We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant hostel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
Ranked #31 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A brilliant hostel in a great location”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Right by Federation Square and Flinders Street station, this hostel is perfectly located for going anywhere in Melbourne. As well as that, the facilities are great, with a spacious kitchen with plenty of storage space. I would definitely recommend this hostel, if not for it's excellent facilities, for it's wonderful people.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    158
    99
    30
    23
See reviews for
12
78
187
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Great and clean place, nice peoples around, friendly receptionists, large hanout area besdes kitchen, lobby services in-house, secured luggage storage area without charge, lift convenience for large heavy luggages, privacy dorm, free lockers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaQubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a really nice hostel in the middle of Melbourne. I stayed here twice when visiting Australia in July 2012. The hostel is in the middle of Melbourne, in gorgeous Finder’s Lane. There is a lovely little alley way with lovely cafés and restaurants close by. For a hostel, it’s surprisingly clean. There is free internet access, which is accessible only* on the 6th floor, where there is the kitchen, dining room, tv room, laundry, computers. There was a free walking tour, bingo night, free dinner night (with a Pasta AlFredo that was delicious), and the good ol’ Aussie pub crawl. There were even outings to the football! This is a great place for families. I brought my 75 year old mother, and she had a “glorious time”, chatting to “the younger people”. Whilst I was there, there were quite a few people who had their, somewhat, elderly parents in tow. There was also a young family, who brought along their two young daughters (toddler and a 5year old). It’s not what I would call a party hostel, but it isn’t boring. It’s just a lovely place to stay in the middle of Melbourne. There is a travel agency on the 6th floor, which were, really, very friendly. The free breakfast consists of cereal (cornflakes or rice pops), milk, and bread to toast (with a selection of butter, vegemite, peanut butter, or jam). There is also tea and coffee in the kitchen. The bathroom was clean, and if you showered when no one else was there, the water pressure was good. My only problem was I had a bed that squeaked - luckily I stayed long enough for it to be amusing rather than annoying.

*I was able to have wifi access on the 5th floor, and on occasion even on the 3rd.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrVetticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Not very often that you find a hostel of this quality, in a prime location and this price! Arrived to a helpful check in desk where they wre able to place us in our room before check in time. Had a triple room which was great and meant didnt have other people coming in and out, though next time I would opt for a room with a window view. Noise was not much of an issue except for one night, but to be honest we probably woke a few people up after the pub crawl (THANKS EBONY!) :P . great veiws from the roof top, everywhere is spotless and very decent breakfast (encourages you to make the most of your day) .. the location is second to none..so glad I didn't opt for any of the outlying backpackers or worse...St. Kilda. If you are thinking of going to Melbourne on the cheap you can not do better than this...make sure you check out there weekly pub crawl (got messy!) and the mega walking tour (though dont challenge ebony's facts as she doesnt like it :P ) . 10/10!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window room, inner rooms feel abit "boxy"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my first experience of a hostel. Well I was slightly shocked when I walked into the room. But I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and met some lovely people, everyone there was friendly and it really was in the heart of Melbourne, it couldn't of been better location.

I stayed in a mixed 5 bed dorm. I was sharing with 4 males, 2 of them were 'long term residence' and had left all the stuff over what little floor was there (rooms are quite cramped). The rooms were fairly dark and dingey but that didnt matter as I didn't spend much time in there. My bed sheets were clean and folded and they had lockers. It was great having separate dim timer light, so you don't disturb those asleep by turning on the full main light.
The kitchen facilities were fairly good. I did have to squidge my food into the fridge. Some of the hobs didn't work. But whenever I went to cook there was always free space. And clean utensils.
The free breakfast in the morning is very basic, but still great as it is free. There is toast and cereal.

The activities organised had a great turn out, and everyone on the pub crawl was very welcoming and we had a great evening. The cinema room had huge sofas and you could book tv time. I was nice to be able to stay in for some evenings.
They have two computers free to use, which was great, and you rarely had to wait.
Overall it was not the best of hostels but I would stay there again, there is a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and I met some lovely people. The location is unbelievably good and the value for money outweighs all the negatives

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked this hostel in advance, based on their Lonely Planet review and the good location. Unfortunately, it turned out to be the worst hostel we have ever stayed in, in Australia.

The room hadn't been cleaned when we were given the keys, despite it being well after the check in time. When the cleaners had been in, there was still hair in the 'clean' sheets. The double room was really dark, overlooking the generators in the courtyard and the furniture was a metal filing cabinet/cupboard and a desk. The bed was so squeaky and old that we couldn't even turn over without waking up.

The kitchen facilities were a joke, with some of the hob rings out of action, no oven or grill and only 2 microwaves. There was nowhere near enough fridge space, and there weren't any freezers either. There were no cups, so we were actually given the reception staffs' own mugs to use. The kitchen was such a state, with mucky work surfaces and water on the floor that we had to eat out. When we complained to the reception staff, they acknowledged that we had a very legitimate complaint and immediately offered us a refund, and to try and find us alternative accommodation (although it was quite late at this point).

We checked out the following day and made a formal complaint to the manager. To be fair, it was dealt with very professionally and not only did we receive a refund for the nights we hadn't stayed but had paid upfront, we were also refunded the first nights stay plus our credit card charges.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickymakin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi Vicky,
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I'm glad we were able to respond in a professional way.
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Jakarta
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Location of this hotel is great, just a walk away from the famous Flinder's Street Station which is in the middle of the city. Stayed on the private room, which was quite nice. The only drawback was the top bunk was half the size of the lower bunk.

As for facilities, the hostel provide good internet and amazing cooking area! Definitely recommended for backpacker.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rio_el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 134 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#46 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#105 of 134 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Property: The Greenhouse Backpacker
Address: 228 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour, Free Dinner Tuesdays, Free Activities and more.Get the inside information on the sights of Melbourne on our half-day walking tour, hear the tunes of local DJ's and bands on our pub crawl, taste the market fresh ingredients in our Free Tuesday dinners.If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing