We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Melbourne
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,404)
Filter reviews
1,404 results
Traveler rating
935
329
89
35
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
935
329
89
35
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar loot bag apple tv free happy hour lolly bar free lolly free wifi restocked daily one bedroom suite princess theatre funky hotel the penthouse thought of everything bathroom sink bourke street little extras harry potter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,404 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this place! Location was amazing (steps from the theatre and a very short walk into Chinatown, the CBD, markets etc). The breakfast was fantastic and loved the free drinks in the minibar and the loot bag etc - lovely details. The room itself (a 2 bedroom) was a great size, very clean and comfortable. Not overly sound proof - from each room / bathroom or from the alley next door (was woken a few times with recycling bins being emptied).

The staff were great - suited the hotel perfectly - friendly, funny and always with a smile.

Would stay again!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello mishfish5 & thankyou for choosing to hang with us at Ovolo Laneways.

We are super happy you had a great time and very much look forward to seeing you again next time.

Cheers,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Genuinely lovely service - helpful, honest and friendly. Everyone we interacted with at Ovolo Laneways were exceptional - generous with time to offer recommendations and local insight and accomodating across all aspects of service, including searching and posting a lost item within an hour of calling! A fabulous location for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and to experience some of Melbourne’s laneways and China Town. Accommodation itself was great too. Comfortable and quality beds and pillows!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Q7677MIkateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review of our hotel.
You made our day - We love what we do and we are so glad it shows!

Sincerely,
Amy Moylan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We love staying at Ovolo hotels around Australia and although this one is not in the same league as it’s Sydney cousin it is still very good. The rooms are tidy and roomy and the staff are always helpful and friendly. It nice to be able to grab a drink from the mini bar or at happy hour without the exorbitant cost as it’s included. The location is very close to public transport, great restaurants and the city centre. We will definitely come back

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank DavidVR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou David - We loved having you choose to stay with us for your Melbourne visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for more free minibar !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having stayed at Ovolo in Sydney expectations were high. We were not disappointed. A warm and friendly welcome, a super quick check in, bags in our room all in the blink of an eye.
The room decor was minimal but there was everything we needed. A complimentary mini bar and snacks went the extra mile.
A good nights sleep followed by an excellent albeit different breakfast bar.
When were this chain coming to the UK?

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 661spt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-you for your 5 star review.
We are thrilled to read feedback and keen continue to expand and grow into new locations - to stay tuned!
Cant wait to have you return to Melbourne,

Amy Moylan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were so pleased that we chose this hotel for our first visit to Melbourne, everywhere we wanted to visit was either within walking distance or just hop on the tram, free if you stay within the CBD. However it wasn't just the location, the general vibe is relaxed but friendly with lots of little treats keeping a smile on your face. Our bedroom was uber comfortable with everything you could ever want including Alexa, although the bathroom was on the small side.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

HI Pitpl,

I just wanted to touch base with you to say thank you for taking the time out to leave feedback for us, I am thrilled to read that you had such a fabulous stay with us. The team at Ovolo Laneways simply love what they do and it’s wonderful to read when we've got it right.

Have a super day!

Amy Moylan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews