We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a great stay for a single night in Melbourne. Great Location for restaurants and theaters. Rooms are well presented and clean. The staff friendly and helpful. We asked nicely and received in full.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wickedweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Wickedweasel,

Seasons Greetings to you!

Thank you for such a fab review on the hotel. It is great to hear that you liked our rooms, location and staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year and further exceeding your expectations.

Have a wonderful 2014!

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    269
    76
    28
    12
See reviews for
171
400
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Ovolo hotel advertises itself as a luxury boutique hotel and it was with great anticipation that we checked into the hotel over the pre-Christmas weekend.
The hotel certainly impressed in terms of "hard ware": beautiful layout of the room, ingenious space efficiency, complimentary beverages and pastries, a welcome goodie bag, it was the perfect welcome.
It was however sorely lacking in soft ware: beverages that were consumed were not replaced and a request down to reception for replacement was answered by a surly unsmiling counter staff who handed them over without a word even after my husband had thanked him for it. This encounter albeit lasting barely a minute, left a very unpleasant impression on us.
If either the hotel or staff are unhappy about replacing the beverages, perhaps complimentary drinks should not be offered in the first place.
When I realized that the hand soap had not been replaced, I pressed the housekeeping button ( there is one near the main door) only to have it completely ignored, which again makes us wonder why the button was installed in the first place.
A face to face request for soap made at the counter was met with the very same surly, unsmiling staff who had taken up the drinks for us earlier in the evening.. why this bespectacled gentleman is in the hospitality line is any one's guess, he certainly loathed attending to hotel guests as we were once again presented with his poor appalling attitude.
If Ovolo wishes to maintain its 5 star LUXURY status, it will be in their best interest to drastically improve its service quality.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsueps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Hsueps,

Seasons Greetings to you!

Thank you for your review and feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad to hear that the hotel initially impressed you and that you enjoyed the rooms and freebies on offer.
I am however sorry that you felt the property lacked in replacement of stock and also customer service.

Regarding the mini-bar beverages, these should be restocked daily when housekeeping cleans your room. If this did not take place I sincerely apologise and can only put it down to an oversight during the cleaning of your room. I will however speak to my housekeeping team about this and ensure it does not occur again.

I am also a little saddened to hear that one of my team members was not his smiling and accommodating self during your stay. Our staff usually get great feedback for their service so I am concerned you felt it was lacking during your stay and can only apologise on behalf of the team. I do thank you though for mentioning this as I can now chat with the team to ensure they are more accommodating to our guests.

Hsueps, I hope you can return to the hotel in New Year as we would like to restore your faith in Ovolo as a brand.

All the best for 2014!

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, room was just gorgeous, couch very comfy, staff were fantastic, very central and easy walk to lots of attractions. The extras made all the difference: apple TV, wifi, breaky, happy hour, mini bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear JC233,

Seasons Greetings from Ovolo Hotel Melbourne!

Thanks for the fab review on the property. So glad to hear you loved the rooms, the freebies, the service and the location of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ovolo soon!

All the best for 2014!

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 5 month old baby. Service was good, we had a cot provided in our studio suite. Lots of freebies including minibar, movies and pastries for breakfast. Love the fact that they provided bowls, plates and cutlery in the room as well. However, the bathroom sink was just WAY too small for anything, water splashes everywhere whenever we used it. The lobby could have been bigger, it was as narrow as a corridor from the hotel entrance to the lifts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetravels21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear welovetravels21,

Season Greetings to you and your family!

Many thanks for your recent review on Ovolo Hotel Melbourne.

I am glad to hear you liked the Ovolo touches and in room freebies whilst staying at the hotel. And I will be sure to let the team know their service has be great.

Regarding the basin in the Studio and Studio Suites I do understand that they are quite small, unfortunately we did not have a lot of room for anything bigger in these rooms. It is a design feature that we are aware of and we are looking into new design options in the New Year for these rooms.

Hopefully we can have you and your family stay again in 2014. By this time we may have some new in-room features.

All the best to you and your family in the New Year!

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

If IKEA ran a hotel, it would be the Ovolo.

I booked a 1br suite and was excited for my stay based on the hotel's website. But then I arrived at the actual hotel ...

I arrived to a small, narrow lobby with luggage piled up all around and a big group of people seemingly living in the lobby with their luggage open changing their clothes. Did I accidentally book a hostel?

I was given a key to room 110 and upon entering was surprised at how dark the room was. Then I realized it had no windows. Only glass blocks where the windows should be. They seriously sell a room for these prices with no windows?

I went downstairs where I was politely (but condescendingly) told that I should have noted my desire for windows when I booked my room SERIOUSLY?!? Should I have requested a toilet too?) and that they were fully booked, but that the disabled accessibility room was available ("that room comes with windows.").

Then, the keys they gave me didn't work. And the replacement keys didn't work either. The front desk clerk came up with us the third time and also couldn't get they keys to work. Along the way, we encountered other guests whose keys were not working. (Maybe management should see a pattern here?)

The furnishings are cheap and uncomfortable. The rooms are small and cramped. Even a 1br suite was very small; you have to shimmy between the wall and the bed to get out. As for the "free minibar" and "free happy hour," you get what you pay for. Cheap swill.

I've stated at many small boutique hotels that execute flawlessly. This us not one. This hotel is a cheap masquerade of a hip boutique hotel. Don't waste your money, and don't be fooled by their self-proclaimed "hipness." There are much better alternatives.



Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Be_devine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Be_devine,

Seasons Greetings to you!

Thank you for your review and feedback on your recent stay with Ovolo Hotel Melbourne.

I am disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at the property and felt the design was not executed to a flawless fashion. Our property is quite small and so it was designed by Hassel to take the Melbourne street feel from outside, and in to the hotel. Hence the narrow lobby and darkened public spaces. As for the windows, I am sorry that this was not explained on check in. A few of our rooms do have glass bricks but are mostly allocated for guests requiring a quieter room. I can only presume you were allocated this room due to availability during your stay and for that I am sorry.

Our lift keys have also recently been upgraded as we realise the magnetic stripping on the keys was posing an issue for some guests.

Be_devine, I do hope that at some point you can return to the hotel if in Melbourne again and give us a second chance to really restore your faith in the Ovolo brand.

All the best in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the Ovolo in October for one night when we had a business-related function to attend. The location was perfect as we were able to access a late night bar and meal nearby afterwards and then walk a short distance back to the hotel. We love this part of the Melbourne CBD. We enjoyed the minibar and also the 'grab and go breakfast' as we both headed out of town to work in the morning. We found our one bedroom suite very comfortable and quiet - we slept well. The staff were helpful and parking convenient. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank R_J_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear R_J_11,

Seasons Greetings!

Thanks for such a great review on Ovolo Hotel Melbourne. If you are in Melbourne on business quite often please drop our Sales Manager, Amy Collins a line and she can set you up with a corporate rate agreement for the New Year.

We would love to see you return to the property in 2014!

All the best in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ovolo for a week, checking out on the 27th November. The room was great, spacious, clean and tidy, with the freebies very useful.
Talking of freebies, the stocking up of the mini bar/fridge every day was great, whilst it was mostly the soft drinks we used, when you add up the cost, it saved us quite a few dollars.
The free coffee available whenever you wanted it, along with the free grab and go breakfast came in very useful aswell.
The staff couldn't do enough for you. They were all very welcoming, polite, and if you needed something, it was done straight away.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel, and if the others in the chain are this good, I would use them again tomorrow. Thankyou for helping make our Melbourne stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samred72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear samred72,

Seasons Greetings!

Thank you for such a wonderful review on Ovolo Hotel Melbourne. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and loved the freebies! We enjoy giving back.

Looking forward to having you stay again if you're back in Melbourne anytime soon!

All the best in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,357 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Property: Ovolo Laneways
Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing