We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great authentic Thai food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh Chilli Thai Restaurant

Fresh Chilli Thai Restaurant
Ranked #199 of 3,781 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great authentic Thai food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Thai food here is just like it is in Thailand. Had a great night with friends. Glad to have found this place. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anitac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    22
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heyfield, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Thai I have had since Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wow what a great night with magnificent food. Service 5 star. Red curry fish was out of this world. You must go there its the best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Melbourne hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I travel to Thailand every year and love Thai food. We have dined in a lot of Thai restaurants in Melbourne and most have been great although some barely scrape by and others are just not Thai food! We use to live in Williams Landing and had the pleasure of dining at Fresh Chilli Thai Restaurant regularly. We moved over a year ago to north/western suburbs and although love where we live now, we miss dining at Fresh Chilli Thai and sometimes just head out there for a fix. Their food is consistently the best we have ever had in Melbourne and very reasonably priced. The staff are great (love their outfits) and the restuarant is nicely decorated. They offer BYO which we love but be warned, you must book early otherwise you will never get in. They cater to gluten free diners with no problems.

Reading back over this review my mouth is now watering so I will have to make the trek out there for another meal very soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBaby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Without a doubt the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've lived in Thailand and around Australia and I rate Fresh Chilli likely best Thai restaurant in Oz. Only had two two weeks in Australia and ate four nights at Fresh Chilli. The staff are perfect ambassadors for Thai service. The variety of Thai dishes isn't extensive but sometimes this is a good thing because they hot the mark on quality for all dishes and they offer the right range of quintessential Thai dishes to cater for all - spicy like in Thailand or mild for those who cant take ped maak. Personally I think their signature dishes are an Aussie style kra pow pork or chicken and the Panang Curry. There is dine in or take away but if dining in you MUST book any day of the week. No lunch opens at 5.30pm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I read some great reviews about this restaurant and they did not disappoint, this place is a little gem. The food was as good as we got when we were in Thailand, but we only had to travel to Laverton. We had great service, cost was reasonable, all the staff were very friendly and our food came out on time and with just enough space between courses. The only thing that could be a downer for some people would be that it is quite noisy. We had an 8pm booking on a Friday night and the place was full, heaps of people waiting for takeaway as well as people still coming in with late bookings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Chilli Thai Restaurant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Fresh Chilli Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing