We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient location, friendly helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #35 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Convenient location, friendly helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We rented a 1 bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchen in March 2013. I used the www.wotif.com.au site and booked their mystery hotel (it was the Clarion Suites) at a discounted rate. The hotel is well situated near Flinders St Station and across from the restaurants and shops of Southgate. We did not have a view of the Yarra River because of our special rate, but we did enjoy a perfect reflection of the river in the windows of the surrounding office buildings! The kitchen was well equipped, the room was neat and v. clean and the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The only negative was the connection to the internet in the room, which was very slow and on the last day unusable...however to their credit they did not charge us for the time we could not use it. They also have parking in the building for $25 a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cararmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor, your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance.
We appreciate your comments about our location and service and we would like to assure you that we are very committed in securing a Wi-Fi solution, as a matter of fact we have opted for Cat 6 cabling, which will allow for a speedy connection in all the hotel rooms.
We hope to welcome you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    336
    76
    26
    13
See reviews for
209
352
60
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have stayed here before, but it was even better this time. We got upgraded to a river view room with a balcony, and enjoyed the sunset and fire show at Crown. Excellent location, friendly staff and a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our family, once again, had a wonderful stay at Clarion Suites Gateway. From the warm, friendly staff welcoming us to the amazing room - every part of our stay was special. The Deluxe Riverview Suite is incredible. With the amazing view of the city and across the river it is hard to believe we only paid $279 for the 4 of us. There is so much room for the kids to spead out and it's so lovely to be able to shut off the door to the bedroom when they have gone to sleep and enjoy the spectacular night view with a bottle of wine. Our trip was made especially special when room service delivered my son a surprise tray of cake for his birthday - it was a lovely touch. Every visit I am always surprised about the value for money at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Riverview Suite has amazing city and river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wsrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes, as well as small groups of friends. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarrawonga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Clarion a few times now and we love it. Its easy to get too and it has its own car park whicjh is reasonable and rooms are modern and comfortable.
We always eat at the Restaurant for dinner and its great for families and we think its awesome we have never had a bad meal.
It is a short walk to South Bank,Aquarium Bourke Street Mall and a short tram ride to Rod Laver for Concerts.
Some times the rates are more afforable than some nights but as always it depends on what is going on in Melbourne at the time.
We stay because of its location comfort and Restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visionYarrawonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to leave a review on Tripadvisor, your patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, accommodation facilities and Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

After another recent stay at Clarion Sutie Gateway, i thought i would do another review. Once again, the staff were very friendly, professional & helpful. As many reviewers have mentioned, the location is great & I actually think that you would struggle to find a hotel in a better location to so many different parts of Melbourne. My room was tidy & seemed to be well cleaned both nights. The breakfast has had a recent makeover with a even larger selection of food now on offer, with hot food made to order - my preference is scrambled eggs, smoked salmon & spinach. I had dinner at the downstairs restaurant, which was good - but not fantastic. If you have the time, i would suggest walking across to the Southbank, or around the corner to a restaurant - there are so many good plces to eat in Melbourne. Hopefully at the they give the menu here a refresh in the near future & I will only need to leave the building for my meetings!

Room Tip: - Make sure you close the curtains completely when you go to bed, the flares on southbank look great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping precinct within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. Thank you for your comments concerning our new breakfast buffet and for your information we are also currently in the process of creating a new Dinner menu, and we look forward to receiving your feedback once this menu is in place.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the second time hubby and I have stayed at The Clarion Suites and again, it did not disappoint. The best feature of the hotel is definitely the location being just over a bridge from Southbank. There is plenty of trams and cabs outside the hotel for travelling further, but really, you can practically walk everywhere from here, eg Queen Victoria Markets (20 mins), Southbank (5 mins), Spencer Street Station (15 mins), DFO Docklands (15 mins). So many great eateries close by too. Did not eat at the restaurant but plenty of people did. Had drinks in the bar a couple of times as they have regular happy hours. We booked a studio riverview room (with king bed) but were upgraded to a one bedroom riverview apartment. Fantastic views and fitted out with all your requirements, full size kitchen, bathroom, bedroom with king bed (very comfy), even a washer/dryer. You could actually live there it was that well equipped. Staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Will definitely stay here again when visiting beautiful Melbourne.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a one bedroom riverview apartment, well worth it. We were in Room 9051.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms, amenities and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here with a friend who was visiting from overseas and i wanted to show her melbourne city. As soon as you walk in the hotel lobby you can tell that the hotel is only 3 star quality compared to other hotels i have stayed in such as crown and sofitel. Our room was a 1 bedroom apartment and the kitchen facilities were very good and the furniture in the apartment was also modern. Generally the rooms need maintenance to the walls and a few other things including the balcony which was plain white tiles and got dirty easily. I was very happy with the view of the yarra and crown flames at night added to my friends experience of melbourne.

The pool was also very average needs renovating.

I would stay here again but would be looking at better hotels which offer accommodation for the same price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us, we thank you for your comments about our room facilities, location and views. We are in the process of planning for our next fit-out program, hopefully within the next year, and as a first we will update the pool within the next few weeks.

Although we appreciate the comparison to Crown & Sofitel, we do not compare well, as both of these venues are luxurious five star hotels, however, we do like to think that we compete very well in personalized service.

In relation to rates it depends on demand in the city, our rates fluctuate, therefore, dynamic in nature, and at times we do offer very special rates on our website.

Thank you for staying with us and if we can be of further service to you in the future, it will indeed be our pleasure.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#30 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing