We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, good location but average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Ranked #35 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff were friendly and the place is located close to flinders station, but to be honest it was pretty average.

Super thin walls and you can hear everything in the hallways, including people trying unsuccessfully to access their rooms because of the faulty swipe cards. 30 swipe average...

You get what you pay for :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Joshontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 435 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Greenhouse Backpacker is located in the historic flinders line. This hotel offers private as well as shared dormitory style rooms offering complimentary breakfast daily. Hotel offers clean and spacious rooms as per your requirement and attentively attends all your needs and demands. Interior of the rooms is complimenting with the exterior of the hotel that means lobby’s architecture perfectly complements with interior of the room. All rooms include all the luxurious and daily-bases amenities as well as attached with modern style furnished bathrooms. Their major focus is on satisfying customers by offering quality service to them. Staff of the hotel welcomed you with great smile on their face and takes care of luggage. Food at the hotel is yummy and served hot all the time. No doubt, this is the great place to stay at affordable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were looking forward to staying here over Christmas, until we got here! Filthy, broken ceilings, thin walls, basically they have made rooms out of plywood in an office block, I couldn't find the way up to rooftop it was locked and the bathrooms were dirty and like school showers. Checked out quickly, have seen worse, but not much, a refurb and lots of cleaning desperately needed, staff were quite friendly though. Was told by staff that a Christmas dinner and some kind of atmosphere would be made around Xmas but when we checked in was told they weren't going to bother! We were looking forward to this as 2 lone travellers at Xmas.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jetboygaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Guest Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Hi Jetboygaz,
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We clean our bathrooms four times a day and just did a big renovation. Can you please e-mail us at greenhouse@friendlygroup.com.au with some more information about your stay so I can look into it for you. Thanks for taking the time to leave a response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

A large hostel right at the heart of Melbourne's CBD Greenhouse Backpacker could not be better situated for exploring Melbourne and all it has to offer. Near to Federation Square, galleries, the tourist info, the Yarra and the famous Laneways.

The large kitchen is well equipped and well used, with people gathering to cook and eat together. Free breakfast and a free dinner on Tuesdays are an added bonus!

The staff are incredibly helpful with numerous contacts and as well as the free walking tours, movie nights, visits to Queens Market and pub crawls will organise tours to surrounding areas.

Combine his with comfy beds ad clean facilities and its a great place to stay!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank CescaBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed a few times here now, starting back in '04, '05, '07 and a few times since then. The staff at the beginning were great hence why I kept going back, however now days they seem to be very dismissive, this especially applies to the night staff. Also even if you make a request for a room with a window (which i did twice prior to arriving & had email confirmation that I was in a room with a window) don't expect to receive it. I can't be in small spaces without a way of looking outwards, however was place in an 8 bed dorm with just that on my last stay. The guy on didn't do anything about it and was very rude when I presented my email correspondence. The rooftop is great as is the kitchen, however the bathrooms are not very well kept. Its also a very expensive hostel, even with its great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghost_of_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Guest Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi Ghost of the World,
Sorry to hear you experienced a few issues on your recent stay with us. Can you please contact us at greenhouse@friendlygroup.com.au with a few more details so we can continue looking into his for you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I came here the night I got to Melbourne and the staff was really nice and helpful. The kitchen is great and I love the rooftop garden!
Still it is a pretty expensive price for dorms without ensuite.
The WiFi isn't that fast either so get up very very early if you want to have a good connection!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Unfortunately I decided to stay in a 5 birth dorm and when I arrived it was like walking into a brothel their other peoples stuff was strewn all over the floor, and I had to step on dirty clothes just to get to my bed. The locker was broken. Every single time u have came down to get a drink no body has done their dishes so there haven't been any cups and when I went to ask the people at the counter for a cup they just said oh well people are drinking you can just wash their cup and I said ummm no that's their job and yours is to provide cups and they just stared back blankly at me. The place is disgustingly dirty. They offer free breakfast but if you have any dietary needs don't bother with it, they don't even supply light milk. The only good thing about the joint is it's location. Like honestly that's it, the place is a dump, expect nothing more. I can't wait to go home and I'm only 3 nights into my 6 night stay. Unfortunately I had to pay upfront otherwise I'd be checking out and finding something elsewhere. Avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Belzie8,
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please understand that as a backpackers we provide shared accommodation and communal kitchen and dining areas and whilst we clean the kitchen and bathrooms four times a day, no backpacker hostel can promise spotless dorms and flawlessly clean kitchens 24 hours a day. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and if you have any other questions please feel free to send us an e-mail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
675 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
431 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Discovery Melbourne
#121 of 158 in Melbourne
502 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#51 of 158 in Melbourne
127 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Nomads All Nations Hostel
#81 of 158 in Melbourne
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Address: 228 Flinders Lane | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $28 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour and more. If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing