We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast & Bed in middle of City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Ranked #30 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast & Bed in middle of City”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place to stay came back a second time, had a private double room first time with a window second time without. Lockers available continental breakfast, rooftop lazy boys central to everything a comfy clean stay .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    160
    99
    30
    23
See reviews for
13
79
191
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Hostel is the best in Melbourne, but i cant understand why i must change the rooms every or every second day. And i am every time in a mixed dorm. Thats anoying. And i am not the only one. the most people who works here, are friendly, but some you can forget. Especial if you lost one time your internet code, than you dont get a second one for the free internet, but when i must change rooms, than it can be happend that i lost things. The Breakfest isn t nice and the kitchen all time dirty. Its a to small kitchen for so many backpackers, and all time you cant find space in Fridge or plats and cuterly. I dont like to cook here. the rooms are different. Some are good and some not. The floor had a aircondition, that means, they can just control the complette floor not every room, so it can be, that it is in one room very freezing and in the next one very hot. All together is the weekly price from 217 $ to expensive. The showers are ok, but yeah i cleaned in an other hostel, so for me it can be better

Room Tip: look for a room to the back or to the site street not inside or flinders lane it s to loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Krissy,

Sorry to hear you experienced a few issues during your stay.

When guests do not tell us about their need to extend their stay until late, we often need to move them to accommodate for other bookings that have been made.

Our breakfast if cereals, tea and coffee, toast and spreads and needs to be kept this basic to ensure we can keep offering budget accommodation. Our kitchen is cleaned 4 times every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many backpacker places around the world, and this is by far the best I have ever stayed in!! I'd give it 6 stars if I could. Location is excellent, very close to the train station, federation square and a really cool little lane with nice funky bars and restaurants on. It's as close to Paris as Melbourne can get. Everything is run like clockwork, counter staff 24hours, really professional, now exactly what is going on and are used to dealing with 20 something's. it's kind of like being at university again. The communal area on the top floor is where the counter is, it's clean bright, loads of computers, a tv room, laundry, friendly feel to it. Dorms are immaculately clean and well set out, great facilities. Free wifi which is great, it gets me so annoyed when places charge for wifi, it's about as essential as the toilet or a bed in this day and age. They also have a large communal kitchen and you can help your self to free breakfast a d coffee. To summarise, an excellent backpacker place, I cannot fault it in anyway. If more businesses were run as efficiently and as well as this the world would be a better place!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank flyrobfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at Greenhouse Backpackers for a week in one of their 6 bed dorms. I found this place very clean and comfy. It's quite a large hostel so for a shy person like me I found it hard to meet people but this is just personal. Great rooftop for smokers and they have heaps of freebies. The free internet is fantastic, as well as free breakfast everyday etc. Only qualms is that room has no windows but I guess thats just the type of building really and my bunk was a little squeaky but ear plugs remedy that. Fabulous location, right on Flinders lane which is a brilliant place surrounded by amazing shops and cafes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chowdy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I hadn't stayed at a Backpackers before so wasn't sure what to expect but did some research on previous reviews of melb backpackers. I was tossing up between three of them. I liked the central location of this place and thought the price was very good, and liked that it didn't have a bar within the building. Stayed for 5nights in a 6bed dorm.
Enjoyed the free use of internet, lots of places to sit in the lounge area, extremely clean bathrooms, never had to wait for one, and bed clean as well, didn't use the cooking area, ..... The things that I didn't like were, the bed felt pretty hard for me, I had taken my own pillow, so I used theirs to put under me, there were no windows in the rooms either, so it felt a bit stuffy in the morning, and staying with 6 people couldn't switch the main light on when someone was in bed, no matter what the time, had bed light, but could've done with a torch, but I managed ok. Not sure if this happens at other backpackers or because this one didn't have windows?? Anyway, overall was pretty good, and staff were always helpful!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 637Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in a 5 bed dorm for 1 week. The room wasn't overly big but had lockers where everyone could store things. Don't think the rooms got cleaned everyday and by the end of the week you could tell but the people i stopped with where clean.
Bathrooms where abit old fashioned and showers where only designed for short people and not anyone over 6ft. very clean and lots of showers so never had to wait.
Kitchen was big but not everyone tidy ipod after themselves and you could tell at times. the only problem i had was with the times they closed the kitchens to clean 10.30-11.30am & 9.30-11.30pm. not very practical i must say.
The common areas where very good, loads of seats and big tv room. they have free use of 4 computers aswell, and free wi-fi.
the free food night was excellent!!!
Overall good stay & would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place has a lot going for it... Good location, friendly staff, bedrooms are fine and the bathrooms are clean. The main problem is the shear volume of people staying here. It means the kitchen is always crowded and dirty despite the staff's best efforts to keep it clean. It's ok but for the price I did expect a little more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_travels84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
1,656 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#104 of 160 in Melbourne
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 139 in Melbourne
563 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#18 of 139 in Melbourne
417 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#11 of 139 in Melbourne
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Property: The Greenhouse Backpacker
Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing