We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel but small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Space Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Space Hotel
Ranked #19 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice hostel but small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hostel has everything a hostel can have... exept for large rooms !
This is really the only drawback of my experience. There were little place for luggage and stuff, and littler place on the top dorm bed (it was impossible to sit on my bed, the ceilling was too low)

Otherwise, everything was great: brand new hostel, large kitchen, lots of shared facilities (sport center, TV room, reading room, roof, jacuzzi !)
Exept for the A/C blowing on one bed, the room are well designed: lots of plugs (there are plugs in the lockers which are just beside the beds: a must have!!), small well hidden for others reading light

And the hostel is in the fringe of the CBD.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieClement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    281
    103
    28
    33
See reviews for
38
137
252
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Very unwelcomed feeling along with bad reception, unfriendly nature towards tourists... No time for your concern.. I was very unhappy with my stay and the staff running reception:(

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelpieicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here with my sister, and we were in a twin room. The room itself was sparce. It was okay. I didn't think it was bad and the beds were comfortable. Big TV as well. The only thing was the fact that there is an air vent to pump fresh air into the room right where one of the beds were positioned. I don't understand why they didn't just swap the room around so that our feet would be where the vent was rather our heads. We had to improvise and put a towel up to reduce the flow.

The bathrooms are shared, and although there are a lot they aren't cleaned enough unfortunately for me. I've stayed at a hostel in London where there are cleaners always around cleaning the bathrooms. Here the bathrooms smelt a little.

There is a kitchen, rooftop BBQ, cinema room and gym. I didn't take advantage of any of this, and would swap these facilities for cleaner bathrooms or private bathrooms.

My decision to stay was last minute otherwise I would have paid to stay at a proper hotel. I would say overall my experience was okay, but I think I don't think I'd stay there again because I would probably pay to stay in a hotel where I could grab a private bathroom.

Room Tip: I think the top levels you don't even have the option to change the temperatures of the room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mixedlollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The space hotel is located right in the centre (CBD), which makes it easy to walk most distances in this area. I cannot say anything about shared rooms, the private rooms are okay. If next to the street it can be a bit noisy. The Hotel has a lot of good facilities including a nice rooftop terrace with whirlpool. I think it is a good choice for two or three night, you get decent quality and hygiene, but it is not cheap!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haukmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at Space Hotel 31 March- 2 April and 4-7 April. Both times were in a 6 bed female dorm. The rooms were quite small and I had some difficulties with having enough space to open the bag. The beds were very comfortable, although the top bunk is so high that there's not much space to even sit up. The bathrooms were right next to each room and very modern and clean.

The front desk staff was very helpful and even arranged for access to the showers when we arrived before the check in time.

The hostel is within a walking distance from restaurants and shopping. Italian district Carlton is just 10min walk away.

I had a good stay and would definitely stay at Space Hotel when visiting Melbourne next time. Might consider taking a double room though, to have a bit more space.

Room Tip: The 7th floor rooms were recently renovated and the bathrooms were modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spacious, modern and clean room. Cleaning of toilets and shower could be improved. Fitness centre well equipped. Receptionists were fine even if they did not always agree on the prices and services of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a really great hostel/hotel based only minutes away from the heart of the city. Reception is 24 hours, with really nice and friendly staff who can't do enough for you (big shout out to Seetal who is awesome!!)

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm room - plenty of space in there for everyone's stuff. Really well thought out lockers that have power points, 2 shelves and coat hangers in them. There is also a reading light (with dimmer switch) and a shelf right next to the bed. This all blocks out the light of other peoples reading lights so if you're going to bed earlier than others you aren't disturbed by their lights.

Clean and comfortable beds, very very clean. There is always cleaners around the hostel that pay particular care to the bathrooms and kitchen.

Internet is a tad pricey, but worth paying for as it is really fast. Great communal areas that are always busy but the rest of the hostel is always really quiet.

Really recommend this place :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#94 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#32 of 115 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#9 of 115 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#26 of 115 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Space Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Property: Space Hotel
Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Space Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing