We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is awful, the experience is unimaginable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Ranked #110 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Never get fooled by the photos on web of this hotel, they are deceptive and the experience is awful. Never get into this hotel ever n never again. The room was no different from a prison. Service is terrible. And the environment is definitely not favorable

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Good Morning and thankyou for your review, - Firstly I would like to point out that we are NOT a HOTEL - so your comments are very uncalled for indeed - We are a Backpackers Hostel that provides Good Quality Budget accomodation to all. Our rooms are exceptionally large and I am not sure why you would lthink they are like a prision - We always obtain excpetional service as I am sure if you read the reviews you can see this. The Photos on our website are only a few months old and they are exactly what you experience the moment you arrive at the Hostel.

I am sorry you felt our Hostel was not up to your standards but I would suggest in future if you are looking for a HOTEL to stay in you dont choose a Hostel (Backpackers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 483 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

The rooms and showers are so good! The sapce to hang out with friends excellent and the reception extremely hospitable. I was travel with a friend, as you have never been in Melbourne before, you stayed at the hostel at night and we had a great time there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MariaCorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have always had very good experiences at Hotel Discovery. I first satyed there in 2004 with my older son, his forst trip to Melbourne. My dad came from Fitzroy and was orphaned at eight years old. This means we have family in Melbourn spread over several suburbs and because we prefer to do our own thing with exploring it is nice to call Hotel Discovery home for the time there. We can leave when we like and return at any time of the day, or night knowing our belongings are safe. I liked the fact a free breakfast of toast or cereals as you prefer, are available every morning with tea or coffee. The team were very helpful with arranging a shuttle back to the airport for our departure, although you can order a cooked meal at the on site cafe if you prefer this before a day travelling the markets. Queen Victoria Markets are our favourite and we spend a lot of time looking for bargains. It was great to see the new lifts, they were pretty tired on my last trip, very smooth. This was my fifth visit over the years, I plan to call in again in the future

Room Tip: You can choose a room ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The showers were good. We froze as the heater in our room didn't work-staff fixed this. minimal blankets-managed to get more. Cockroaches in the kitchen and the dish washing system is a health issue. The bunks didn't have a ladder and the noise from the construction site next door was unbearable 18 hours a day.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth0274611341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hi Elizabeth and thank you for your review. I am not happy that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. More doonas are always avalaible from Reception if only you had asked if it was so cold. The heating situation is unusaul as most of our guests find the heating int he rooms perfectly adequate. Having a hostel the size of ours we do from time to time have issues with pests such as roaches however this is managed weekly and daily to irradicate the issue and the few you would have seen would be ones that have come out and would be dead within a few hours from the posions laid and also the weekly pest bombs that are setoff during the night. I am not sure why you think the Kitchen is a hygiene issue - All dishes are washed in Hot water and also put thru our industrial dishwashers each day. We also are inspected on a monthly and quarterly basis from the health department and pass with flying colours each time. I hope the rest of your time in Melbourne was enjoyable and I do hope you will give us another go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you are not fussy about room fittings, this is your best best. Simple no frills double bed room with one chair and a steel rack and heater. Shared bath is really clean, staff are really friendly and surprisingly rice and spaghetti is free of charge. Lots of activities organised but we did not join, way too tired. Great simpler breakfast for the price we paid, just enough to fill you up. Location wise, extremely close Queen Victoria market. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the shared bath but not too close, a few doors away would be good. Shared bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Quiet big place, so it's good for who are looking for meet people. The room and the bathroom were clean, even those the kitchen can get a little bit messy. But that's ok considering the number of people using at the same time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucho R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

$28 per night for a shared dormitory bed. Bring own towel & soap. Shared toilet & showers. Free toast & cereal with bed and cup of tea or coffee every morning. Experience dependent on cohort of sleeping guest in dorm. If they are well behaved great experience. If not then hopefully the electronic locks on every amenity minimizes your disturbance. Find your own quiet spot in the communal living amenities and stay within your budget. Wifi is not included in price. $10 deposit for electronic key card which maintains your privacy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Fitfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 147 in Melbourne
622 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#107 of 147 in Melbourne
151 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 147 in Melbourne
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 147 in Melbourne
426 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#12 of 147 in Melbourne
808 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#50 of 147 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $18 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips WiFi throughout the entire building, and if you stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQs and 24 hour reception with great local staff. For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen. Our events program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJs get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a Friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7. Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing