We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. A lovely stay.”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ovolo for a week, checking out on the 27th November. The room was great, spacious, clean and tidy, with the freebies very useful.
Talking of freebies, the stocking up of the mini bar/fridge every day was great, whilst it was mostly the soft drinks we used, when you add up the cost, it saved us quite a few dollars.
The free coffee available whenever you wanted it, along with the free grab and go breakfast came in very useful aswell.
The staff couldn't do enough for you. They were all very welcoming, polite, and if you needed something, it was done straight away.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel, and if the others in the chain are this good, I would use them again tomorrow. Thankyou for helping make our Melbourne stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samred72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear samred72,

Seasons Greetings!

Thank you for such a wonderful review on Ovolo Hotel Melbourne. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and loved the freebies! We enjoy giving back.

Looking forward to having you stay again if you're back in Melbourne anytime soon!

All the best in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent three nights in Melbourne at the Ovolo Hotel. Contrary to the review by ess36 we had no noise disturbance whatsoever and slept really well. The hotel was well situated and we could walk everywhere. The room was great. We had been upgraded to a suite on the second floor so there was a large lounge area as well as a bedroom and a very nice shower room. It was all very clean. We had a decent sized fridge and they supplied cereal bowls, plates and cutlery so we were able to 'self-cater' for breakfast. They did supply a 'grab-and-go' free breakfast of muffins if you wished. Also we had a free mini-bar which was restocked each day (soft drinks, wine and beer). A nice touch also was a free 'goody bag' in the room which contained all the things that other hotels charge a fortune for e.g. nuts, crisps, chocolate etc. Free Wi-Fi also a bonus - we had to pay $30 for 24 hours at the Mercure Hotel in Sydney. On the way out there was a fridge and you could help yourself to bottled water. I just wish every hotel could look after their guests as well as this one did!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear PeachySuffolk,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review following your recent stay with us. It is great to learn that you were able to enjoy a restful night's sleep and take full advantage of all our freebies!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed in room 308 which was spacious and had windows! My husband and I enjoyed the cold drinks and nibbles provided on arrival. Free wifi also a bonus and hopefully all Australian hotels will catch on to that.
Location was good with nice ambience in that part of Little Bourke St, one night we were quite tired from all the walking around so we ate at one of the many restaurants located right outside.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EsmeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear EsmeBunny,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review from your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you enjoyed our location and were able to take advantage of all our freebies! Thank you also for the great recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ovolo a few nights ago. Definitely not a place you would go if you want a relaxing, quiet night. You will not get to sleep before 1am due to street noise and vibration from the surrounding theaters (if they are open). During our four night stay we changed rooms 3 times.

We started in a rear facing studio apartment. This apartment was tiny. It had no windows, only frosted glass bricks. The doors surrounding us slammed ferociously. If you looked through the grill above the bathroom you could see pipes from the room above. On Friday night a heavy metal music festival was held at the princess theatre which backs onto the Ovolo. The vibration was horrid. This room is really not good enough for $200 a night.

We subsequently asked to change rooms and were moved to a side facing suite. The noise was even worse! This side lane was being used to pack up after the music festival had finished. Lots of moving noise and yelling.

The last night we were placed in a front facing studio. A much nicer room than the uninhabitable cell in the rear of the property. It is also the same price as the cell. The street noise is loud but manageable after midnight.

Worst of all however was the toilet flushing and bathroom noise you can hear from all the rooms surrounding you.

Now it may sound like I am complaining a lot about noise. However, I believe I have a right. I have lived in an inner city Brisbane apartment for the past 10 years on the ground floor. My apartment is like outback Australia compared to the Ovolo. I never hear toilet/bathroom noise.

On a positive the staff easily moved us around rooms and were very helpful. They were a bit dismissive on check out in regards to our complaints about bathroom noise and value for money.

Be warned. This is the first tripadvisor property that has not lived up to expectations based on reviews. It is also the first property that has prompted me to review. And we have travelled worldwide.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ess36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear ess36,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne.

I am sad to hear that you were unable to enjoy your time with us. Our room types are situated in different locations throughout the hotel, each offering variations in light and noise characteristics.

Unfortunately it seems we have been unable to cater to your needs on this occasion, and for this I am truly sorry. However, we would certainly like the opportunity to welcome you back and the chance to discuss the various room options we have in the hope of amending your impressions of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We are currently staying at this hotel for 3 nights. The first night we had a terrible sleep due to the noise in the alley below so we complained and were moved to a room down the back of the building which allowed us to have a good nights sleep last night but because the room has no windows - just glass tiles - we feel closed in and have no idea whether it is sunny or raining outside. We are tempted to ask to be moved again but after reading other reviews we might be better off to stop where we are!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillianSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear LillianSydney,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Please accept our sincere apologies for your less than perfect time with us. Being a CBD hotel, we have both street facing and rear facing rooms, each offering different view and noise characteristics. I am sorry that we have been unable to find the right fit for you on this occasion, however we would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back again and to be able to discuss the different location options of our rooms to best suit your needs.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed at the Ovolo Hotel Melbourne with my partner and a friend over the weekend of 8th November 2013. The hotel is tucked away down an alley in the Melbourne CBD and is the only Ovolo hotel outide Hong Kong. Our penthouse room was spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (one en suite) the view from the wooden deck was rather unprepossessing and looked down on a back alley with a view of a block of rather untidy flats. There is a free minibar but it only contains a few drinks arranged rather like a russian department store spaced out in rows. We were unaware when we booked that the hotel lets out the top floor rooms (where we stayed) for "functions" which is Australian for extremely loud parties. The second night we were there the whole top floor shook with shouting, loud music and broken glass. The occupants of the room became rather aggressive when we complained that we were trying to sleep and began banging on the walls and trying to open the door of our suite. The second night was a hen party which was a lot quieter but by that time my nerves were completely shot. The hotel did not offer any compensation for our ruined sleep because we had booked through booking.com. On the plus side, the hotel was very central, they provided breakfast and coffee down in the front foyer and one of the management staff (Stacey Chen) was considerate and had a delightful attitude to customers. They should send all the men on a communication skills course and have Stacey cloned. For me this was supposed to be a weekend of a lifetime. Unfortunately it was not, so unless you suffer from profound deafness and don't mind being abused by drunken Australians, I would suggest that you think very carefully before booking here.

Room Tip: Do not book a very expensive penthouse room unless you want to spend the whole night listening to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r0gerb_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear r0ger_nz,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to post your honest feedback from your recent stay with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your less than perfect stay. Obviously your experience was not very good and I am truly sorry to learn that you did not get a good night's rest.

I am glad that you found our location to your liking and that Stacey was able to provide you with the service you had expected.

Please contact me directly as I would like the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding our shortcomings in the hope of improving our service standards and amending your first impressions or our hotel.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Good hotel with very nice and helpful staff. Rooms are very small, difficult to find space to store luggage. Although they do not offer a breakfast they have a nice coffee and bread self-service in the morning and beers and wines for free in the evening. I had nice time meeting guests in the lobby while drinking beer. Umbrelas are also available for the rainy days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcioHaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear MarcioHaddad,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff were able to enhance your experience. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our free Grab n Go Breakfast and happy hour drinks at night.

You will also be pleased to know that we have a range of room types of various sizes that offer additional space for luggage. Please be sure to contact us directly when planning your next visit to Melbourne so we can ensure your next room caters to your needs.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
767 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,483 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
739 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,583 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $158 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing