We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!!!”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very disappointed . Unbelievably noisy and the hotel had run out of earplugs! It depends on which night of the week you stay, so you could be lucky but sadly some form of dance party ( Wednesday night) was on in the building next door and the Lane way our room looked onto was filled with people coming and going until early hours of the morning.
Reception area very small and congested.
I would not choose to stay again

Stayed: January 2014
Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear petalee,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent stay here at the hotel. Unfortunately being located in the hub in the city, surrounded by restaurants and bars means that at times external noise can be issue for our property.
We understand the effects of external noise for our guests and are currently looking at ways to minimise this issue along with working with local businesses in helping them understand our position as a hotel.

I plan to have this issue sorted fairly soon and would hope that you could return to the hotel for a second chance and for a more peaceful night sleep.

Warmest Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
There are newer reviews for Ovolo Laneways
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom penthouse for 3 nights. There were lots of great things about the Ovolo. Central location, the rooms are spacious, the complimentary drinks, coffee and pastries in the morning & we absolutely loved the pinball machine...BUT the rooms were dirty!
The rug & lounge were dirty & stained. The bathroom was only surface clean, the sheets had hair on them plus they weren't nice sheets. We travel to Melbourne frequently & won't book the Ovolo again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dacqaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Dacqaroo,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences from your stay at our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you liked the hotel and it's inclusions along with the location. I am however saddened to hear that you felt the room was not cleaned to perfection. I will be taking this up with my housekeeping department immediately as this is not something we pride ourselves on as a boutique hotel.

Regarding certain aspects to the Penthouse, we are looking to upgrade this in the coming months which will include a soft refurbishment and new furnishings.

I understand that your most recent stay was tarnished but I would very much hope that you could give the hotel a second chance, especially after the soft refurbishments take place. I would hope that this could restore your faith in the hotel and in Ovolo as a brand.

Please come direct if you do wish to book. I would be more than happy to assist with any future bookings.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel backs on to a very busy lane servicing some late opening bars. You need to be able to tolerate the racket of glass being dumped into huge rubbish hampers, which are then trundled loudly down the lane . . . for something up to an hour at around 2am. consecutive nights. Midweek. (Might be even worse on weekends.) Space is very tight in the bedroom, and you need to bring your own hangers if you want to use the open parcel shelf that serves as the only wardrobe in the room. No water supply in the kitchenette, which limits its usefulness, given the teensy bathroom sink. But if you plan to eat out, live out of a suit case, and party till 4am, it is fine.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear jo m,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thank you for your recent review on the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the external noise from the hotel ruined what should have been a great stay. Unfortunately being a CBD based hotel we do face issues with local restaurants and bars operating at later hours into the evening.
I have taken this review on board and others comments on noise and we are looking into options of how to eliminate this issue. A big part is also meeting with local restaurant owners and sharing our guests experiences with them for understanding.

I am hoping to have solutions to this issue in the coming months and would hope that you could return to the hotel so that we can hopefully restore your faith in the property and provide you with a better night sleep.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel last month and found it to be great - friendly staff, spacious room, convenient location, free drinks etc. However, the big let down is the bathroom.

The bathroom sink is incredibly tiny (see photo) - difficult to use without splashing water on the floor. The door-less shower, quite roomy but is so poorly designed that the bathroom floor would get soaking wet despite our effort to block the flow of water (using a rolled up bathmat) from the shower to the floor. Whoever designed the bathroom here?

It's a real pity about the bathroom facility. For a night or two, one could probably put up with the ridiculous bathroom. Not for a several day stay.

Room Tip: Room with a better shower and bigger sink, if they have any!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear travelmaker4,

Greeting from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne.

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo experiences from your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the freebies and the general feel of the property.

I also thank you for the review on the bathroom. We take reviews seriously and are always looking into ways we can work with our design team on improving and upgrading certain areas of the hotel.

In the meantime, if you are looking to return to the hotel, may I suggest a 1 bedroom suite as the rooms are larger, creating more space for the bathrooms. These might be a more suitable option for a longer stay period.

If you are looking to book this room on another occasion please contact the hotel direct and one of our friendly staff can assist you.

Warmest Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Staff we're very helpful and friendly as soon as you enter the hotel for check in. The hotel is quite small, but fairly new new modern decor. The bathroom is a little small but you can tell that they have out some effort into making the hotel room and amenities less "commercial" for a pleasant stay.
Best thing is free mini bar, free internet (something you rarely get in Australia hotels), free pack and go break fast.
Location is great, close to everything but not in the middle of it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eLasticbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear eLasticbarbie,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thanks for reviewing the hotel from your last stay with us. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the property and loved the freebies. The Wi-Fi is something we are passionate about pushing in the Australian market so I am glad you enjoyed it's use.

We hope to have you return to the hotel soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Centre of Melbourne activities, we stayed here for 2 nights to watch Roger Federer and Friends at the Rod Laver Arena. In the Hub of Melbourne. Really impressed with the Ovolo Hotel, its decor is amazing, very bright, boutique style, friendly and high-quality service at reception and throughout! they called up a taxi right to the door for us! and loaded our luggage.
Free wifi, complimentary loot bag of snacks, complimentary fridge refilled every day with water, juices, drinks, complimentary breakfast of croissants, delicious chocolate muffins and all, unlimited tea/coffee at reception. All good! the Hotel's 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious, good sized kitchen sink and bench, clean, tv, dvd player, apple tv all good.
The bathroom size and access, sink/shower, and toilet fan could be improved to keep the rest of the apartment nice and clean. Its true reading previous reviews that the elevator cards a bit funny but do work. Would've liked a bit more of a city view but who needs it when you can just walk outside and be astounded!
Loved Ovolo Hotel, should have a sky high one in Sydney!

Room Tip: Our room on level 3 was nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear patty w,

Greetings from Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

I hope you enjoyed the tennis and the heat did not overwhelm your travels.

Thanks for such a fabulous review on the hotel, I am glad to hear that we ticked all the right boxes, customer service, quality and inclusions.
Regarding the lifts, we do see the issues with key access and are looking into upgrading the current system we are using.

We are also very much looking to extend the Ovolo brand in Australia so I will be giving this review to our owners. I too would love the see a sky scraper Ovolo hotel in Sydney.

Thank you again, we look forward to hopefully seeing you in Melbourne soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

All I can say is Great, the staff on arrival was very friendly and told us all about the hotel and what it offers without any asking, the apartment was very clean and tidy, we will stay there again and have told our friends what a great place it is.

Room Tip: Awesome hotel, so close to everything
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guybat,

Greetings from the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thanks for the fantastic review on the hotel, so glad to hear you had a great stay at the property and that we ticked all the right boxes.

I look forward to welcoming your friends to hotel and seeing you return in 2014.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,636 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,547 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,112 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $160 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing