We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveler rating
62
140
117
97
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
140
117
97
110
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 526 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The showers were good. We froze as the heater in our room didn't work-staff fixed this. minimal blankets-managed to get more. Cockroaches in the kitchen and the dish washing system is a health issue. The bunks didn't have a ladder and the noise from the construction site next door was unbearable 18 hours a day.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hi Elizabeth and thank you for your review. I am not happy that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. More doonas are always avalaible from Reception if only you had asked if it was so cold. The heating situation is unusaul as most of our guests find the heating int he rooms perfectly adequate. Having a hostel the size of ours we do from time to time have issues with pests such as roaches however this is managed weekly and daily to irradicate the issue and the few you would have seen would be ones that have come out and would be dead within a few hours from the posions laid and also the weekly pest bombs that are setoff during the night. I am not sure why you think the Kitchen is a hygiene issue - All dishes are washed in Hot water and also put thru our industrial dishwashers each day. We also are inspected on a monthly and quarterly basis from the health department and pass with flying colours each time. I hope the rest of your time in Melbourne was enjoyable and I do hope you will give us another go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you are not fussy about room fittings, this is your best best. Simple no frills double bed room with one chair and a steel rack and heater. Shared bath is really clean, staff are really friendly and surprisingly rice and spaghetti is free of charge. Lots of activities organised but we did not join, way too tired. Great simpler breakfast for the price we paid, just enough to fill you up. Location wise, extremely close Queen Victoria market. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the shared bath but not too close, a few doors away would be good. Shared bath is at one end for female and the other end of male. If you don't mind the walk, it's all ok.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Quiet big place, so it's good for who are looking for meet people. The room and the bathroom were clean, even those the kitchen can get a little bit messy. But that's ok considering the number of people using at the same time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuchoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

$28 per night for a shared dormitory bed. Bring own towel & soap. Shared toilet & showers. Free toast & cereal with bed and cup of tea or coffee every morning. Experience dependent on cohort of sleeping guest in dorm. If they are well behaved great experience. If not then hopefully the electronic locks on every amenity minimizes your disturbance. Find your own quiet spot in the communal living amenities and stay within your budget. Wifi is not included in price. $10 deposit for electronic key card which maintains your privacy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Fitfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place! Be it staff or guests, everyone was so friendly and super nice! We stayed in a four bed dorm for 4 nights during Feb. The room was a little old and only had a ceiling fan, making it pretty warm at night and stuffy in the day. Though the hostel seemed huge for a place in the city. Staff were friendly and put on great bar nights, movie nights, BBQS and day trips. Again I was only there for 4 nights and every night they had a social gathering of some sort.

Only down side was that is was quite a walk from the centre of the city, though you can easily catch the tram. Long term parking across the road only cost $55 for 5 days (that's if you push the 'lost ticket' option when you go to pay).

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickmikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thanks for taking your time to review Discovery - we are happy you loved your stay here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews