We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Want to go back!”
Review of Space Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Space Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect! Want to go back!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you're going to Melbourne on your own, this is an amazing place to stay.

I travelled to Melbourne by myself for a concert and I decided to stay there for five nights. I stayed in the Queen Executive suite and it was perfect. It's everything you need, the coffee and tea making facilities are very basic however I prefer grabbing coffee at one of the many shops a short walk away.

The rooftop is amazing! There's always people up there and it's very clean and inviting. The no alcohol rule seems a bit much, but I think it makes the atmosphere a little nicer and more welcoming. I wish it was accessible 24/7 too!

It's a short walk from central station and it's got a perfect mix of privacy in your room and socialising in communal spaces.

The doors are an issue though, you can constantly hear doors opening and closing because of the security locks! You do get used to it though, and I'm a fairly tolerant person but this might be too much for some people.

The beds are really great too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    315
    113
    32
    34
See reviews for
44
152
285
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a brilliant place to stay. It has a 24 HOUR CINEMA and a ROOF TOP SPA! Need I say more? You are paying hostel prices for a hotel. In addition the rooms are clean, the bathrooms are private, there is a spacious kitchen, big reception, helpful desk staff, a great bar with darts, pool and lovely food, a library and a gym. If you want free wifi the library is a 2 min walk away! There is a wide variety of people staying from 70 years old's, families, back-packers, everyone. I loved my stay and I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The Space hotel is great for a hostel. The rooms are nice, bathrooms probably the best I've ever seen in a hostel and communial areas are fantastic. It's a little more expensive than your usual hostel and would be worth it if the service was better, which left a lot to be desired.

The check in process was slow due to "internet troubles" and my friend who I was staying with who was paying for the booking was charged twice for our $596 reservation. When he noticed this the next day he informed the same staff member who checked us in, but she didn't believe this despite twice the amount of our reservation being taken from his available balance. She then proceeded to explain (wrongly) how his bank works and asked to see the statement which he had already shown her on his phone with the double charge. She then proceeded to scroll through all of his recent transactions and when questioned why she was looking through his personal statement she said (her words) "Calm your farm". A manager eventually came out and sorted the error but no apology from anyone.

Also the service at the bar/restaurant is very hit and miss. Staff are nice enough and the food and drinks are good and cheap, but having to wait for a drink because they're busy doing shots is really dodgy. I have my RSA and occasionally work at a pub but some of the behavior exhibited by staff here would be grounds for getting fired in most places. Also while waiting to order a drink some other people walked to the bar, presumably longer term guests, and were served before me despite me waiting much longer. Needless to say I left the bar and went elsewhere.

It really has the facilities and concept to be a great place but the service has left a sour taste. We won't be back and will return the central YHA next time we're in Melbourne. Although the YHA facilities aren't as nice they're cheaper, in a better location and have much, much better service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DanfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I would highly rate Space Hotel as an excellent value, very hospitable, vibrant city-centre accommodation for anyone visiting Melbourne. Within walking distance to a busy central district and laid back suburbs, and a stone's throw from the city's network of public transport, it's an ideal base. I found it a comfortable, quiet sleep in a clean cool space. In my three-bed dorm, I appreciated the atmosphere of respect, courtesy and solidarity adopted by its clientele, who like me seemed keen to get the most of the city. For luxury, the hotel boasts a rooftop jacuzzi, with deck chairs, a well-equipped gym, lounge area for reading or working, and plenty of toilet/shower rooms on each of the 7 floors. All the staff, at reception, the bar and around thee building were friendly, approachable and knowledgable, which served to create a really welcoming, dynamic and easy-going environment in which to hang out. For the more social traveller out there, you can join in a number of hotel-organised parties with discount drinks or arranged nights out, and the hotel's restaurant food is really tasty and reasonably priced. I particularly liked the provision of hot water at kitchen booths on each floor of the building, and wifi is conveniently accessible at a small charge. As a pretty well travelled Brit, all in all, I would definitely count it as one of the best hotels of its genre and I'd stay there again. Thanks Space!

Room Tip: Higher floors are a bit quieter. Ensure to close your curtains before you leave your room, as the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

we had very good time in mel. Especially, we choose space hostel for staying 4 nights. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. The room was also very clean. We will definitely stay again if we have chance to visit Melbourne!

Room Tip: we stayed at 4beds family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place has obviously been renovated recently and custom designed for travellers. Everything you could possibly need is there. Rooftop terrace and hot tub is a great.

Staff were excellent. Locked my padlock key in the locker and they helped straight away. The overnight guard is a legend !!

First week realised the irons were old and marked - told the reception. Next day all irons replaced. Superb customer service !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanHendo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is more of an hotel with nice rooms, great bathroom facilities, large kitchen, hot tub on the roof, gym plus lockers for your food and your own crockery and cutlery! Amar on the travel desk was very knowledgable and helpful as were all the staff. The bar attached to the hotel has good well priced food. Great location. Only tiny negative was no free wifi but you can get it in hot spots around Melbourne and the library which was close by. If you are in Melbourne stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Teenawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Property: Space Hotel
Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Space Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing