We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$109
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$183
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$161
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$121
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$191
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$237
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveler rating
616
400
98
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
400
98
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchentrain noiseflinders sttrain linewashing machinesouth bankdouble glazingthe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeperroom service
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Upon arrival I was so warmly welcomed at Clarion, I could not fault them.
The directed me as needed and were friendly and approachable.
I entered my room to find a welcome letter and pack and really appreciated the cookies!
We were recommended to visit the Clarion Suites Gateway hotel and we will always be back when in Melbourne!
Keep up the fantastic work.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if available!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Laura,

Thank you for your comments, we take pride in our feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very friendly staff at the Clarion Suites in Melbourne . Clean room with all that is required for a five night stay.
The location is handy to all city events and transport. Great views from the room over looking the river.
Would recommend and will come again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Lynn,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway and for leaving a review on trip advisor, your comments are much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, views and room amenities and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past couple of years. And will continue to be my choice of accommodation when visiting Melbourne.
The riverview rooms are fantastic with a great view of Crown casino, Flinders Street Station and more. The building and amenities are all kept in wonderful condition. Well laid out, with generous size bathroom. And the welcome cookies made in-house were a wonderful homely touch.
The staff are always friendly, accommodating and helpful. Location is perfect for business or pleasure, with added bonus of secure on-site parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Tania,

Thank you for your feedback, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your comments about our rooms, service and amenities. We also have to agree that we’re situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient all within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family of 3 kids aged 10, 5 and 1, and I stayed here for 7 days for our year end trip. We stayed in the one bedroom suite facing some business building as the riverview was all booked.

The suite has everything we need such as fully equip kitchen, a washing machine with dryer, iron, microwave oven, which we do make use of.

Suite was clean whenever we came back from outing, they even do our dishes (thank you very much to the hotel cleaner), bed was good enough, sofa at the living was good.

Location wise, it was 1 min walk to nearest tram stop, 3 min walk to melbourne aquarium, 10 min walk to MYER & Royal Arcade, 15 min walk to Queen Victoria Market.

The staff were good, polite and there are no nonsense charges or such. Really love our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Watai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway and for leaving a review on tripadvisor.
It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes, as well as small groups of friends. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

As a business travellers hotel the Clarion is very well appointed, clean and modern. The staff are always friendly and welcoming, welcoming you back regularly with a smile and by name. Rooms have always been clean and well appointed and the the welcome cookies a nice little touch.

I would probably not recommend it as a leisure destination, but for a short business trip that requires CBD meetings then it is all you need it to be

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Matthew,

Thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor. The team appreciates your comments as we pride ourselves on our customer service and do always like to make each and every guest feel welcome and at home when staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next return visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews