We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #33 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Family event for which we booked 3 Riverview rooms. Reservation, check-in and checkout processes were simple and painless. (They made us feel welcome at all stages) We honestly had no negatives with any aspect of our stay, the room, location, restaurant, and especially the friendly staff were all excellent. It is located within walking distance of Melbourne proper and the railway station, Southbank is a short walk across the bridge (our function was in the Crowne Ballroom so we were able to walk to and from the event no taxis). View was nice especially in the evening, rooms were well appointed and clean.
A good place to stay, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Get a Riverview room, great night time views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livestats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location and hospitality, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway onyour next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    344
    77
    26
    13
See reviews for
217
355
61
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights booked by travel agent. Hotel is very close to Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Casino. Rooms are tired and in need of an upgrade. It was overpriced for what was offered even taking "Melbourne" into account. Daily housekeeping service of the room was poor at best. Mattress was lumpy and had seen better days - with a mountain in the middle!

The breakfast restaurant was very poor. Seems to be run and operated by Chinese staff with little understanding of the English language. I watched one client ask for a tax invoice, told to wait and then ushered outside the door to her waiting taxi! It was actually hilarious! But the service was poor and the food standard (buffet) very rough.

Will avoid in future and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to post this review.
We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations, and we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced.

Thank you for sharing your valuable and mostly constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on the areas which require immediate improvements.

Unfortunately, since we introduced for added guest comfort, a lofty mattress topper, it appears according to some guest commentary that a small percentage of guests do not enjoy this loft feel, therefore, we will continue to monitor this situation and make an informed decision of removal if it proves necessary. The beds are designed and manufactured by Sealy, and relatively new, we are conscious of the importance of a good nights rest. As a matter of interest we completed full refurbishment during 2007.

Our hotel and I would suggest most all hotels enjoy and are proud of their multi-cultural team; we are an equal opportunity employer and welcome all new comers to our shores. Although, we only have one Chinese team member during our breakfast period, it is with regret to hear this characterization of this nationality and the other team members. The richness that a multi-cultural society has brought to our country is immense, and the fluency of the English language is only a matter of time and practice.

Due to the nature of food buffets, and the exposure of food for prolonged periods of heat, there may be occasions when the buffet items are not as moist as we would like it to be; therefore as an option we offer a-la-minute prepared dishes, so that your breakfast may be freshly prepared.

In closing we take this opportunity in thanking you for your patronage, and in the event that your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would welcome the opportunity in endeavouring greatly to restore your confidence in our hotel.
My office is at your disposal.

Kind regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Firstly let me state that the luck that befell us probably won't happen to everyone, but the fact that it happened to us left me with a great impression of the hotel.
I had a booked a 1BR Riverview suite for a night out on the town. When checking in I was told that we were being given a special room, the penthouse on the top floor!!!!! 3BR 2.5 bathroom, huge lounge, dining, kitchen, spa bath, amazing views - too bad it was just the 2 of us!
We just chilled and enjoyed everything. We have never stayed in a penthouse before and unless this happens again, probably won't again, so I can't comment on whether the penthouse is truly luxurious or not. For us it was more than fine, the bed was super comfy and it was all nice and clean.
We had breakfast downstairs at the buffet - that was nothing special, but otherwise our night out was fantastic.
Thanks to Thomas on the desk and all whoever chose us for the upgrade.

Room Tip: Get a riverview room - the night view of the river and flame throwers at Crown Casino are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear hrundi,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and please know that your feedback will be given to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

i have stayed at the Clarion Gateway in Melbourne over 20 times and have received excellent service on every occassion. The location is great and the services even better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Grant G,
We are thrilled to hear that you have stayed with us for 20 over times and thank you for your compliment on our location and services. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

For $200 a night i was disappointed with bath towels changed evry two days. On one ocassion one of the towels was badly torn. Cleaning was very late in the afternoon. Lifts needed cleaning.Good location.Had to complain about early check in as the couple we went with where checked in immediately and we where told we would have to wait about an hour. After a few comments from me this was resolved but we did not get thwe room we expected.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemaxGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback.

We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion your expectations were not fulfilled, this is indeed regrettable.

For clarity purposes, if I may kindly respond to your comments so that any potential misunderstanding will be addressed to your satisfaction.

All linen & towelling services are provided by an external service, and I would like to assure you that we will monitor the quality of the towels more effectively; generally in our experience the current provider is very conscious of delivering quality product items to our hotel.

In line with our hotel environmental sustainability program, and as per the notice in the room, towels are replaced if the towel is discarded on shower/bath floor, however, we do understand that some guests prefer replacement during every service, therefore, it would assist to demonstrate this to our team, which will be greatly appreciated.

Although, I understand your sentiments in relation to early check-in before 2pm, it is at times very challenging to facilitate this process, as there would be multiple reasons why another guest is given access sooner.

This is very much dependant on the specific room type booked, and we have 6 room types, therefore, the perception of jumping the queue, so to speak, is not quite valid, more so, if the room type which was booked has been vacated, it allows access to our housekeeping team.

At times guests who do not wish to wait, forgo the room type booked, therefore, another room option is offered, although, I am unaware of what transpired in this particular instance.

In closing we take this opportunity in thanking you for your patronage, and in the event that your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would welcome the opportunity in endeavouring greatly to restore your confidence in our hotel.
My office is at your disposal.

Kind regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniliquin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed twice recently. Once with family for a shopping weekend. Close to shops and husband and kids went swimming in the hotel pool. We all loved the buffet breakfast.
Then a perfect location for business conference with a short work to the Casino were the conference was held.
Very quiet rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Leanne,
It is pleasing to read that our hotel met your expectations, we are a family friendly Hotel with spacious rooms to accommodate families of all sizes. Our location is indeed very convenient and close to various conferences venues like Crown and MCEC. It is kind of you to highlight our breakfast. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us I look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights for work reasons. Hotel well located as able to walk to City, Casino, Docklands, DFO and restaurants. City Tram very close by for free travel around city. Room spacious and clean, kitchen well equipped. Had Buffet breakfast one day, good variety of choice and wait attendants kept food well stocked. Discount coupons given on arrival for restaurant and breakfast. Room service from restaurant one night, food hot, delivered quite fast and just about too much for us to eat. Bed very comfortable and bedroom was double glazed which helped the traffic/train noise. Extra TV in bedroom of 0ne bedroom suite. Overall pleasant stay as front of house staff helpful on check in and checkout.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerRose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location, room features and service, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing