We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms location location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat
1 review
“Spacious rooms location location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel and found the hotel rooms very spacious, lovely to have somewhere to relax (couch in rooms) with separate bedroom very adequate kitchen. We ordered room service and it was delivered promptly and a great meal. There is a pool on the fifth floor and great for swimming some laps before enjoying a cooked breakfast. The location of this hotel is great , a short walk to Crown Casino and the free City Circle tram stop right outside the hotel. The level of service at this hotel was excellent from reception and restaurant staff.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank HarryBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    354
    85
    25
    14
See reviews for
227
387
66
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

I stay at the Clarion Suite Gateway 3 to 4 nights a week, every week. This I have been doing for the last 18 months. The location is great, it is near the Yarra river, South Bank precinct and the crown casino. The spacious rooms with full ammenties, kitchen & balcony, gives you plenty of space to move and spread out. But what keeps me coming back to the same hotel is the customer service. I can not speak more highly of the staff and management. Whilst this service continues I will continue to use and recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Staff and Management
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RestorationBGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

The Clarion Suites are situated very well for trams and within walking distance of the main attractions. Suites were comfortable and spacious, overlooking Southbank and the Yarra river. The two-bedroom suites are ideal for four adults as they are comprised of a double room and a separate twin-bedded studio, but with no adjoining door. I would not recommend these suites for families with small children as the only access into the next room is via the main doors with a key card which has a separate code. The balcony doors in both parts of the suite would be easy for a child to open, which might be a cause for concern if they are not supervised directly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dacuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

We received a free upgrade and stayed in an eleventh floor room which overlooked the river and fireshow over at the Casino. It was an excellent hotel in every way; service, cleanliness, location, views. Bedding was comfortable. Great blackout curtains, after staying at many a substandard hotel, we were looking forward to a good solid nap!

The unusual design - putting the sink and mirror outside the bathroom worked really well - don't have to wait for travel partner to finish with the bathroom.

The hotel itself is fabulous! :)


**While we were standing outside, there was a guy loitering waiting to bag snatch - it's in the middle of the city, just be a bit wary. The porters were there very quickly, just something to be aware of around the city (could happen anywhere, not just here - don't let it deter you). On the Skybus the following day, I overheard a guy telling of how his bag was snatched.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Lovely Room, Great Bedding
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skywok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

I have stayed in dozens of hotels over the years in Melbourne, being a frequent business, and occasional leisure traveller there. The list includes some of the nicer 5-star properties (the excellent Westin, the not-too-shabby Langham, and the impressive Park Hyatt), as well as what seems like most of the 4-star business hotels. But for longer business trips, the cost at the top end is becoming prohibitive. So, I was very pleased to find, and then experience this property. I had a riverview studio on the 14th floor which was very pleasant. It might be a bit cramped for two people, but not seriously so. The only slight negatives were that even with the double-glazed doors shut, I could still hear the trains 14 floors below quite clearly at various times of the night. The work desk provided is a little small, so if you need to spread out your papers and various bits and pieces with your laptop, you will find yourself using the bed as an extension desk, but this is hardly anything to get upset about. As with all Australian hotels, the cost of internet access is a rip-off (A$25/day here, with a cheaper weekly rate available), There are only two lifts in the building, and in the morning, the wait and the subsequent all-stops ride down to the ground floor can be a bit trying. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is adequate: there are many more appealing options for those prepared to walk a little bit (e.g. to Degraves Lane). Otherwise, service was friendly and efficient, the room well-maintained, the location is handy, and I will probably make this my base for a while to come for business travel. I prefer a bit more "personality" in my hotels for leisure travel.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing