We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great little hotel - the free extras were most welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel - the free extras were most welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Travelled as a couple for 3 nights. Stayed at Ovolo to try out the top-end of Little Bourke St. Enjoyed the hotel, good room with separate bedroom, good TVs, roomy bathroom with large towels, iPad dock, etc. Extras included bag of lollies/chocs, good wifi, mini-breakfast in foyer and complimentary mini-bar which included beer and plonk. I have never seen that before! Replenished every day. Plus more available in foyer. All round a nice place, with friendly staff too. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 408 which had a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKN-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    240
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
147
331
64
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had an amazing experience. The staff was particularly friendly, Stacey and Gemma were constantly giving us tips for how to see the best of Melbourne. The breakfast, mini-bar, and other extras were a nice touch that I haven't seen done in other hotels. All in, just an excellent stay and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a great 2 night stay at the new Ovolo. We loved it and would definitely stay there again. The free mini bar and the welcome package was nice, and the room, though quite small, had everything in it. Lovely rain shower and nice amenities. The wifi was fast and most of all FREE! The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast pastries were super fresh, but if you stay any length of time it would be a bit boring and unhealthy. Location is great and an easy walk up Bourke street.
TIP: I found a rate on wotif that was cheaper than the rates for the same dates on the Ovolo site, but they matched it without any hassles. Thus saving a quick $60!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently stayed for four nights at the Ovolo. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed reasonably comfortable.
The "free WiFi" would have been nice had we been able to actually connect for more than 3 minutes at a time.
On one morning of our stay the mini muffins and pastries provided for breakfast were frozen, although, in fairness, the staff were most apologetic about this.
The day before we checked out, Housekeeping removed our used towels but didn't replace them so we had to ask for fresh ones for the following morning's shower.
Despite these little glitches our stay was quite pleasant. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrungebundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We Stayed at the Ovolo on Saturday night for my hens night. The one thing that stood out was the AMAZING customer service and all the little perks that they supplied. The staff were friendly, helpful and went above and beyond for my friends and I. The rooms were pretty soundproof and the beds were amazing to fall into. Free Coffee, Free minibar and the free "loot bag" were amazing extra touches that just made the experience even more special. More hotels need to take a leaf out of the Ovolo book - We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel with lots of little extras to make it great value. Well appointed rooms and great staff, made us feel comfortable and welcome. Couldn't be closer to Princess Theatre. Don't forget to get the discount ticket for parking on Bourke street on check out. Parked for 24 hours for $15.

Room Tip: Room facing little Bourne was slightly noisy on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ovolo in Melbourne and found it a very pleasant surprise to have free snacks and free basic minibar provided. Papers were also complimentary and the location near the edge of China Town suited our needs perfectly. A bit different to your normal boring hotel and extremely good value. We thought the level of security to use the lifts was also very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozziemozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,511 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#7 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,245 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Property: Ovolo Laneways
Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo's first international hotel in Australia is designed and inspired by the hidden streets and gems that Melbourne is known for. Located within the CBD and steps away from Parliament house and the treasury gardens, Ovolo Laneways offers effortless living without being away from the action of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing