfy bed. It was also very quiet despite being across the road from the train tracks. I used the swimming pool which is indoors, fairly small but it was nice to take a dip.
Breakfast was included, and ticked all the boxes.
This hotel is within easy walking distance of everything in the centre of Melbourne, and close to Spencer Street and Flinders Street train stations. Just across the river from Southbank and all the restaurants, casino, and all that good stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank workholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms, restaurant and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a 3 week tour of a small part of Australia. The location is excellent, close to the Yarra river and y the free tram. We had a 1 bed suite on the 9th floor which overlooked the river and the evening fire show was spectacular as was the view of the south bank. We had a small balcony from which to admire the views and take the air.
Our suite was large, clean and comfortable with a kitchen complete with a washer dryer (a good touch if you are travelling) We were upgraded free of charge by the hotel to continental breakfast for 4 of our days which was very nice and set us up for each day of our stay. The staff, especially those in the breakfast room were genuinely friendly and helpful. We put our valuables in the safe deposit box in the reception , which is a free service and very slick.
They, as so many, charge for WiFi but we found the reakfast room and th settees near the lift have free WiFi so do not pay for it!
The 35 tram is lovely and free and on the first day we had a guy on board giving a comentary which was both funy and interesting. The rest of the trip we had a piped comentary.
The bar was fine for a late evening tipple but we did not eat there as there are hundreds of interesting restaurants, bars and cafe`s.

Room Tip: Ask for a high, river facing room as the view is spectacular and the train and tram noise not an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We have to agree that our location is near to many attractions like the Crown Entertainment Complex, Yarra River and south gate shopping precinct and we appreciate that you enjoyed your time with us.
Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Large 1 b/r apartment ($184), with everything you need. Being in the city you get slugged $25 to park and $ 20 / day for Internet. Place has deals so check web. Whilst property is a bit dated, everything is functional. Very comfortable King Bed and 2 seater lounge to watch large LCD TV. Another TV in bedroom too. Bathroom is smallish with standard size everything. Nice hot water pressure too. In house restaurant was superb. Had great Ravioli dish and very nice Steak. I'd stay again

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Brad,

It has been a pleasure for us to host you during your recent stay in Melbourne. Thank you for sharing your experience and for the nice words about our Hotel and Restaurant. We’d like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing