We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you don't mind the noise from your neighbors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Ranked #33 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersGold level
Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location if you don't mind the noise from your neighbors”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent location, just minutes away from Flinders Station, Fed Square. Getting a public transport is not to bad either.

Greenhouse offers free walking tours, pub crawls, bingo nights, free pasta dinners every Thursday etc. Rooms are pretty decent size, but the walls are pretty thin therefore we can even hear our neighbors singing/talking. There were couple of days where loud songs was played by other guests in the washroom, which we can hear from our room. Kitchen was messy and dirty, plenty of dishes was not cleaned by other guests. On the same note, breakfast is provided daily - simple meal of bread, butter, jam, cereals.

Bus shuttle to airport is also provided. Just need to book through the reception.

Overall, it's a good place but not the best. Please do improve on your customer service skills. A couple of them were not to helpful when approached. Except for Shannon (I hope I got the name right) who took us out on the walking tour.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 505, 405, 305 each. It's right opposite the washrooms where it's availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharenemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Sharenemei,
Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback.
If you would like to send us an e-mail with your room number, I would be glad to look into why your stay was unusually loud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    158
    99
    30
    23
See reviews for
13
78
187
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Best things first: The location of this hostel is fantastic! I stayed here during my trip to Australia in January 2013 and it was very comfortable for me to be so close to the city centre (2 mins walk to Fed Sq.). The hostel is quite large and therefore the atmosphere is not very homely but nevertheless there's plenty of opportunity to get into contact with other travellers. If you can, join the free walking tour that is offered by the hostel. I got to see places in Melbourne which I definitely wouldn't have stumbled upon when walking on my own and had a wonderful time! The rooms were clean and just large enough not to feel crowded. Also, the walls seem to be quite thin but luckily I didn't have noisy neighbours. The sanitary installations were spotlessly clean as well and very spatious. The included breakfast was a bit disappointing. You have to be rather quick in order to manage to grab a slice of bread or some milk. The staff on the other hand was very friendly and helpful, just as one would expect it. The only really negative point is the Wi-Fi. It is so extremely slow that the hostel should not even be advertising it. I gave up trying to use it in the evening. In the mornings, it was slightly better. However, if you walk to Fed Square, you can enjoy free Wi-Fi there. All in all, the positive points by far outweigh the negative, so I can definitely recommend this hostel. For this value, I believe The Greenhouse Backpackers is a very reasonable and friendly hostel with a superb location. I would surely stay here again during my next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Fairdl,
Thanks for your kind comments. We recently upgraded our guest internet, so it should be a bit easier to use now. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the greenhouse for about 3 weeks and it was terribly sad to leave! First of all the location of the hostel is amazing you can walk everywhere and everything is close! Secondly my room was lovely with a nice view on finders lane. Also the staff was always friendly and helpful 24/7!!
The bathrooms are cleaned every day and i never had to wait to have a shower . What i also really liked is the dining area where there was always someone to chat to!

Free brekki
Free wifi
Pasta footy and bingo night ,all highly recommended!
And if you are there definitely go on the pub crawl! A brilliant opportunity to meet other people, check out the night life and have lots of fun!
Molly is the best!!;-)

I hope you enjoy it as much as i did!

Came alone left with lovely friends !!:)



PS: Do your own dishes!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fioona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Guest Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Fiona,

Thanks for you kind words.
I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The last time I had stayed in this hostel it was of high standard, but several years later it has really gone downhill. I was assured by the staff that we would be made welcome with our young family but the staff were difficult from the minute we arrived, despite having my husband and little one parked in a loading zone the staff made check in difficult; the kitchen was atrocious with bins overflowing so badly there was rubbish left all over tge work benches - there wasn't even a clean knife or space to prepare food and the bathrooms, including the disabled one we were allowed access to so we could shower our child, were filthy. When we took photos to the manager, he said that people had to clean up after themselves, but if they are offering a service that says it is clean it's clearly not. That kitchen needs reporting to the health department, it's really that bad!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froggiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Froggiem,

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay.
Are you certain you have got the right hostel? I have investigated your issues here and none of our managers can recall a guest showing them photos. Our kitchen and bathrooms are also cleaned four times every day.

Can you please send us an e-mail to greenhouse@friendlygroup.com.au with some more details and I will look into this some more. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in a private room. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Close to everything. Great place to stay. As i work in the tourism industry i was more than happy with my accommodation thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great Location for this hostel everything you want to do is on your door step ! Also good kitchen facilities and chill out areas ! Travelling with my boyfriend we found this a greathskta, for locations and cleanliness ! Would really recommend it apart from our room . We stayed in room 405 which was right opposite the male and female toilets/showers. We were here for 5 nights and not 1 night did we get a decent sleep . The showers are available 24hours a day and every hour there was at least 2 people showering/blow drying there hair at all times in the morning .The busiest time being from 2-6! The room also has a glass window in itso every time either of the doors open u hear it and also see the bright lights. We would basically get to sleep until around 1-2 and then be up until sometimes 7.30 In the morning .In the end we couldn't wait to leave which was a shame ! Apart from that thought couldn't fault it !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Stacey,

Sorry to hear you felt disturbed by the light in your room. I can't remember hearing of this issue before but I will look into finding a solution.
Glad you liked everything else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my favourite hostel in oz by far. Arrived on my own in September, left a week later with friends for life. The atmosphere was great, the rooms clean although a little cramped. It did get hot at night and my room didn't have a window, but as I wasn't spending much time in there anyway that didn't matter. The communal area was great, open and spacious. FREE breakfast every morning keeps you going in those first shaky days, the pasta night was another great addition as was the famous Bingo on Wednesdays. My favourite bit by far was the free walking tour, a fantastic introduction to Melbourne that covered all the stuff we really wanted to know- cheap places to get food, the best back alleyway bars and why you should cover your eyes around magpies. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollyhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#110 of 159 in Melbourne
1,595 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#46 of 136 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#10 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Property: The Greenhouse Backpacker
Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing