We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base between Convention Centre and CBD attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #27 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal base between Convention Centre and CBD attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Found the location perfect for those wanting to explore the CBD attractions (Federation Square, Chinatown, St. Paul's Cathedral) and attending expos/ conferences at the Convention Centre by foot, as both areas are around the same distance from this place.

Pros:
1. The noises from the train / traffic not as bad as thought earlier (from the 6th floor)
2. Perfect location for those wanting to cover the MCEC and the CBD attractions by foot (vs taking the trams)
3. Above average service
4. Better than expected room size (studio)

Cons:
1. Breakfast selection rather limited (may be subjective)
2. The central air-con was rather noisy with its humming sound when switched on (as described by earlier reviews) - i switched it off anyway as the room temperature was pleasant enough for me to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stpMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, our location does allow for a short walk to either the CBD or the MCEC which is very convenient for many of our guests, we do find the double glazing to be very effective in ensuring a peaceful nights sleep.

We appreciate your feedback about our service; our staff are always striving to exceed our guests expectations. We have only this week updated our breakfast buffet to include a more extensive variety of sweet and savoury options along with an a la carte menu cooked to order.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we look forward to hopefully being of service to you again.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    351
    82
    26
    14
See reviews for
225
379
64
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
the patch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have reviewed Clarion Gateway before but,i have to say that you just can't beat a quality hotel to relax and be comfortable in.My wife and i had tickets to See Icehouse at Hamer Hall to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary.We booked at Gateway without hesitation as i know how great Tony and his staff are.I was not let down when we arrived as our suite was stunning with great views of the city and yarra river and the welcome bottle of champagne and cheese platter along with delicious cookies made for the perfect start to our stay.The rooms are always clean and presented perfectly and the staff are always friendly and accomodating and for that reason we choose to stay here.I know that when i contact Clarion Gateway they will always respond quickly and meet all our expectations!!Could'nt speak more highly of this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Try and always ask for a corner suite on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePatchDasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to once again leave a review on Tripadvisor, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel.
We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, amenities and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Clarion Suites Gateway a few times before as it always accommodates for my needs; prime location, stunning views and good service. This time I had booked in for a girl’s night out. As we were checking in we were greeted by a gentleman at the front desk who was very friendly, welcoming and had a great sense of humour which made us laugh! Great start….

Then he announced to us that our room had been upgraded to the penthouse!

We couldn’t believe it, we were over the moon!!!

We had such a great time and enjoyed the suite very much. It was such an exciting experience and the staff were wonderful, polite and professional making our stay very warming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Clarion Suites Gateway, you patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel. Thank you for your review, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our rooms, amenities and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for work. Attended conference at MCEC and only 5 minutes walk each day. While location is great it can be noisy in the morning when the trains get started. Staff were very friendly and helpful with information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAtas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, our location is indeed very convenient and close to various conferences venues like Crown and MCEC. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Aussie
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Clarion Suites Gateway in April this year whilst in Melbourne celebrating my husband's Birthday. We were a little apprehensive when we arrived at the hotel due to roadworks being carried out at the time in William Street right outside the hotel. We need not have worried as the only inconvenience was to taxi drivers and did not interfere with our stay at all.
From the time we entered the hotel and approached the desk and were greeted by Florian we felt we had made the right decision when selecting Clarion Suites Gateway as the start of our Victorian holiday. David then showed us to our apartment room - a lovely quiet one with a view (as requested). He then took us out onto the balcony and told us to look across to the South Bank area and in a few mins time we would see the fire spurting out the top of all the columns on the Boardwalk. What a beautiful sight to arrive to and the fact that David took the trouble to point this out to us and also suggested we take a walk over there the following evening and actually feel the amount of heat that comes out when standing near these fire fountains.
We found during our stay there that all the staff including Rebecca, Maria and Shelly were extremely courteous, friendly and helpful and what a lovely change it was to have staff who could converse well.
This hotel is in a great location, so convenient to the free City Circle tram as well as other City trams. The tram stop is just around the corner from the hotel and it is so convenient to get to Etihad Stadium or further into the City. We had some fun on our return to the hotel from watching our footy team beat Florian's and he was very gracious about it. It was also a handy location if wanting to visit the Aquarium. The apartment rooms were spacious and had everything that we required. Good shower and everything clean which is so important as well as comfortable bed. Nice table setting for meals etc but we did find that Williams Bar and Cafe on site was very reasonably priced for dinner and we were given a discount voucher as well which helped. They also have a 'Happy hour' before dinner which is good if linking up with friends etc. Breakfast also was reasonable. We hope to return to Melbourne and Clarion Gateway suites before too long. The convenient location is a big plus but the friendly staff is the big bonus! So nice to have people who are interested and look happy in their job. Another lovely gesture was the bottle of Champers given to my husband for his Birthday which he appreciated.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room higher up to minimise street, aircon and lift noise. Also requested with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanneeWestAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Melbourne. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor, and for the nice words about our property, rooms, amenities, staff and services. The team are very happy to hear they were able to make your stay more enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have come not to expect too much from Australian hotels in general. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the Clarion Gateway Suites. On arrival, I was greeted by very friendly staff and was advised that my room had been upgraded to a river view room. The room was very clean and well equipped and surprisingly quiet in the bedroom despite the noise from Flinders Street and the fire fountains on Southbank.

Only things to let this down were the Internet charges (Australia really needs to get grips that many other countries don't charge, and if they do, you don't need to take out a second mortgage to afford it) The other being a great washing machine but no supplied detergent.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room and if you are a light sleeper, one away from the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are certainly pleased to have had an opportunity in being of service to you during your stay in Melbourne.

I do apologise for the internet concern, unfortunately the delivery of this service to the hotel and guest expectation of faster speeds, is a real challenge for hotels in Australia. How the local industry will evolve it is hard to forecast, in particular the cost of internet delivery is prohibitively expensive. We are currently assessing in how we may deliver a Wi-Fi solution, for basic use only at “No Charge”. We envisage that this service will be suitable for handheld devices, which most travellers seem to enjoy nowadays.

I would like to assure you that we do recognize that the trend is towards a more cost efficient internet delivery service, and our focus is to deliver a satisfactory outcome for our valued guests.

Thank you for your patronage and we do hope to welcome you back to our shores in the future.

Best Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

A great locaton in CBD , Cnr William and Flinders, with 3 minute walk across the road to tram and Acquarium. take the Sky Bus shuttle service from the airport , quick into the city for A$28 return. The hotel had cooking facilities in my room and was a 8 minute walk to Coles Supermarket on Elizabeth St. The hotel has friendly staff who were most helpful and answered my questions. A fabulous day trip to the Yarra Valley vineyards with Yarra Valley Wine Tours, highly recommend. The Shuji Sushi was great and only a quick 3 minute walk around the cnr on Flinders St. A pleasant room , a little noise from the air con unit but nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zeeba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#37 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing