We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our typical back packers.....”
Review of Space Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Space Hotel
Ranked #14 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel space is more like being on the set of big brother than living in a hotel or hostel. As far as a hostel goes, it's flashbacking at its best. If your looking for a family hotel or experience then this isn't for you. It's cheap enough just to base yourself but if you'd like to sleep then think again. The hotel is very noisy at night time, not due to people noise, but people opening and shutting doors left right and centre. You also need a key card for everything, even turning the bathroom light on! These things are not explained to you at check in and the reception staff member was quite rude and abrupt. The others were fantastic and happy to help. As a hotel it's poor, as a "hostel" it's more than adequate for seeing the city in relative comfort and style. Mixed review depending on what you want it for. The bar that joins to the property is poor, food is ok, prices are ok but you can find cheaper if you zip around the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Guest Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I appologize that yu where not completely satisfied with the Hotel. The Electronic doors requiring key cards are there for the security of all of our guests and I appologize if this was not fully explained to you on check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 816 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a private queen. Awesome bed/room and shower. Staff was average at reception. Ordered the $10 chicken Parma at the bar only to wait one hour then when I asked about it the two bar keeps went to the kitchen giggled and after another 15 min. my food came out while they all peeped around thee corner of the kitchen grinning to see if I had eaten it. Needless to say, I finished my beer and went to Mcdonalds on swanston for a cheeseburger instead. Won't be back to eat ever again. Would consider staying but def cook your own food upstairs.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Guest Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am truly sorry for what you experinced in the bar. The situation has been dealt with and new supervioson has been intiated to avoid such issues in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Travelling through Australia, I've stayed at a couple of hostels which sell themselves as 'flashpackers' – meaning upmarket backpackers. Nowhere has lived up to this name better than the excellent Space Hotel in Melbourne's CBD. I stayed in an eight-person dorm, which afforded the most privacy of any dorm I've ever stayed in. My bed was a solid wooden bunk with a hotel-grade mattress. The best features of the bed area were the large built-in cupboard next to the bed, which meant that, when lying in your bed, you couldn't see anyone else. The side of this cupboard had a reading light, a shelf and two personal power points built in. Inside the cupboard was a light and two more power sockets (I could lock my computer away while it was on charge). The room was split in two by a frosted glass screen between the middle beds. This was a good idea in making the dorm feel smaller. One slight criticism would be that this screen could have been made of something other than glass – when the person in the bed the other side of the screen had her reading light on, the light shone right through into my bed.

What is great about this hostel goes beyond the rooms, however. On pretty much every floor there is another communal facility to use – a library, a gym, a cinema (with big screen and proper cinema seats)... I worked out twice in the gym while I was there – the first time I've had one in the four months I've been backpacking. The kitchen was large and spacious with a lot of storage space. It was slightly annoying to have to put down a $20 deposit to borrow some crockery (vs it being just there, as it is everywhere else) but this definitely had the advantage that no one ever left any mess. Overall, the Space Hotel in Melbourne is the best backpackers I have stayed in on this trip – highly recommended. Looking at some of the less positive reviews, I think a lot of people have gone to this place expecting it to be a budget hotel rather than a hostel; I have stayed in plenty of nicer hotels in my life, but for a backpackers, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Guest Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived for a two night stay after a 700km journey so were both in need of a rest. The receptionist on the desk was very helpful and check in was quick.

We stayed in a twin room which had amazing views of the city. Our room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is situated slap bang in the middle of Melbourne within walking distance of the city centre and very close to all amenities.

The bathrooms have all amenities one needs and there are a number of them located near the rooms. The beds were very comfortable and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's like an upgraded backpackers hostel but with a very modern twist and the clientele was a mix of all ages and nationalities.

The amenities too are great; a kitchen/dining area with an outside space where you can eat and cook your meals; a seating space and hot tub with amazing views of the city and a gym and reading area plus a bar/restaurant. We would definitely stay here next time we are in Melbourne. I could not recommend it highly enough. Very good value for money too! My only small complaint would be having to pay $10 for wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie_griffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Guest Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile



A new, ultra-modern, clean hotel conveniently located at the corner of Victoria and Russell Streets and within walking distance to the Victoria Market and the State Library (the latter of which has free WiFi). The name doesn't refer to "Outer Space" but that there's a space for each amenity - and ample elbow room. Each floor (and bathroom) is key-carded, so after hours, no one can get onto a floor unless that's where their room is. Our private room on the 3rd floor ($95 a night) was comfortable and clean with a desk, wardrobe, flat screen TV and view of the city. Nice cool AC. The shared bathrooms are slightly industrial looking but each is a self-contained unit (meaning, you have a sink, toilet and shower to yourself).
The shared kitchen is large and overlooks the dining area, which contains a large flat screen and a view of the city. Use your room key card to secure your groceries in a locker. Other free hotel amenities include a gym, a movie room and a roof deck with a hot tub (although the hot tub wasn't working during our stay.) Unfortunately, no free WiFi at the hotel.
The bar downstairs has surprisingly good pizza for cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Guest Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here twice in 6 bed and 8 bed dorms both nice. Comfy beds and pillows, big lockers, plenty of showers and bathrooms, cleaned regularly, helpful staff, baggage storage,nice roof terrace, huge kitchen with fridges etc, bbq to use on roof, cinema room, bar with good cheap food n drinks. Highly rate it here!

Only thing that was an issue was the wifi, you pay $3 for an hour or 200mb, seemed everytime i got about 35-40 mins which when only really checking emails and facebook seemed wrong. Mentioned it after a while and was given extra but i think its a bit dodgy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallulahPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaceHotel1, Guest Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are currentky looking into the glitches in the WIFI and will be increasing the download limit from the 1st of March. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed in Space Hotel with my mum, dad and sister for a week. We booked the Suite room. It was spacious and clean, and the balcony was huge! The ensuite bathroom comes with a bath tub. The double bed was very comfortable. During the first night, we realized that the sofa bed was broken and informed the reception. The staff immediately went to our room to check. Upon confirming that the sofa bed was broken, we were given a complimentary 1-night stay in the balcony room with late checkout (12pm) while the hotel staff will try to fix the bed the following day. Great service here! The following day, the hotel staff has put a double-sized mattress in our room.

The hotel has a great communal kitchen. Lots of lockers, fridges, stoves and seating spaces. Pots & pans, knives, chopping boards are also available. Cutlery can be borrowed with a $20 deposit. There are also hot water dispensers and styrofoam cups available for coffee making. Although our room was on the same floor as the kitchen, the noises and cooking smell did not reach our room. Our rubbish bins were cleared once every few days.

Hotel location is amazing. Very near to Lygon St, Old Melbourne Gaol, the free City Circle Tram stop, 7-eleven, supermarkets, etc etc.

Overall, I have enjoyed my stay here. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruizhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#108 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 153 in Melbourne
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 153 in Melbourne
424 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 153 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#51 of 153 in Melbourne
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $29 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Space Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing