We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Ranked #79 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Location”
Reviewed March 5, 2009

February 2009. Have just spent 5 nights at City Limits and it was excellent value. The staff were all friendly and the room was spotless. The light breakfast of cereal, toast and orange juice was placed in the fridge daily and it was sufficent. The location at the top of Chinatown was good but it was also very close to Parliment Station and the trams, including the free City Circle. The bus stop for the free shuttle bus was a short walk away. It is also a short walk from the Exhibition Building and Museum. An IGA Express supermarket was in the next street. It has limited cooking facilities, only a microwave. The only negitives are the shower is extremely water friendly and there was a constant noise from the lift or the air-conditioners. I would recommend this Hotel Apartment.

Helpful?
1 Thank SeashellAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    161
    38
    2
    3
See reviews for
56
112
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Sorry this is a bit late but have been away traveling. We had 6 days at the City Limits to see our daughter before an extended trip overseas. Check in was fast and friendly. I had requested a quiet room away from the lift as I had read all the reviews, which we got on the 8th floor. It was much larger than expected and very clean, Beds were comfortable with good pillows and good quality linen. Breakfast was as stated and perfectly adequate. Only a little niggle was the fridge was a bit loud at night and there was a compresser on the roof of a building opposite, which couldn't be helped. Considering the prime location, walking to distance to everything we wanted, you couldn't really complain about a little night noise!!! Staff were extremely helpful even offering us late checkout when they booked the shuttle for us, so we will certainly be making it our base for future visits to Melbourne, and also EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY!!

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2008

City Limits was a very nice hotel. It was clean and the staff were friendly. We got a continental breakfast each morning put in our fridge which was handy as you don't need to go out for breakfast.
It was walking distance to the city.
I would go and stay there next time.

  • Liked — Continental breakfast daily
  • Disliked — Pay for wireless internet
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2008

I spent 2 nights in September 08 at the City Limits Serviced Apartments. It was quiet, and clean with really helpful staff. The rooms are spacious, with continental breakfast included in the price. The kitchenette is well equipped too. I thought it would be noisy being in Little Bourke Street-there is a bar/restaurant across the road- but the windows are double glazed so that shut out a lot of the street noise.
If you like Asian food it is the place to stay as it is in the upper portion of China Town. There is also great coffee in the cafes by the Princess Theatre just around the corner in Spring Street . Parliament Station is about 1 minute walk away and it is about a 20 minute walk to Brunswick Street if you dont want to catch the tram.
A great place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Whero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We contacted this place to enquire about reservations and the email response and online booking was quick and efficient. We paid 125 AU$ a night (June 08).

The room itself was large spacious and clean. We were located on the eight floor which has good views of the Melbourne skyline. I think the lower rooms do not have much of a view. The basic kitchen facilities comprise a fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave and sink/worktop area. Though basic, they really do have significant advantages over a standard hotel room.

A continental breakfast (comprising cereal and toast and OJ) is included and placed in your fridge for you to eat at your leisure each morning. Double glazed windows keep external noise to a minimum. Bathroom was clean with a powerful shower. A minor niggle is that the shower head is fixed to the wall, and this may annoy some people.

On the negative side, rooms close to the lift (rooms ending with 01 e.g. rooms 701 on floor 7, 801 on floor 8 etc) are likely to experience significant noise from the aging lift/elevator infrastructure. Ask for a room away from the lifts. The manager said to us that the lifts were due for an upgrade but didn't seem optimistic that this would be happening any time soon.

Overall the staff are efficient and friendly, and the location in the heart of Chinatown is perfect for anyone looking for a large room in central Melbourne.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noise from the elevator
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lbo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

City Limits is on the same street at China Town and 2 minutes walk from Parliament Train Station and the Tram. The room was large with the standard amenities, including continental breakfast daily. The staff were friendly and the rooms were cleaned well each day. The main complaint was the noise from the lift so bring some earplugs but the comfy beds will help you sleep right through the noise. The shower head didn't provide a good shower and the small hairdryer is useless but apart from these things, we really enjoyed our stay at City Limits and Melbourne is a great place, with heaps to do. For the price, City Limits is well recommended.

  • Liked — The location, the size of the rooms and the comfy beds
  • Disliked — The noisy lift which was very loud in the room (bring your earplugs), the showerhead and hairdryer
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2008

This place was aesthetically pleasing, clean and simple. I would recommend anyone staying there. The owner was there right when we got there and she was so personal! The rooms were also very clean and getting on the internet was no problem. I would recommend thi place to anyone!

  • Liked — kitchenette
  • Disliked — elevators were very slow/old
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RenoBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
1,636 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#75 of 159 in Melbourne
869 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
1,057 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#123 of 159 in Melbourne
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Limits Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Limits Serviced Apartments

Property: City Limits Serviced Apartments
Address: 20 - 22 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Limits Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Limits Hotel Apartments is AAA Tourism certified 3.5 star plus Environmentally Friendly Green Star rating property right in Melbourne China Town with 32 studio apartments (24 apartments with double glaze windows) located in the central business district of Melbourne providing accommodation to corporate and leisure clients. Hundred of international restaurants can be found by walking distance.In Melbourne for the Grand Final, Grand Prix, Melbourne Cup, Chinese New Year, Australia Open at Rod Laver Arena, and Flower Show in Fitzroy Garden and Melbourne Museum in Rathdowne and Lygon Street in Carlton? Our fantastic location is within a stone's throw away either by walking distance or free trams and trains are available that can take you to all venues.All of our rooms are equipped with an air conditioner/heater, direct dial telephones, data port for high speed broadband Internet access Wireless (Wi-Fi enabled) or Cable $11 P/D, remote control colour LCD TV with complimentary FOXTEL satellite channels including movies, sport and news, work desk, iron and board, kitchenette comprising hot plates, microwave oven, toaster, kettle, fridge, crockery, cutlery and glass ware. Our ensuite bathrooms all contain a shower, bath, toilet, hand basin and hairdryer. Our rooms are serviced daily to our high standard and windows can be opened for fresh air. Clean and friendly is our main service.FOXTEL is now available with the following channels:Fox SportFox Sport 2Fox Sport 3Fox 8Show GreatsShowtimeSky NewsFor the convenience of our guests we have a 24-hour reception operated by our friendly and professional staff. We offer a tour desk and can help our guests with things to do in Melbourne during their stay, including car hire and day tours. Our business centre is equipped with computers connected to the Internet for the use of our guests. Off-street car parking is also available.Location, fantastic City Centre Location right in China Town near MCG, Parliament train station and all Major Theatre (Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, The Academy Theatre and Her Majesty's Theatre are all near by walking distance, free trams and buses can take you to Docklands, Ethihad Stadium, DFO, South bank. Airport bus is also on your door steps.There is also walking distance to St. Vincent Hospital, Eye and Ear Hospital and Royal Melbourne Hospital not too far away.City Limits, where you are assured of value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your City Limits Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Limits Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing