We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect Location; Could Be Cleaner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Backpacker

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Ranked #44 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Perfect Location; Could Be Cleaner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here from 16- 18 Aug 2013 on a solo trip.

If you're coming via the Skybus from the airport, the hotel courtesy shuttle will drop you at Town Hall on Collins Street and then it's just a 3 minutes walk to the hostel. The entrance isn't really obvious, just a tiny sign but look out for the police station, if you see that, you're just right beside it.

Check in was fast and friendly. The receptionist will give you lots of info about the hostel, how to use the Wifi (which is only available on the 6th floor reception area) and give you your room number. There was only one elevator working during my stay so it gets pretty slow to go up and down so they highly recommend guests to use the stairs. The hostel arranges daily activities around Melbourne including walking tours, pub crawls, pancake Sundays and even Footy Fridays.

I got a 6-bed female dorm room. They clean the rooms everyday but I thought it could have been better as it was still pretty dusty every day. Bathrooms were plentiful, never had to queue for one though very dated and hot water wasn't hot enough for the cold Winter mornings and nights. They provided lockers in the room but you have to bring/buy your own lock. I just locked everything in my luggage and used the shelves for the non-valuables. I really liked the common area on the 6th floor where everybody gathered to talk, use WIFI and just relax. There's even a full kitchen so people can cook their own meals and save some money.

Location wise, this place was in the heart of tourist haven. It's right beside Flinders Street train station where all the major trams and trains pass by. The Melbourne Visitor Centre is also right beside it. And the St. Paul's Cathedral where most of the tours pick you up from. Plenty of cafes, fast food joints and convenience stores beside it.

Overall, a good spot for its price. Some stuff to improve would be to have WIFI on every floor and also charging spots by each bedside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    135
    84
    26
    21
See reviews for
11
63
163
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just got back from 4 nights at this backpackers. My friend & I shared a private room, after our other accommodation fell through.

Greenhouse backpackers private rooms are great, if you're just using the room for sleeping... which we were! The beds are comfortable, the place is clean & the water pressure is fantastic!

The staff are so friendly & a bunch of fun! There's always something to do, there's a huge rooftop to have a BBQ on, the location is fantastic, the pub-crawl is a load of fun & I couldn't recommend this place anymore.

Met some amazing people & had a great nights sleep every night (When i eventually got to bed)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiggleGiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent for first time traveller in Melbourne. Good location, it is in the city and near the federation square so it's very convenient to catch a public transport and go exploring elsewhere.
Skybus dropped me off in front of the St.Paul's cathedral which is just 5 minutes walking distance from Greenhouse.
I stayed for 3 nights in a 6 beds female dorm that requires a key card to enter, the room is vacuumed everyday but of course you dont expect it to be perfectly clean,it's a nice place to live in anyway. There are lockers provided in the room which are locked by a pin lock you bring yourself. The public toilet is very clean but there could be a queue for bathing at night. The only downside about the bathroom is that the water is not warm enough and that could be a problem in winter.
Greenhouse provides breakfast before 9 everyday and pancake once a week. The price of Greenhouse might be a bit expensive compared to other backpackers, but it's comfortable, clean and quiet, and with breakfast provided, I think the price is acceptable.
Wireless internet is provided for free but you can only receive it on 6th floor.
I think it's just a good place for backpackers and I have met some great people in there as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoi Yan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed at Greenhouse on a number of occasions now and I am always impressed by their service. Many staff members have been here long term - which is difficult to achieve in a hostel - but shows how great the place is! Staff are always helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and well maintained, there's a great communal area on the 6th floor and they also do many activities throughout the week to keep all of the guests amused!

I'll see you guys again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemerovo, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It's been said a lot about how good the location of the hostel is but I'll say it again - it is just perfectly right, especially for someone who sees Melbourne for the first time. It's an easy point to start exploring the city as all the major attractions like Flinders street station, St. Paul's cathederal (where all the tour buses to Great Ocean Road, Phillip Island, Mornington Peninsula etc. stop at) and Federation Square are literally a few steps away. You will never miss the city circle tram or a tram to St.Kilda. And if you're fancy for a nice meal or a glass of good wine Degraves street is just around the corner. So for me it was a big thing that I can live in the centre of the city and still travel on a budget.
Plus, the rooms are warm in Australian winter which can be really really chilly, especially in the south (anyone who traveled around the country knows most buildings have no central heating there). Oh, and the hostel is located in the same building with the police station, above it. So it's totally safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Level Contributor
221 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spent one night here in June 2013, in a 2 (bunk)bed private room. Overall, its a nice hostel, well run, with friendly staff. Our room was clean, and it was quiet at night (not a party hostel). The beds were comfortable, although the room was fairly typical spartan. Just the bunk bed, a desk and lamp. The bathroom was clean. There is free wifi, although its only accessible in the common areas of the top floor (not in the guest rooms). However, the wifi was incredibly slow to the point of unusable during the late afternoon and evening hours. It was ok (but not fast) during the morning though. The free breakfast is literally just bread, butter, peanut butter, jam, and two kinds of dry cereal (with milk). The sunday pancake breakfast isn't significantly better, its just some fairly bland pancakes with a few basic toppings to choose from. By all means, not a bad deal for the price & location, but don't expect anything fancy or elaborate.

If I happen to be in Melbourne again, I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks. Location is good and there is the police downstairs, so it's probably safer.
They offer free dinner on Tuesdays. I got pasta and tacos during my stay. Hostel staff cooks them by themselves and it was good.

There was no window in my room but the air wasn't so bad. Walls were so thin and you can hear what they are talking and what they are doing(!) in next room and showers.
Rooms, toilets and showers were OK though the showers weren't hot, just warm...The lounge was spacious and good to stay, but the kitchin was so-so.

The disapointed point was a housekeepers behaviour...A middle-aged housekeeper came into my room without knock (after check-in time) and she was kind of bossy. She pushed my suitcase by her foot!

Free wi-fi only at the lounge and it was a little slow...Free breakfast-sometimes bread's expired...
It's more expensive than other backpackers, but overall, it was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank X246L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi X246L,

Thanks for taking the time to leave those comments.
I have already started to look into your issues. Feel free to drop us a quick e-mail with more details if it suits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#13 of 113 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#34 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#28 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#24 of 113 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#84 of 113 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Property: The Greenhouse Backpacker
Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing