We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Nearby Hotels
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mantra on Little Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$114
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Adelphi Hotel(Melbourne)
$192
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$115
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$201
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$49
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Series - The Olsen(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$157
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$231
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveler rating
612
396
98
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
396
98
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchenwilliam streetdouble glazed windowstrain noiseflinders stwashing machinesouth banktrain linethe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Have stayed here before, but it was even better this time. We got upgraded to a river view room with a balcony, and enjoyed the sunset and fire show at Crown. Excellent location, friendly staff and a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Helen,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms and service and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our family, once again, had a wonderful stay at Clarion Suites Gateway. From the warm, friendly staff welcoming us to the amazing room - every part of our stay was special. The Deluxe Riverview Suite is incredible. With the amazing view of the city and across the river it is hard to believe we only paid $279 for the 4 of us. There is so much room for the kids to spead out and it's so lovely to be able to shut off the door to the bedroom when they have gone to sleep and enjoy the spectacular night view with a bottle of wine. Our trip was made especially special when room service delivered my son a surprise tray of cake for his birthday - it was a lovely touch. Every visit I am always surprised about the value for money at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Riverview Suite has amazing city and river views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes, as well as small groups of friends. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Clarion a few times now and we love it. Its easy to get too and it has its own car park whicjh is reasonable and rooms are modern and comfortable.
We always eat at the Restaurant for dinner and its great for families and we think its awesome we have never had a bad meal.
It is a short walk to South Bank,Aquarium Bourke Street Mall and a short tram ride to Rod Laver for Concerts.
Some times the rates are more afforable than some nights but as always it depends on what is going on in Melbourne at the time.
We stay because of its location comfort and Restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visionYarrawonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to leave a review on Tripadvisor, your patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, accommodation facilities and Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

After another recent stay at Clarion Sutie Gateway, i thought i would do another review. Once again, the staff were very friendly, professional & helpful. As many reviewers have mentioned, the location is great & I actually think that you would struggle to find a hotel in a better location to so many different parts of Melbourne. My room was tidy & seemed to be well cleaned both nights. The breakfast has had a recent makeover with a even larger selection of food now on offer, with hot food made to order - my preference is scrambled eggs, smoked salmon & spinach. I had dinner at the downstairs restaurant, which was good - but not fantastic. If you have the time, i would suggest walking across to the Southbank, or around the corner to a restaurant - there are so many good plces to eat in Melbourne. Hopefully at the they give the menu here a refresh in the near future & I will only need to leave the building for my meetings!

Room Tip: - Make sure you close the curtains completely when you go to bed, the flares on southbank look great, but can keep you awake (as can the trains) - If coming from the airport via Taxi, ask to go via the Power St freeway exit to avoid the main city congestion. - Bar has very reasonable priced drinks & even better during one of the happy hours.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping precinct within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer. Thank you for your comments concerning our new breakfast buffet and for your information we are also currently in the process of creating a new Dinner menu, and we look forward to receiving your feedback once this menu is in place.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the second time hubby and I have stayed at The Clarion Suites and again, it did not disappoint. The best feature of the hotel is definitely the location being just over a bridge from Southbank. There is plenty of trams and cabs outside the hotel for travelling further, but really, you can practically walk everywhere from here, eg Queen Victoria Markets (20 mins), Southbank (5 mins), Spencer Street Station (15 mins), DFO Docklands (15 mins). So many great eateries close by too. Did not eat at the restaurant but plenty of people did. Had drinks in the bar a couple of times as they have regular happy hours. We booked a studio riverview room (with king bed) but were upgraded to a one bedroom riverview apartment. Fantastic views and fitted out with all your requirements, full size kitchen, bathroom, bedroom with king bed (very comfy), even a washer/dryer. You could actually live there it was that well equipped. Staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Will definitely stay here again when visiting beautiful Melbourne.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a one bedroom riverview apartment, well worth it. We were in Room 9051.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne. We really appreciate your positive comments about our location, rooms, amenities and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews