We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really feel like a welcome guest.”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

All the little extras, free wifi, free mini bar, free local calls, free light breakfast, all add up to "I feel valued". Nice, modern decor, spacious rooms and lovely staff meant this was quite possibly the nicest hotel stay I have ever had. It felt so welcoming. I hate the way so many hotels, rip off their captive audience (guest does not seem appropriate somehow) with over inflated prices for amenities. How refreshing that Ovolo have seen fit to make their guests feel welcome & comfortable. Lovely & quiet (no traffic noise), plenty of bars & restaurants handy plus right I theatre district. Handy to tram & train station. This one gets the big tick & I will not go elsewhere on future trips to Melbourne. Well done Ovolo!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Caroline C,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Feedback such as yours certainly makes us feel proud of what we do. I am delighted our staff and inclusions made you feel so welcomed.
Caroline please contact me directly next time you wish to stay, it would be my pleasure to personally assist you.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Residential: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, VIC, 3000
p: +61 3 8692 0777 f: +61 3 8692 0789

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

3 night stay in a studio apartment recently. Excellent service. Clean and very comfortable hotel. Quiet. Spacious. Free wifi. Free stocks from mini bar replenished daily. Delicious pastries available from front desk all day (grab and go) and coffee available at front desk as well as in room. Apple TV. iPod dock. Parking available close by at a cost of $15. No wait for elevator. Staff were very pleasant. Strongly recommend

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank GingerandTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear GingerandTommy,

Salutations from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to share your "Terrific" feedback regarding your recent stay. I was delighted to see you found our staff pleasant and elevators fast, being a boutique property elevator waits are extremely rare!
Please contact me directly next time you wish to book so I may personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Residential: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, VIC, 3000
p: +61 3 8692 0777 f: +61 3 8692 0789

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Free wifi,mini bar, happy hour ,grab bag,breakfast pastries and more. A friend of mine pointed out nothing is really free and that we were paying a little extra for these privileges. I don't agree I think the price was fair especially for the quality of accommodation and to get these add-ons just really made it better value and gave the good vibe to the stay.
I also liked the position in town which was close to the theatres and Chinatown and not to far to walk to anything.
The staff were really helpful and when we went down to have a free happy hour drink they gave us good advice on things to do around town.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartments good for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Gundagirl,

Greetings from the team at Ovolo Melbourne,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found that our inclusions gave a good vibe to the stay. Our front desk team are proud of their local knowledge and Happy Hour is a perfect time for them to share their recommendations, I do hope their advice combined with your hotel stay made for a memorable holiday.
Please contact me directly next time you wish to book so I may personally assist you.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Residential: 19 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, VIC, 3000
p: +61 3 8692 0777 f: +61 3 8692 0789

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

the staff at this hotel are simply amazing. They love their music &chit chat, love taking photos, recommending new places and made us feel as family. free internet- I must stay hilton & hyatt should learn something from this group as they think like a guest. would love to stay there again and hope they open another hotel in the peninsula.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miglan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Miglan S,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

I was delighted to read that our staff made you feel like you were family. We pride ourselves on our service and ability to put ourselves in our guest’s shoes (metaphorically of course…). I hope the front desk team managed to take photos for you that were memorable. Ovolo Group does have plans for further expansion; feel free to follow our progress on Twitter (Ovolo_Oz) and Facebook (Ovolo Hotels + Serviced Apartments).

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ovolo Melbourne in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The most helpful and friendly staff. A real delight. Free and daily replenished mini bar, treats pack on checkin, tv's in all bedrooms. Apple TV, free wifi.... And comfy beds! Will Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Funelixir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Funelixir,

Thank you for your short yet descriptive and positive review. I am delighted to see you found our staff helpful and beds comfortable.
Please feel free to contact me directly next time you wish to stay so I may personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is just gorgeous and the staff on arrival even more so,especially Matt and Stacey. Free wifi, free minibar restocked daily and a goody bag of treats in our room on arrival was amazing! The room was amazing and each room had its own tv on the wall. Large panoramic windows allowed us to see the skyline, awesome....overall the staff made this place my only choice if I'm in Melbourne and reasonably priced to boot...amazing!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Tracey B,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne.

It was indeed a pleasure reading your glowing review; I particularly enjoyed your title “Best Hotel Ever” (all the staff here definitely feel the same way). I would also like to thank you for taking the time to mention Matt and Stacey on our front desk; I will certainly pass your comments on to them.
Tracey I would be delighted to assist you with your next reservation should you wish, alternatively please do feel free to contact Matt or Stacey as I am sure they would also be delighted to personally assist you.
On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Ovolo Melbourne in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We loved Ovolo. The staff are welcoming, friendly and extremely accommodating. Our room was perfect and the bed wonderfully comfortable. We loved the free minibar and wifi and the restaurant recommendations were fabulous. Another nice touch is the free happy hour each evening. Only downside to the whole experience was the miniscule sink in the bathroom which has been noted by other reviewers. The location of this hotel is perfect for everything. We'll definitely be back and would highly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: worth getting the studio suite which is only marginally more expensive but a much bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bidefordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Bidefordbabe,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

It was indeed a pleasure reading your glowing review of Ovolo Melbourne. Our team is extremely proud of what they do and it seems this has not gone unnoticed. Ovolo Melbourne’s Happy Hour is an ideal way for our in house guests to interact with one another as well as our front desk team. I am glad you found our location perfect for everything and will be recommending us to your friends and family. I would be delighted to assist you with your next reservation so please do not hesitate to contact me directly. See you next time!

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
801 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
899 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
8,620 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,605 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $154 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing