We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #32 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and great apartments”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for long weekend in Melbourne for a friends wedding. Apartment was massive, floor to ceiling class with views of the Yarra River across to Crown , great views at night with Crown flames. Close to city and free city tram only 1 block away

Apartment was clean and tidy, modern looking. Had everything needed. Bed was kingsize and very comfortable. Great value for money

Staff on front desk very helpful and friendly. Bar staff nice and friendly had few drinks nice and quick service

Room Tip: Book direct, corner view apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ji7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne. We really appreciate your positive comments about our Hotel, facilities and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    371
    90
    25
    16
See reviews for
242
403
67
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Living in rural Victoria, we enjoy a long weekend in Melbourne from time to time to get our city fix. We've stayed in many and varied accommodations around the Melbourne CBD and don't look any further than the Clarion Suites any more. It has everything, great location, spotless and modern amenities, friendly, helpful and efficient staff. It has been our pleasure to keep returning to this ideal hotel.

Room Tip: We find the apartments are fantastic. All rooms are great, but for something a bit special choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Wendy,

It has been a great pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Melbourne. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and consider our hotel as home away from home. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel offers great value for money in the CBD area.

Check-in and check-out were very friendly. Also, I thought I'd left something behind on checking out, and a quick phone call to the hotel was handled in the same easy manner.

I stayed in the most basic room, but it was equipped with everything I needed.

The desk was of a reasonable size, although perhaps the chair was a little low for the work surface. I switched to the small dining table and felt much more comfortable.

The bed was comfortable, but too low for my aging legs.

The bathroom has an external handbasin, then a bath/shower and toilet in a separate room. The shower head is very good, but the shower is screened by a folding glass panel and spray outside the shower is unavoidable.

Additional facilities in the room were a microwave oven and some basic crockery/cutlery.

The television was a little odd, fixed to the wall in a position that made it a little difficult to view from the bed. It doesn't swivel (well, I only tried gently) but it is a large size and gets good reception.

There were some roadworks going on in the street in front of the hotel. I had some early noise, but I still managed to get to sleep.

One aspect that might make it difficult to get to sleep is the amount of light leakage in the room. The alarm clock is very bright, and there was considerable leakage from the little hallway outside the room. A pillow and a spare blanket quickly fixed each problem.

I used to stay at the Southbank Travelodge when I needed a simple overnighter. That property has increased its rates, and I now find that the value offered by Clarion Suites is far better, especially when the enhanced standard of rooms at Clarion is taken into account.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Ron,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We will definitely take into consideration on the few things you mentioned on the review during our next refurbishment program. It is very important that our guests are comfortable and enjoy their time during their stay with us. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed at the Clarion Suites with my husband for 5 nights early in March. The location is very good and within walking distance to everything. The rooms are very nicely fitted out and the king-size bed is very comfortable. We were in a 1 bedroom riverview suite and the extra space was really good when staying for a few days. The room we had was on the 11th floor and had its own balcony which was nice - good to be able to let fresh air into the room. The only thing I found was that the hotel doesn't really get much sun so on cooler days it tends to feel quite cold there whereas when you walk across the bridge to the Crowne Casino it faces into the sun and its really warm over that side. The only other thing I would say that lets the hotel down is its restaurant. The staff are awsome and the service is brilliant but the food is a little average we thought and after a couple of meals there we chose to dine elsewhere for the rest of our stay. But I would definitely recommend this hotel as being excellent accommodation

Room Tip: Higher floors are great as the view is brilliant and if budget permits the 1bedroom riverview suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynnie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is most appreciated that you have taken the time to post your review; this truly allows us to monitor our service levels, with the view of dedicating resources in areas where we do not achieve guest satisfaction.

I am glad to hear that overall your experience at our hotel was enjoyable, this is our main focus, and as a follow on I will make your comments available to our team, they will indeed be delighted to experience your welcomed praise. Furthermore the team will be duly recognized under our Star Rewards recognition program.

It would also be a great help to allow our, Executive Chef, to assess food consumed so that it is practical to review items ordered.

Therefore, if at all possible your contact stay details will be most helpful in our follow-up.

Thank you so much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming back one day soon.

Kind regards,
Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Had a stay last week in Melbourne as I had to do some Training until late.Bed was comforatable and the room was spotless. We also got a free bottle of wine as part of a package which was chilled. I have stayed here before as our son used to be a chef at this Hotel. Good size flat screen Television with Austar.
I thought it was well located as close to train station, trams and restaurants. Good value for money for a Capital city,

Room Tip: Ask about a view as the rooms with a view are stunning, Melbourne is always beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear valued guest,
The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed for five nights and stay was faultless. Hotel is opposite the Crowne Casino and also nearby Melbourne Aquarium. Free City tram picks up nearby as well and walking distance to main central shops in Melbourne.
Indoor swimming pool was handy.
Breakfast was very good and in particular the attention from friendly waiting staff. Very good stay and recommended.

Room Tip: River facing rooms enable you to see the Casino and the "flames show" each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel location, facilities and the breakfast buffet; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We will certainly share this with our kitchen team as we put a lot of effort in ensure we provide fresh and quality products. We look forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just got home from my stay at Clarion Gateway and I'm really pleased with my stay. I was looking for a centrally located 1br apartment but with full-service features (bar, restaurant) and Clarion delivered. The 1br apartment had everything (except a bath) - it was cosy but elegant and comfortable. Gas cooking, 2 TVs, a tiny balcony for fresh air, a washing machine etc etc. The service was great too. Cafe menu/bar menu was pretty standard, but the service was efficient. Definitely the best combination of value, service and features I've found in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pips22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,

It has been a great pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Melbourne. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice words about our hotel and services. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
181 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing