We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$111
$87
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$113
$109
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$180
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$105
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$162
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$254
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$181
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$201
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$138
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveler rating
617
400
98
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
617
400
98
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchentrain noiseflinders sttrain linewashing machinesouth bankdouble glazingthe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeperroom service
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was nice to be greeted by friendly reception staff. The hotel is very convenient to the Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Casino. The 1 bed suite was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was had at William bar and Café and again staff were friendly and the food was excellent. I would recommend this hotel as I could not fault it.

Room Tip: We had a river view room that had double glazed windows that cut a lot of traffic noise out.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Helen,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location and our hospitality, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Good location within easy walk to most of the city, as well as the free City Circle tram outside the front door. A bit noise with the railway lines right out the front, but beautiful view if you get a Riverview room. Make sure you look behind the bedroom door for the 2nd TV !!! Nice spacious comfortable 1 bed suite, with excellent large kitchen (which we didn't use) however shower over the bath is very cramped, and no room for two ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redracer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance. For guest convenience our bedroom windows are double glazed; therefore we do recommend that the bedroom door is closed before retiring, so that the double glazing is more effective. We do have rooms equipped with a shower only, please do advise our friendly staff of your preference when making your next booking and we would be happy to accommodate your request.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not far too walk to anywhere in the city and free city circle tram outside the door. Also just across the river from Crown Casino and the Convention Center. Room had wonderful large kitchen which we hardly used and all other facilities very good. But shower over bath a bit crampedand impossible for 2 to share :-P Got a great discount for extended stay! Only used the restaurant once, but no complaints with it. Trains can bee a bit noisy just across the road, but after a few day you tend not to notice. River view room would be excellent (we didn't have)!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug-HHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Doug,

Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your recent stay in Melbourne, we are please you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived late at night and check in was easy. We had a connecting room on level 10. The room was modern and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The bedrooms have double glazing, which cuts out noise at night. My unit had a full kitchen, which was fantastic. The mini bar was well stocked. I went swimming in the pool on level 5 each morning (not a massive pool, but adequate). We had a meal in the restaurant which was also great. Overall a great place to stay, on the right side of the river for central Melbourne.

Room Tip: High level
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your recent stay in Melbourne, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We rented a 1 bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchen in March 2013. I used the www.wotif.com.au site and booked their mystery hotel (it was the Clarion Suites) at a discounted rate. The hotel is well situated near Flinders St Station and across from the restaurants and shops of Southgate. We did not have a view of the Yarra River because of our special rate, but we did enjoy a perfect reflection of the river in the windows of the surrounding office buildings! The kitchen was well equipped, the room was neat and v. clean and the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The only negative was the connection to the internet in the room, which was very slow and on the last day unusable...however to their credit they did not charge us for the time we could not use it. They also have parking in the building for $25 a day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cararmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor, your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance.
We appreciate your comments about our location and service and we would like to assure you that we are very committed in securing a Wi-Fi solution, as a matter of fact we have opted for Cat 6 cabling, which will allow for a speedy connection in all the hotel rooms.
We hope to welcome you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews