We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, close to restaurants, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Ranked #81 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

City Limits is in a very convenient location, at the top end of Little Bourke Street (Chinatown). The reception staff member was cheerful and helpful, and I appreciated her assistance in having my bags stored (I had arrived at about 9am).

The room was spacious and the double bed comfortable (this is the second time I've stayed here) and it was nice that a continental breakfast was provided.

The hotel security system was very good. Also good there were only three other rooms on the floor, unlike other Melbourne apartments that seem to cram as many rooms as possible.

There's also a nice area to sit in the lobby if you are awaiting a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for City Limits Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It's very clean, rooms are a great size, not pokey, our room even had a lovely bath to relax in. The kitchenette was great. Staff were very friendly & able to direct us in the right direction. Location is great. Only downfall was that there was noise from the street, mind you, I'm a light sleeper, hubby didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and myself stayed for seven days last month and were completely happy with the location, accommodation and the friendly helpful staff. We had under booked one night and even though the premises were almost fully booked they managed to accommodate us for the extra night. Our room was on the eight floor and we couldn't have been happier, all the rooms are well soundproofed and we slept well with no annoying noise from adjoining rooms or outside. The light breakfast provided was fine if you didn't want to bother going out, but there are many restaurants and fast food places within a city block of City Limits if you prefer a bigger breakfast. It's a great location close to theatres, restaurants , train station and tram, plus lovely parks within easy walking distance. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at City Limits and recommend it to anyone contemplating a stay in Melbourne city.

Room Tip: Corner units are the quietest, but all rooms are well soundproofed including double glazing and insu...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent staff! This place is really underestimated! You can take the SkyBus from the airport to Southern Cross (20 minutes), and then take the free hotel transfer shuttle...and for the reverse, the first hotel transfer shuttle is available at 8am, so plan your trip and flights accordingly, mind you, they do drop off/pick up from other hotels in the area. Room is perfectly clean. Bed, linen and pillows are fluffy! We had a Queen room on the 5th floor, no smoking. Fluffy towels, as well. Tub/shower - dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Standard sink with two spouts for hot and cold water - dispensers for hand soap, body/hand lotion and shaving cream. Room had a kitchenette - sink, microwave, fridge, toaster, hot plate, utensils, plates, cups/glasses, ice cube tray, knives and cooking utensils. Fridge is stocked with a daily quick breakfast - toast (white and rye), cereal, milk, juice, butter, jams, vegemite, cream, tea, and coffee. Counter for dining that had bar stools. Average sized flat screen TV, vanity/writing table with chair, there's an extra chair in the corner. Lots of closet space and drawers, also a room safe for your valuables. Air conditioner is perfectly cold and breezy, has a remote to adjust the temp. Elevator works just fine. The location is great, at the end of China Town. We stayed for three days for the Soundwave Festival and local concerts. Felt perfectly safe. Lots of shops, restaurants and bars around. Flinders Street Station is not too far. It's on Little Bourke, but if you cut through an alley way, you will be on Bourke Street and the trams are right there, that will take you around the city, I suggest getting a Myki card for each day of travel and it's unlimited use on the trams, trains and buses. We took trams around the city and all the way to Flemington Racecourse. I suppose you can take the tram (I believe it's the #59 down Elizabeth Street) to the airport as well, but that may take a while. You need a special key fob to enter the building or you have to be rung in. Also your room key is a special little widgety thing, so don't lose it!

Room Tip: Don't double toast your bread, you will set off the smoke alarm! Call ahead of time for your ai...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed recently for 5 nights while going to Aus Open. Clean well situated in Little Bourke. Close to theatres, cbd, Lygon St and many restaurants. Provided daily breakfast which was adequate for a quick brekkie. Beds comfy and staff helpful. Would recommend to others and would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank anniepotts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night when we went to the Australian Open. We were able to check-in a little early and were courteously treated by reception. Our room on the first floor overlooked Little Bourke Street and was quite spacious for a studio apartment. The room was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. There was a safe in the room, but we did not need to use it. There was little street noise overnight and the garbage trucks in the early morning hours were OK. The in-room continental breakfast was adequate and the little kitchenette was sufficient to make toast and coffee. The location is great for access to public transport, shops in the CBD, and Chinatown.

This was our second stay and we would definitely stay return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GreyNomad-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Booked City Limits again for our recent two night stay, cannot beat the location and price, the room has everything we require, small kitchenette, comfortable beds. We used the parking which if you need a park you should definitely book in advance as the spaces are limited.

Great dining options nearby, trams and trains are just a quick walk away. Happy to recommend this as a good accommodation option in central Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KahylaNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
894 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,762 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Limits Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Limits Serviced Apartments

Address: 20 - 22 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $88 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Limits Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Limits Hotel Apartments is AAA Tourism certified 3.5 star plus Environmentally Friendly Green Star rating property right in Melbourne China Town with 32 studio apartments (24 apartments with double glaze windows) located in the central business district of Melbourne providing accommodation to corporate and leisure clients. Hundred of international restaurants can be found by walking distance.In Melbourne for the Grand Final, Grand Prix, Melbourne Cup, Chinese New Year, Australia Open at Rod Laver Arena, and Flower Show in Fitzroy Garden and Melbourne Museum in Rathdowne and Lygon Street in Carlton? Our fantastic location is within a stone's throw away either by walking distance or free trams and trains are available that can take you to all venues.All of our rooms are equipped with an air conditioner/heater, direct dial telephones, data port for high speed broadband Internet access Wireless (Wi-Fi enabled) or Cable $11 P/D, remote control colour LCD TV with complimentary FOXTEL satellite channels including movies, sport and news, work desk, iron and board, kitchenette comprising hot plates, microwave oven, toaster, kettle, fridge, crockery, cutlery and glass ware. Our ensuite bathrooms all contain a shower, bath, toilet, hand basin and hairdryer. Our rooms are serviced daily to our high standard and windows can be opened for fresh air. Clean and friendly is our main service.FOXTEL is now available with the following channels:Fox SportFox Sport 2Fox Sport 3Fox 8Show GreatsShowtimeSky NewsFor the convenience of our guests we have a 24-hour reception operated by our friendly and professional staff. We offer a tour desk and can help our guests with things to do in Melbourne during their stay, including car hire and day tours. Our business centre is equipped with computers connected to the Internet for the use of our guests. Off-street car parking is also available.Location, fantastic City Centre Location right in China Town near MCG, Parliament train station and all Major Theatre (Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, The Academy Theatre and Her Majesty's Theatre are all near by walking distance, free trams and buses can take you to Docklands, Ethihad Stadium, DFO, South bank. Airport bus is also on your door steps.There is also walking distance to St. Vincent Hospital, Eye and Ear Hospital and Royal Melbourne Hospital not too far away.City Limits, where you are assured of value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Limits Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Limits Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing