We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and good room but didn't live up to the hype” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service and good room but didn't live up to the hype”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms are quite spacious and the bed comfortable. The double sliding doors also kept the room very quiet while also allowing you fresh air when you wanted it. The location was good. The service was excellent - free upgrade to a river view room, very fast check-in/out and very friendly reception staff. If I hadn't read the TripAdvisor reviews (claiming it to be the number 1 place to stay in the CBD) then I probably would have been quite happy. It was good, but not extraordinary. There were nice little touches, such as free home made biscuits delivered just after arriving, but the rooms were fairly nondescript (except for the hand basin being bizarrely located outside the bathroom) and there are other hotels in better locations. Also the view was quite nice but nothing earth shattering. Don't get me wrong, this is a really good place to stay, it just didn't feel as special as the No1 TripAdvisor hotels normally are. A short walk up Flinders St is DeGraves St - a fantastic place for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodJohnButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on tripadvisor and most importantly for allowing us to be of service to you, your patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel.
Your feedback is much appreciated as it makes it possible for our team to assess and monitor our service quality and performance.
As a measure of improvement we are already planning for a refurbishment program during 2013-14, generally we like to keep furnishings for up to seven years, and our last program was during the latter part of 2007. The vanity design in some of the standard rooms allow for privacy in a dual occupancy arrangement, so that either guest may in confidence enjoy this separation. Although we had no input in the design of this facility, we do appreciate your comments.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and service, we do pride ourselves on our customer service, here at Clarion Suites Gateway it is of the utmost importance to us.
We hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    354
    85
    25
    14
See reviews for
227
387
66
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Upon arrival I was so warmly welcomed at Clarion, I could not fault them.
The directed me as needed and were friendly and approachable.
I entered my room to find a welcome letter and pack and really appreciated the cookies!
We were recommended to visit the Clarion Suites Gateway hotel and we will always be back when in Melbourne!
Keep up the fantastic work.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your comments, we take pride in our feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very friendly staff at the Clarion Suites in Melbourne . Clean room with all that is required for a five night stay.
The location is handy to all city events and transport. Great views from the room over looking the river.
Would recommend and will come again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Lynn,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway and for leaving a review on trip advisor, your comments are much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, views and room amenities and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past couple of years. And will continue to be my choice of accommodation when visiting Melbourne.
The riverview rooms are fantastic with a great view of Crown casino, Flinders Street Station and more. The building and amenities are all kept in wonderful condition. Well laid out, with generous size bathroom. And the welcome cookies made in-house were a wonderful homely touch.
The staff are always friendly, accommodating and helpful. Location is perfect for business or pleasure, with added bonus of secure on-site parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Tania,

Thank you for your feedback, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. We really appreciate your comments about our rooms, service and amenities. We also have to agree that we’re situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient all within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family of 3 kids aged 10, 5 and 1, and I stayed here for 7 days for our year end trip. We stayed in the one bedroom suite facing some business building as the riverview was all booked.

The suite has everything we need such as fully equip kitchen, a washing machine with dryer, iron, microwave oven, which we do make use of.

Suite was clean whenever we came back from outing, they even do our dishes (thank you very much to the hotel cleaner), bed was good enough, sofa at the living was good.

Location wise, it was 1 min walk to nearest tram stop, 3 min walk to melbourne aquarium, 10 min walk to MYER & Royal Arcade, 15 min walk to Queen Victoria Market.

The staff were good, polite and there are no nonsense charges or such. Really love our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Clarion Suites Gateway and for leaving a review on tripadvisor.
It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes, as well as small groups of friends. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

As a business travellers hotel the Clarion is very well appointed, clean and modern. The staff are always friendly and welcoming, welcoming you back regularly with a smile and by name. Rooms have always been clean and well appointed and the the welcome cookies a nice little touch.

I would probably not recommend it as a leisure destination, but for a short business trip that requires CBD meetings then it is all you need it to be

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Matthew,

Thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor. The team appreciates your comments as we pride ourselves on our customer service and do always like to make each and every guest feel welcome and at home when staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next return visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel. We booked through Wotif and got a great price for overnight stay.

We opted for a riverview room, which had a lovely view across the river to Crown Casino. The room itself was very clean, bed and pillows were very comfortable, the shower was amazing (the only downside being it was over a bath).

We chose not to pay for breakfast there as it was a little pricey, so instead we walked 5 minutes across to the Casino and had breakfast at Margos (much more reasonably priced).

Location of this hotel is perfect. Just a short walk across to Southbank for heaps of bars/restaurants/cafe's. Very close to the aquarium, Shopping is only a stroll away and not far from the weekend nightlife.

Only really had contact with staff at the front desk, but found them to be friendly and efficient.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sin712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the view from your room, as well as our location, hotel facilities and service. For future reference we do have rooms with walk in showers, however the rooms types and availability vary, please do advise staff of your preference when making your next booking and we will do our very best to accommodate your request.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing