We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy weekly dinner but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Backpacker

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Ranked #35 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersGold level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yummy weekly dinner but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks. Location is good and there is the police downstairs, so it's probably safer.
They offer free dinner on Tuesdays. I got pasta and tacos during my stay. Hostel staff cooks them by themselves and it was good.

There was no window in my room but the air wasn't so bad. Walls were so thin and you can hear what they are talking and what they are doing(!) in next room and showers.
Rooms, toilets and showers were OK though the showers weren't hot, just warm...The lounge was spacious and good to stay, but the kitchin was so-so.

The disapointed point was a housekeepers behaviour...A middle-aged housekeeper came into my room without knock (after check-in time) and she was kind of bossy. She pushed my suitcase by her foot!

Free wi-fi only at the lounge and it was a little slow...Free breakfast-sometimes bread's expired...
It's more expensive than other backpackers, but overall, it was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank X246L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi X246L,

Thanks for taking the time to leave those comments.
I have already started to look into your issues. Feel free to drop us a quick e-mail with more details if it suits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    140
    86
    28
    22
See reviews for
11
67
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

BEFORE BOOKING PLEASE REMEMBER IT IS STILL A BACKPACKERS! It is although a very good backpackers. The rooms are a good size and very clean with mattresses that dont smell. The kitchen area is massive and has great facilities, I actually cooked a stir fry for about 30 people in it.

the best thing about the place though... Is the massive roof space ontop! It is one of the coolest places I have actually been to in Melbourne and I would actual go up there again even if not staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi John,
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Rooms come with a bunk bed and a cabinet. There are night lights above each bed. Central control air conditioning. Overall I had a good sleep. Wifi only works on level 6. The kitchen area is a bit messy. Coffee powder, tea and sugar are available in containers, but we gave up making any drinks. Toilets are clean. One early morning, saw a couple chatting in the female toilet, surprise to see a guy in the female toilet. Only stay here if you don't mind noisy neighbours. Loud music was playing in the afternoon, but luckily the music stopped at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed here because we were initially staying in the Nunnery in Fitzroy but it was a total nightmare, so we checked into the Greenhouse (we had stayed at the one in Cairns). What a relief-- although it was hard to find, it was a nice clean room, comfy bed and air-conditioning. You could hear everything through the walls because it's some type of converted office building, but by late hours it was quiet enough. If you don't mind doors slamming every now and then, this place is definitely worth staying at.
The main lounge is great, cool tv area, and the kitchen area is big, lots of big tables to hang out at. We only stayed one night but if I needed to stay in a hostel in Melb again, I'd stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisssssss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hostel was quite hard to find because of it's very small signage. Luckily I met one of their staff when i walked thru Flinder St. It was accidently anyway, because I was about to ask the hotel address, ans she was like pointing her finger to her clothes which written 'greenhouse backpackers' then she asked us to follow her. what a coincidence, wasnt it?

Overall, the hostel was ok, I like the location because we only need to walk 5 mins to Fed Sq. The cleanliness was on average, the staff was good, internet connection was free but only avail in the lobby and dining area, the bathroom quite clean but too far away from my room, I just didnt feel comf with the kitchen, but not really bad tho..
Ah ya, they have this very complete tour info brochure, so we can compare which tour suit best to our need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mythzmoiselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Greenhouse backpacker from 7 Jun to 12 Jun. the hostel is within 15-20 min walk from southern cross station. It is easy to locate after walking along Collins street, past King street, Williams street and turning into Elizabeth street and finally finding flinders lane. The hostel was also within 2-3 minutes walk from Flinders street station and federation square.
I arrived late past midnight and was delighted to find someone manning the reception. The staff was polite and the check-in was prompt and with minimal fuss.
I had a 4-dorm bed male room and the room was clean and the bunk beds were separated by a wall which meant more privacy. I lament the lack of space to put my belongings since there was only a side table which was taken up by my room mate as I checked in later. I would prefer a side table of two levels so that both could put belongings for easy access. Although there were cabinets to put my luggage, I preferred to leave them on the floor as it was situated by the side of the bunk bed which meant that I could be disturbing my room mate whenever I wanted to retrieve something from my luggage.
The room feels very cold in winter as there is no heater in the room. It is best to bring a jacket to stay warm.
The lounge and dining area is located at the 6th floor and it is where you can access the wifi. The username and password were readily provided when you check in. It was a comfortable place to hang out.
I enjoyed my stay at Greenhouse backpackers and I'm glad to have chosen it as my initial choice was Melbourne Central YHA but decided to choose Greenhouse as there is free wifi albeit it being available only on the 6th floor. I highly recommend anyone who is looking for a cheap and convenient stay in Melbourne to consider Greenhouse backpackers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adiemus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent location, just minutes away from Flinders Station, Fed Square. Getting a public transport is not to bad either.

Greenhouse offers free walking tours, pub crawls, bingo nights, free pasta dinners every Thursday etc. Rooms are pretty decent size, but the walls are pretty thin therefore we can even hear our neighbors singing/talking. There were couple of days where loud songs was played by other guests in the washroom, which we can hear from our room. Kitchen was messy and dirty, plenty of dishes was not cleaned by other guests. On the same note, breakfast is provided daily - simple meal of bread, butter, jam, cereals.

Bus shuttle to airport is also provided. Just need to book through the reception.

Overall, it's a good place but not the best. Please do improve on your customer service skills. A couple of them were not to helpful when approached. Except for Shannon (I hope I got the name right) who took us out on the walking tour.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 505, 405, 305 each. It's right opposite the washrooms where it's availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharenemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Sharenemei,
Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback.
If you would like to send us an e-mail with your room number, I would be glad to look into why your stay was unusually loud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 118 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#23 of 118 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#95 of 118 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#22 of 118 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Property: The Greenhouse Backpacker
Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing