We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hostel ive stayed .........be aware though you have to pay for wifi”
Review of Space Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Space Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best hostel ive stayed .........be aware though you have to pay for wifi”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

ive stayed in quite afew hostels in the last three months and this is by far the best one. its facilities are great and the cooking area is the best , it has lots of cooking stations for everyone.

location is spot on in the heart of Melbourne central with a 5 minute walk to the central where all the malls are. and a 2 minute stroll to the supermarkets.

the rooftop is brilliant with its free Jacuzzi to use and great scenery.

check out the restaurant with the food is great especially the pizzas.

only fault with this place is the price for wifi ......i fell if they gave you free wifi to use in this place it would be one of the best in oz .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leezal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    315
    113
    32
    34
See reviews for
44
152
285
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Good place to say. This very large hostel has everything you need, big kitchen, bar, tv room, roof top terrace.

We got upgraded to a better room. Being new and big you pay for everything. Internet in particluar was a massive rip off.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philallen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed here for a week while I explored Melbourne, I've been in oz nearly 2 years and this is without a doubt the best hostel I've stayed in.
The kitchen is huge and really modern with everything from dishwashers to toasty makers! Its also open 24 hours which is never the case in other hostels and I always end up hungry after midnight!
Having a huge locker to yourself with a bedside shelf and two plugs is just the best, makes being in a dorm room so much easier.
The huge jacuzzi is great, I met loads of people in there and had a lot of fun.
My only complaints would be the room was a little cold and they didn't have any free milk while I was there (boo) there is a 7/11 right next door so if your not lazy like me you can go buy your own.
Also close to some tram stops and a nice walk down to federation square. Aldi is just down the road for cheap food and drink

Room Tip: get the 1st floor so you don't have to wait for lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

After 2 weeks of staying in different hostels in Melbourne it was beyond a relief to find space. The fully air conditioned rooms were the cleanest I've ever stayed in in any hostels anywhere in the world and each person had their own full sized locker to put suitcases in. Rooftop hot tub and sunning area, spacious kitchen, tv and social rooms and a gym on the premises too I couldn't have asked for more for value for money. Just brilliant. First place I'd book if returning to the city on a somewhat limited budget!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mak_020989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It is a very well located place, right in the center of Melbourne. The bathrooms are very clean and tidy. The bunk bed is good as well, they do not make to much noise, as they do in other places. I got very good people on my room as well, so the whole experience was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucian Thomaz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights at the Space Hotel in a Queen Ensuite paying about £60 a night- by far the cheapest I could find in the city. I have to say I was a little nervousness about saying at the hotel given it also is a hostel but I take back my reservations. Check in was quick and easy and I was happily reassured to be told all doors will only open with key cards and there are 90+ security cameras in the hotel. Reception staff booked our neighbours tour and also provided discounted tickets for the Eureka Tower and Aquarium. At check in we were given 2 free drink tokens for the moon bar which was very cheap anyway- bonus in an expensive city! It was a little loud and mad but everyone was very friendly.

Our room was basic but very clean and the bathroom was large, spotless and had a very powerful shower with toiletries. The bed was comfy with bedside lamps and a large wardrobe and desk. The room had tea and coffee facilities and each level had a hot water station. You could go up to the kitchen to get additional tea, coffee, cups and milk- really an endless supply of hot drinks- very nice for winding down in the evening. There was a flat screen tv on the wall with plenty of channels, not that we were really in our room until late eve. Our towels were changed often and I believe our bedding was changed once which was perfect. The room had a very helpful manual.

The kitchen was HUGE and you would be right at home if you were backpacking etc. only once did I hear other guests in the early hours of the morning but that was it. I was amazed at the rooftop-had tons of sun loungers and picnic tables. Lifts were also available.

Melbourne is very easy to walk around although the hotel is near tram stops. It is opposite the old gaol too and 5 mins from Melbourne museum.

Sorry for long review but was really happy with this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LE0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Everything is clean, tidy and air conditioned. The place has everything you could want, movie room, lounge, gym, huge kitchen. It is all done brilliantly well. The rooms come with huge lockers with hangers, towel included. Every bed has 2 power points, a light and a shelf.

SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY AND PAMPER YOURSELF!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Property: Space Hotel
Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Space Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing