We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the price”
Review of Space Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Space Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the price”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It is a very well located place, right in the center of Melbourne. The bathrooms are very clean and tidy. The bunk bed is good as well, they do not make to much noise, as they do in other places. I got very good people on my room as well, so the whole experience was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucian Thomaz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    317
    113
    33
    35
See reviews for
44
153
288
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights at the Space Hotel in a Queen Ensuite paying about £60 a night- by far the cheapest I could find in the city. I have to say I was a little nervousness about saying at the hotel given it also is a hostel but I take back my reservations. Check in was quick and easy and I was happily reassured to be told all doors will only open with key cards and there are 90+ security cameras in the hotel. Reception staff booked our neighbours tour and also provided discounted tickets for the Eureka Tower and Aquarium. At check in we were given 2 free drink tokens for the moon bar which was very cheap anyway- bonus in an expensive city! It was a little loud and mad but everyone was very friendly.

Our room was basic but very clean and the bathroom was large, spotless and had a very powerful shower with toiletries. The bed was comfy with bedside lamps and a large wardrobe and desk. The room had tea and coffee facilities and each level had a hot water station. You could go up to the kitchen to get additional tea, coffee, cups and milk- really an endless supply of hot drinks- very nice for winding down in the evening. There was a flat screen tv on the wall with plenty of channels, not that we were really in our room until late eve. Our towels were changed often and I believe our bedding was changed once which was perfect. The room had a very helpful manual.

The kitchen was HUGE and you would be right at home if you were backpacking etc. only once did I hear other guests in the early hours of the morning but that was it. I was amazed at the rooftop-had tons of sun loungers and picnic tables. Lifts were also available.

Melbourne is very easy to walk around although the hotel is near tram stops. It is opposite the old gaol too and 5 mins from Melbourne museum.

Sorry for long review but was really happy with this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LE0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Everything is clean, tidy and air conditioned. The place has everything you could want, movie room, lounge, gym, huge kitchen. It is all done brilliantly well. The rooms come with huge lockers with hangers, towel included. Every bed has 2 power points, a light and a shelf.

SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY AND PAMPER YOURSELF!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Don't ignore the bad reviews like I did! Receptionist Malley was so rude I cancelled my stay and went home early! Not a hostel for socialising! Do not stay here if travelling alone! Go somewhere where the service reviews are umarred - other reviews stated the service at Space Hotel was rude, I wish I'd paid attention.

The rooms were hot! Could not adjust thermostat, it was too uncomfortable to get a good nights sleep. Be prepared to sweat all night!

The facilities are overrated! The gym is boiling hot. Reception checked and confirmed air con was on but it was hotter than outside! Gym doesn't open till 7am! So much for getting and early morning workout out of the way!

Coffee station on level 3 did not work!!

No ventilation in room! 6 bed dorm, 5 men spraying deodorant cans with no ventilation = major gas cloud to choke on.

Worst hostel ever! Don't even bother if you want to meet people and be treated humanly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here in summer! The air con does not function properly! Expect to sleep in a hot room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank In c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernside, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a great stay at Space Hotel in Melbourne. It was clean and tidy and felt very safe with the key card access. A little bit noisy some evenings as we had a group of young people staying next to us over a weekend and they forgot during their festivities that others would be sleeping at 1am! We chose not to follow up but the hotel does have a policy on noise and we would have had back up if it happened again. Situated on the outskirts of the CBD it was only 1 block away from free city circle tram and 1 block the other way to the delicious Lygon Street! Vic market only 5 - 10 mins walk too! Would definitely stay there again as a couple or family of 5, and also recommend to others!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Love this place! It's really not much more expensive than any other hostel in Melbourne but it's new, modern and funky in design. The rooms are brilliant. We stayed in a 6 share and we had 2 sockets to each bed, a shelf to each bed, a large cupboard to each bed with clean sheets and a towel and sockets inside the cupboard for secure charging. The cleaners are not backpackers so do it properly and regularly. The kitchen space is great, all the best facilities and never having to wait long to use them. It has a large balcony area with a nice view of the city and a large seating area with a plasma TV. On the top floor they have another balcony with a hot tub! A hot tub in a backpackers with amazing views of the city, especially at night time! The location is slightly out of town but not by much and it's a pleasant walk.

For me the best thing about this hostel was how the staff dealt with an incident in my room. Without going into detail I am a solo female traveller and had an issue with a male in my dormitory. Once I reported it to security at 5am the man was removed from the room and the hostel making the rest of my stay very comfortable. The night time security guard (I am unsure of his name) was fantastic making sure I was ok and dealing with the situation!

My only very small issue with Space is the price of the internet. Compared to other hostels around Australia it's very expensive and therefore I didn't purchase it but used free wifi around the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeypot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I cannot recommend this place enough, particularly if backpacking.
The facilities were brilliant. Big well kept kitchen, movie room, rooftop garden with hot tub, gym, quiet room and good shared toilet/showers.
Also had a bar downstairs with drink & food offers on with a good vibe.
I stayed in a 6 bed dorm for 3 weeks, comfy beds with good large lockers for your stuff with personal lamp and power outlet. Only problem was you couldn't open a window, so just had air con.
Only thing that annoyed me was the key cards had to be reset a couple of times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munch1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Property: Space Hotel
Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Space Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing