We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice , but”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice , but”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were upgraded to a Terrace Room upon check-in ,which we thought was wonderful, but the guests in one of the other rooms on our floor continually went in and out all night until somewhere around 6.30am and slammed the door constantly going in and out, every time you fell asleep you were woken with a loud bang. These units are lovely if the guests beside you are quiet. The location is great too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryn115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Sheryn115,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor, albeit less than perfect. I am pleased however that you enjoyed our Terrace Suite and found our location favourable.

Regarding the noise you experienced Ovolo Melbourne has a strict “Party Policy” in place to prevent such situations occurring, having said that - the Manager on Duty does need to be made aware of such incidents in order to enforce it. Guest comfort is our priority and we certainly do not want anyone losing sleep due to internal noise.
I sincerely hope that this particular experience has not marred your opinion of Ovolo and do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    281
    78
    30
    12
See reviews for
178
431
79
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The reception staff couldn't do enough for you - nothing was too hard for them. Nespresso coffee machine in reception area. Great grab & go breakfast ( get in early though). Complimentary appy hour drinks. In easy walking distance to most of Melbourne. Suite very clean - only negative was that there wasn't much room between the end of the bed and the wall and the bar staff next door were quite noisy in a morning emptying bottles into the Sulo bins. I would highly recommend staying there as I would have no hesitation in re-booking again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear woous,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to see you found our Reception Team helpful and hope you made the most of our Happy Hour. From your description I am under the impression you were staying in a One Bedroom Suite, we do have these rooms with different bedroom layouts so next time you book please feel free to ask reception.

I am delighted you will be returning and wish to extend my personal service to you throughout the reservation process, so please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had such a great time in this hotel - theyve made staying here really easy, from the great wifi and free minibar to the Airplay system in each room, it all just works really well. The beds are really comfy, the rooms are quiet (we were in 2 rooms during our stay) and the grab and go breakfast was a lifesaver.

We'll be staying here every time we come to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornwallS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear CornwallS,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of your time with us. I am delighted we will be seeing you again - hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A fabulous place to stay and like other reviews, the only negative was the incredibly small handbasin in a not much bigger bathroom! However, the positives far outweighed the inconvenience. Very clean, friendly, helpful staff, well priced and roomy rooms! Quality plus!
Will definitely stay there again an have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chellea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Chellea,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing a brief yet positive review of your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your time in residence and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is not like any other. You cannot relate it to anything else - it is in a class of its own. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the free mini bar is a welcome change - granted there is no scotch or champagne but who wants to pay regular mini bar prices for that anyway. There is beer and wine and let's not forget its free. Other reviewers have mentioned Matt and I have to highlight him again, he is fantastic, gorgeous and absolutely made our stay. If you want a friend behind the front desk offering you advice based on personal experience and you want to feel like your part of a small exclusive family then stay at Ovolo....It is Melbourne. If you want robotic service pools and gyms and to be treated as nothing more than a room number stay at any other hotel. Thank you Ovolo. See you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear MJwine,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of the hotel. I am delighted you feel we are in a league / class of our own as that is exactly how we endeavour to operate. Thank you for taking the time to also mention Matt, I will be passing on your feedback and I am sure he will appreciate it.

Next time you wish to stay with us please feel free to contact myself directly, it would be my pleasure to personally assist you.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Winning:
Free WiFi, Grab n Go Mini Muffins, Pastries, Nudie Orange Juice, Newspapers, Tea & Coffee, Free Mini Bar (Singha Beer, Sauv Blanc, Mineral Water (plain & flavoured), replenished daily,
Free Self Laundry & Dryer (wash powder included), Free Local Calls, Free LOOT Goodie Food bag on Check In, Free Malin + Goetz Bathroom Amenities including Peppermint Shampoos, Cilantro Hair Conditioner, Rum Body Wash and Vitamin b5 Body Moisturizer, Ovolo Backpack, Ovolo Smiley Slippers, Harney and Sons Classic Teas from Dragon Pearl Jasmine to Mint Verbena.

Do I need to say more except we would NEVER stay anywhere else....

Service fantastic, youthful, vibrant (love you, Matt), Hotel sassy, trendy, interesting, convenient, clean, rooms comfortable, contemporary, classy, roomy, entertainment in room - tv in every room.

We stayed in a studio, then a 2 bedroomed apartment. Only 1 thing that I didnt like was the very tiny rectangle handbasin in the studio apartment. Warning - turn your head sideways when brushing your teeth or youll head butt the wall....
Oh, and LOVED the Gumball Machine.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom Apartments are well appointed, spacious and well worth the extra if you want to sprawl out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear shazhunter,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed recount of your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed our amenities and will never stay anywhere else (we can’t really ask for a better compliment!) Ovolo Melbourne endeavours to provide a service experience like no other and I am glad our progressive and youthful approach has not gone un-noticed. I would also like to thank you for mentioning Matt our Guest Services Team Leader; I will certainly pass your feedback on to him.

Next time you wish to stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly, it would be my pleasure to personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the minute we checked in we thought this was a great hotel. The front desk staff were young, friendly and helpful. The hotel has a vibe about it which is hard to describe. It seems like nothing is too much trouble.
The concept of "free" everything is very new to Australia. Free mini-bar. Free hi-speed wifi. "Yes, connect as many devices as you like and no download restrictions" Free drinks in the foyer from 6.00-8.00 pm. Don't want to mingle in the foyer? Just grab a handful of drinks and take them to your room. No problem!!! Free coffee and pastries in the morning.
It is also in a great location.
The only downside was the street noise. Our first stay was a Friday night on the 1st floor. All night long we heard people shouting, yelling, singing etc.When they did finally shut up it was time for the garbage collections etc to start.
We mentioned this to reception on check-out as we were due to stay again in a few days. On our return we were put in a 4th floor room. Unfortunately it was just as noisy.
Maybe some soundproofing or double glazing is in order. It would be such a shame for a hotel such as this to lose clientele because of of this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
ear tommyfromsydney,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found our staff friendly and helpful and the hotels vibe almost indescribable. Ovolo Melbourne’s all- inclusive approach is certainly a refreshing change in Australia and I am pleased you made the most of it.

In regards to the noise you experienced I would like to extend my sincerest apologies. Being a city hotel unfortunately on occasion the council garbage collection is audible from guest rooms. I will however investigate the possibility of double glazing as you have suggested. What we can better control however is the internal noise you heard on your first night, our front desk team would be delighted to locate the responsible guests and have the noise terminated should you call them. Ovolo Melbourne has a strict “Party Policy” in place however the team does need to be made aware of excessive noise in order to enforce it.

I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to Ovolo Melbourne in the near future, please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to book.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,553 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,025 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Property: Ovolo Laneways
Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing