We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a weekend in the CBD”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed at the Ovolo Hotel for one night in May as a weekend getaway with my husband. I booked this hotel because of it's location and as a new, small hotel it looked more interesting than the bigger chain offerings. Location was indeed great for all the fantastic restaurants Melbourne has to offer.
The room (one bedroom suite) was nice and comfortable with some funky styling. The service ethics at Ovolo were the most impressive aspect - free Wifi, free mini bar, goodie bag (filled with chips, biscuits, chocolates - the things you normally pay a fortune for in hotels) and Malin+Goetz toiletries. We were also impressed with the grab and go breakfast offering, which was a nice touch on checkout even though we headed out for a proper breakfast.
Overall Ovolo offers a great CBD location, comfortable rooms and a few complimentary extras which show they care about service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Rebecca0210,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and photographs by way of Trip Advisor. I am delighted you found our location favourable and certainly hope you took advantage of all the restaurants nearby. I was particularly pleased to read you enjoyed our all-inclusive approach as we do strive to offer an experience unlike that offered at the larger chain hotels.

Should you wish to stay with us again in the future, it would be my pleasure to personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
There are newer reviews for Ovolo Laneways
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ovolo is now my fave hotel in Melbourne. The location was perfect - close to the theatre, train station/tram stops and shops etc.

My partner and I shared a "cosy" studio that was really clean and serviced daily.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunnyNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear BunnyNine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted you found our location fantastic and that Ovolo Melbourne is now your new favourite hotel in Melbourne.

Next time you wish to book please feel free to contact me directly so I may personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked a two bedroom place for my best friend and I to stay (girls shopping / culinary weekend) and it was excellent....great location, excellent rooms, and brilliant service.
The room was a perfect size, felt quite large. 3 TV's, fully ipod integrated. The bedrooms were a good size, and the beds were great with nice linen, room to hang things and unpack etc. We had a big lounge, kitchen, and arrived to a welcome goodie bag each which was cute.
Complementary mini bar, including wine and beer.
Nespresso downstairs, with danishs in the morning....very boutique and chic. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear euro79,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo Experience on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted you enjoyed your time in residence and hope we will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Basic and clean room in a great location. This is the perfect hotel on a budget in Melbourne CBD, walking distance to Theatres, Restaurants, Cinemas and Bars. I love the top end of Melbourne and this was perfect for our night out on the town. Plan to spend your time out and about and use this as a place to crash for a weekend or night out. Very quiet location while being a 5 min stroll from everything. Bedding was comfy and clean and the room was a solid 3 star standard. My window was glass bricks so having no view at all had me feeling a little boxed in but otherwise I would definitely stay again considering it is no more expensive than a cab fare to the eastern suburbs.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TheAussieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear samred72,

Seasons Greetings to you!

Thank you for such a wonderful review on Ovolo Hotel Melbourne. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and loved the freebies! We enjoy giving back.

Looking forward to having you stay again if you're back in Melbourne anytime soon!

All the best in 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed two nights as part of a conference I organise, with another 11 rooms booked at the same time for our speakers. I cannot praise this hotel and staff highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble for them, I left gift bags and thank you cards with reception for all our guests who I couldn't meet personally, and the staff ensured they were all delivered safely.

Everyone was raving about the quality of the free wi-fi, and the included mini bar, and I have to say the grab-and-go breakfast was a bit of a life saver as I had a couple of very early starts while I was there! The room (1 bed suite) was clean and comfortable, and though I could have used more bathroom bench space, the toilet lid was perfectly flat and became a useful space of its own!

Lastly, I really enjoyed the bonus of an Apple TV in my room, blasting my music from my phone to the TV via Airplay while I got ready to go out was a real treat. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone who wants some special touches and great location and isn't fussed about the lack of a view (in the CBD it's a rarity anyway!).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Lauren W,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Ovolo experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you and your delegates enjoyed their stay and will pass your feedback on to the entire team.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved it! Staff were friendly from the moment we arrived. Room was spacious and I couldn't have got it any cleaner myself! Perfect location as well. We've recommended it to friends and we are planning on booking for our wedding night! Thanks for an awesome stay :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneeD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear ReneeD83,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for sharing your short yet glowing review on Trip Advisor. Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials and we will see you on the big day!

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Ovolo last weekend and would recommend it to everyone. We stayed in a 2 bed appartment with 4 adults and had plenty of room. The room was clean and tidy but not spotless which didn't bother us. The amount of extras you get during your stay is unbelievable, free loot bag, free mini bar topped up daily (4 beer, 4 glasses of sav blanc, soft drink and water), free nespresso coffee, free breakfast and free happy hour every arvo (awesome). The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. We will stay at Ovolo again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19thsupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear 19thsupporter,

Thank you for sharing your Ovolo experience on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your compliments to the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may assist you with any future reservations.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,544 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,162 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $161 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing