We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for the start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Ranked #35 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I came here the night I got to Melbourne and the staff was really nice and helpful. The kitchen is great and I love the rooftop garden!
Still it is a pretty expensive price for dorms without ensuite.
The WiFi isn't that fast either so get up very very early if you want to have a good connection!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 435 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Unfortunately I decided to stay in a 5 birth dorm and when I arrived it was like walking into a brothel their other peoples stuff was strewn all over the floor, and I had to step on dirty clothes just to get to my bed. The locker was broken. Every single time u have came down to get a drink no body has done their dishes so there haven't been any cups and when I went to ask the people at the counter for a cup they just said oh well people are drinking you can just wash their cup and I said ummm no that's their job and yours is to provide cups and they just stared back blankly at me. The place is disgustingly dirty. They offer free breakfast but if you have any dietary needs don't bother with it, they don't even supply light milk. The only good thing about the joint is it's location. Like honestly that's it, the place is a dump, expect nothing more. I can't wait to go home and I'm only 3 nights into my 6 night stay. Unfortunately I had to pay upfront otherwise I'd be checking out and finding something elsewhere. Avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Belzie8,
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please understand that as a backpackers we provide shared accommodation and communal kitchen and dining areas and whilst we clean the kitchen and bathrooms four times a day, no backpacker hostel can promise spotless dorms and flawlessly clean kitchens 24 hours a day. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and if you have any other questions please feel free to send us an e-mail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Arrived at 3am in the morning to be greeted by a dismissive receptionist.

Bathroom was really clean, rooms could have done with some newer features, but there was no real problem with what was provided. My room was right outside the bathroom so I could here people going in and out all morning.

Great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmy_Titans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Timmy,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.
I'm glad to say we are about to put brand new furniture into select rooms, so keep your eye on our website for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hostel is located near to Federation Square & located at the busy CBD. Our flight from Sydney to Melbourne was delayed by 3 hours and scheduled to arrive past midnight. When we called to informed the reception, glad to find out the check in is before 3am. They were very friendly and direct us how to get to the hotel. We bought the return skybus ticket at airport AUD$28 per person. Took the bus to Southern Cross station, from the station we took the cab to Greenhouse which cost us AUD$10. We were given a room at level 4 near to entrance & toilet so it is quite noisy. We can hear people talking, going in & out of the toilet. If you prefer a much quite sleep, request for the room further from toilet & entrance. The room was just ok but we can't expect much as it is a budget stay. However, the kitchen & common area is quite dirty. Laundry is 24 hours. Washing time is about half an hour & dryer took 45 min. Even with 45 min of drying....my cloth still wet. U need to add additional coins if you want another 45min of drying time. Overall, it was just ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here during my visit to Melbourne. It's the sister hostel of the one in Cairns so thought I would like it also. It's located right in the city so there's access to public transportation everywhere. The police station is right underneath so I felt pretty safe as well.

Compared to the room in Cairns, it was pretty snug for six people. Also there were a few electric outlets in the room and non in the lockers they provided. It was very annoying when you wake up to find your cellphone was unplugged in the middle of the night by some one else.

The bathrooms are not in the rooms, but shared with the whole floor, just like in the college dorms. However in my three night stay there was never any problems waiting for a toilet or shower.

Breakfast was exactly the same as in Cairns. The kitchen was nicer and everyone had a cupboard to store their supplies. Just always remember to wash and dry your own dishes, they are very strict about cleaning up after yourself.

Front desk is also open 24 hours and they are very helpful when trying to book a tour. I recommend a tour of the Great Ocean Road.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank lamb1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hostel is very big, very clear and good managed. Good location in the CBD next to Federation square.

The rooms are very quiet (in the 3rd, 4th and 5th floor), because windows are not viewing on the street .The common bathrooms are very clean and big.
Excellent rooftop to enjoy the sun and the hostel barbecues !!

Good stay for a very good price !

Don't miss the travel agency !!!! We went to Phillip Island, Sovereign Hill & Yarra Valley and spend 3 amazing days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripOfKoala T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hostel offers big and comfortable rooms. They are nice, but could be cleaner, to say the truth. Shared toilets are at each floor, and there are male and female toilets. Since there are quite a lot of toilets in the hostel, there are not too many people sharing the same toilet, so you will always find showers free! Anyway, even toilets are not the cleanest ones in the world, and they don't offer all the privacy that one would like when in the toilet! There is free wi-fi, but it only works at reception floor. Good things about the hostel are the staff, very kind, and the position, that is central, in the very nice Flinders Lane, and perfect for visiting the centre of Melbourne.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Caggiamilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
675 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Discovery Melbourne
#121 of 158 in Melbourne
501 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#51 of 158 in Melbourne
127 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Nomads All Nations Hostel
#81 of 158 in Melbourne
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Address: 228 Flinders Lane | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $28 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour and more. If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing