We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great funky rooms”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great technology , Apple TV. No thrills breakfast and lots of free goodies in hotel room bar. Great location near china town. Stayed in Studio room, bed was comfortable and felt spacious, loved the rainfall shower. My son enjoyed the gum all machine at reception. would like to try out the Hong Kong properties.
Enjoyed my stay, and will recommend the hotel to friends and family...

Stayed: October 2012
5  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear James F,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

My apologies for the belated reply and thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted that you found our Grab N’ Go breakfast, Loot Bag, rainfall shower and bedding pleasurable.
If I may be of any personal assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
There are newer reviews for Ovolo Laneways
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

This reminded me of Soho Hotel in the the Meat Packing District of NYC. Very trendy, with bright colors (gasp for melbournians this is very new). The great coffee bar downstairs is amazing to help yourself to throughout the night (especially if your working on different time zone deadlines it was a blessing!) Also love the little quirky details like the laundry bags, and the blackboard notes that tell the weather and date...super cool and edgy and the beds are amazing.

This will be a hotel that i will almost always stay in. Such a good change from the big hotels!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank davidsevenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear davidsevenjones,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and my apologies for the belated reply. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel reminiscent of the Soho Hotel in Manhattan.

Please contact me directly next time you wish to book as it would be my pleasure to personally assist you.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a great place for a family stay. Very friendly helpful service . Went out of their way to recommend restaurants and attractions . The design is funky and its all shiny and new. Also free mini bar. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Annie M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Ovolo Melbourne. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our design and complimentary Mini-Bar.
Please contact me when you next book so I may personally assist you.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have just checked into a two bedroom suite at the Ovolo - having dinner at Longrain so was attracted to something close by that looked new and interesting. While the lobby looks good - the rooms are basic to say the very least. No dishwasher as advertised - the "kitchenette"'has a very basic setting for four (no cups and saucers) a bottle opener, a bar fridge and a jug - that's it !!!

Profoundly disapponting for the price - will revert to our usual place the Blackman on St Kilda road - nicer rooms, significantly better facilities and considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Paulio123,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to post your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed the aesthetics of our lobby and found our close proximity to Longrain favourable. On another note it is distressing to read our rooms fell short of your expectations. We have since reviewed our advertising on all websites to ensure dishwashers are only advertised in our Terrace Suites and Penthouse. I understand first impressions are hard to change, however I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to Ovolo Melbourne in the future. Please contact me directly should you wish to give us a second chance and I will personally assist you throughout each aspect of your stay.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed here last weekend and although my stay with was brief, it’s the first impressions that have encouraged me to write this review. We came to Melbourne to see a show at the Princess theatre which was literally next door so it was a perfect location for us. Checking in was quick and easy and the staff we very friendly and welcoming. The young man at the front desk politely informed me that I could help myself to a drink from the fridge or a tea/coffee (all complimentary) which was a really nice added touch. The room was cool and modern, a real sense of Melbourne with the art and furnishings. The bathrooms were really spotless and there was a ‘rain’ shower- which of course was amazing. As well as a free mini bar (that’s right, FREE mini bar) we were also surprised by a little gift bag full of chocolates and random treats in our room. The room had fast wireless internet and foxtel which were free too. The free breakfast (muffins, pastries, fruit) was really nice and simple and a welcomed change from those boring continental breakfasts that you get most other places. I really couldn’t fault this hotel if I tried, they even gave us a complimentary late check out because we had a late flight.
I will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: Bring your iPod/Macbook and make good use of the Free Apple TV!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrendoW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear BrendoW11,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and could not fault us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Ovolo when your next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite which has plenty of space for our one year old to run around in. Loved the fact that they have kids channels available on tv. Staff were very friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burnz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Burnz83,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,
I am delighted you found our Two Bedroom Suites spacious and family friendly. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had booked the Ovolo Hotel at the last minute not really knowing what to expect.... I was surprised and delighted!!

I was greeted by friendly staff, a lobby that was pumping out top 40's music, and tea/coffee on arrival, I thought what have I walked in to, this can't be a hotel!

I was again surprised when I heard about the FREE inclusions, like mini bar, wifi, breakfast, loot bag (bag full of yummy things) and apple tv..my day was just getting better!!

I stayed in a Studio room (yellow door) which was very comfortable, clean & tidy, and it didn't feel cluttered, or cramped. The room felt very bright and open! I loved the blackboard with the little message & recommendation! My favourite part of the room was the big rainfall shower (oh and the freebies) :)

I had to leave quite early to catch a plane, not knowing the area or the best way to get to the airport so the staff organized it all for me by booking a skybus!!

I have already booked my next stay with the Ovolo and I can not wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iheartaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Iheartaustralia,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

It was a pleasure reading your shining review of the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed our progressive and unique approach. I do have to agree that the rainfall showers are fantastic and I am glad our front desk team were able to assist you with your airport transfers.

On behalf of the team at Ovolo Melbourne I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,544 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,162 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $154 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing