We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveler rating
62
140
117
97
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
140
117
97
110
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 526 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Quiet big place, so it's good for who are looking for meet people. The room and the bathroom were clean, even those the kitchen can get a little bit messy. But that's ok considering the number of people using at the same time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuchoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

$28 per night for a shared dormitory bed. Bring own towel & soap. Shared toilet & showers. Free toast & cereal with bed and cup of tea or coffee every morning. Experience dependent on cohort of sleeping guest in dorm. If they are well behaved great experience. If not then hopefully the electronic locks on every amenity minimizes your disturbance. Find your own quiet spot in the communal living amenities and stay within your budget. Wifi is not included in price. $10 deposit for electronic key card which maintains your privacy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Fitfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place! Be it staff or guests, everyone was so friendly and super nice! We stayed in a four bed dorm for 4 nights during Feb. The room was a little old and only had a ceiling fan, making it pretty warm at night and stuffy in the day. Though the hostel seemed huge for a place in the city. Staff were friendly and put on great bar nights, movie nights, BBQS and day trips. Again I was only there for 4 nights and every night they had a social gathering of some sort.

Only down side was that is was quite a walk from the centre of the city, though you can easily catch the tram. Long term parking across the road only cost $55 for 5 days (that's if you push the 'lost ticket' option when you go to pay).

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickmikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thanks for taking your time to review Discovery - we are happy you loved your stay here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The staff is totally rude, mainly the 2 girls at the reception! The employees should smile to the guests but there this doesn't happen! The owner need get a workshop with the Xbase backpacker to learn how need be the employees! I was there and the guy that was in the same room brought some girl and started there to have a sex with her! Old rooms! Terrible place! REALLY DON'T GO THERE!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedrohfgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review of Discovery Melbourne- we value your feedback and are working on preventing these problems in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff were nice and the lobby was nice looking but the rest of the building was like a disused mental hospital. So depressing. Stayed for one night in a double room. Moved on to another hostel afterwards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jimmmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hi there Jim,

Thanks for your review - I am pleased you liked the look of our new Lobby - Not so sure how the rest of the Hostel looks like a Mental Hospital - Never been into one myself - We are constantly upgrading our building to improve the experience to our guests and I hope this doesnt put you off trying us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews