We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom suite.

Excellent room and service. The concierge was very polite and helpful.

The room had more than enough space to have a small meeting to talk about business in.

The food and drinks at the café was brilliant. I did not need to leave the hotel except for business.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Rynkky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Melbourne and that our rooms and service meet your expectations. May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely City.


Kind Regards

Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Clarion Suites Gateway in Melbourne. I chose this hotel for its location which was within walking distance of Federation Square, Southbank and Melbourne CBD shopping. In all I found this hotel to be clean, well run and very well located. The staff on check in were some of the friendliest and most helpful i've encountered for some time which was a nice change from the standard greeting and service of other places I have visited in the city.

The room was very clean and had almost everything we needed, and a few things we didn't use to the length of our stay (washing machine, which would have been very handy if staying for an extended amount of time) The only thing I would add woud be free wifi as internet connection was possible but was at an additional cost. This didn't really matter however as I only needed to check email so it was a minor inconvenience.

In all, a great place to stay. I would recommend it to my friends and wouldn't hesitate to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackwater165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, the team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our location and customer service.
We have just started introducing in all hotel rooms a Wi-Fi solution; however we are unsure if we will be able to provide this service on a complimentary basis.
We will indeed monitor our price structure as well as guest feedback; as a measure of improvement.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The property is very well located near the Casino and the King Street where most of the restaurants and bars are located. Good for families come for enjoying the evenings of Melbourne.Food is good but albeit a bit expensive. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fantastic service from staff, really friendly atmosphere. Recommend for anyone looking for a lovely weekend away or visit to Melbourne. Their reception clerk (Thomas) was very helpful in reception, and went out of his way to accommodate our needs during our visit.
I would highly recommend clarion suites for anyone considering them for accommodation for their business needs or personal holiday to Melbourne

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank poitaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, we do pride ourselves on our customer service and appreciate your kind words, Thomas will be delighted to know that he was able to make your stay more enjoyable. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Love this place.!!! We are regular visitors to Melbourne, and have stayed in various Hotels but find this the most convenient, whether we are visiting family, going to the footy or to a concert. Husband and I stayed for 3 nights in a One Bedroom Deluxe Riverview Suite, and found the views spectacular. The room was serviced daily and was spotless. All staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed drinks in the bar and a wonderful dinner on the Sunday night. Easy access to trams made travelling around a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juzshmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms, restaurant, staff and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a studio riverview room. Was about $210/ngt. Was nothing flash, which I expected from a 4.5 star hotel.
The room was clean, but dated. The bathroom set up was a bit strange with the sink open from the entry way and the bath and toliet with a door. The bed was extremely low and sunk into the middle. No windows or balcony (which I did know prior), and found it hard to get the A/C at a comfortable temperature. Joined the One William club as advised by another tripadvisor member to do so - did not have this noted at check in and was advised by reception you receive this and that for joining, but was not provided with any of these vouchers, newspaper etc., and understand that it was Anzac Day weekend, but did not get a good reception when asking about the 'free' upgrade (if available - thought it was worth a try). Had to wait 10-15 minutes at cafe downstairs every morning to get a coffee, as they always seemed busy and understaffed.
The view was amazing. Unfortunately, we left our room early for breakfast, came back to get changed for dinner and then were out until late, so did not make the most of it. The location is excellent. Casino across the road, tram station a 2 minute walk away, easy walk along the river to the MCG or to centre of town.
Overall, I would not stay here again as I do not think the price is worth it, especially with the little amount of time we were in the room. I have stayed in an apartment in Eureka Tower that last few Anzac Day's and will look at this for future trips. Also stayed in an apartment in Little Collins Street that was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Melissa,

Thank you kindly for your review, this is certainly most appreciated, as it allows us to assess and monitor our service levels.
Although we did not have any input in the bathroom design, it serves the purpose of offering additional privacy, due to the separation of the bathroom basin.

Our beds are specifically Sealy posturepedic designed and offer a 10 year quality guarantee.
Generally we receive great comments that these beds offer, however, the only concern which we have is that the castor system at times fails, therefore given an uneven mattress experience.
Our housekeeping team are aware of the requirement of checking each bed caster system, however, in this particular instance we failed to note this problem with this bed, we do apologies for the inconvenience

All rooms have a separate air condition thermostat which allows for setting the temperature at your preferred comfort level, although, I do understand that the thermostat design can be a bit too complicated, we would be very happy to demonstrate its function.

The One William Club membership benefits are currently being updated, although, the term subject to best room availability is denoted, we have experienced a few member concerns, hence our updated version of benefits which will be made available soon, we do apologies that all aspects of membership entitlements were not accorded during your stay with us.

Espresso coffee making does take time prepare, due to the nature of this service in particular during a busy breakfast service, one should allow up to 15 minutes preparation time for a good cup of coffee, although, percolated coffee is readily available.

We would like to take this opportunity in thanking you for staying with us, and we hope that we will be in a position once again to be of service to you.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location is great to explore the city CBD and the tariff through wotif.com was excellent. Single bedroom with kitchen facilities was excellent.
Free city circle tram outside the door and only a short walk to the Star casino. We would come back

Room Tip: The only comment was that the restaurant service was very average and our room was beside the lift w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrdonaldmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you enjoyed the facilities and location of the Hotel.
I would also like to assure you that our Food & Beverage Manager has been advised of your comments and the need for improved service standards, thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will ensure more customer service training is provided.
We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#30 of 162 in Melbourne
200 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
671 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#89 of 162 in Melbourne
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $106 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing