We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Terrible place to stay!”
Review of Elizabeth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Hostel
Ranked #118 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place was absolutely filthy. Please avoid. The toilets looked like they haven't been cleaned in ages. They would go in each day to "clean" but every time they left, nothing was different. You could smell the urine, see stains all over the place and the floors were sticky. Outside my window was a garbage pile. My sheets had stains on them. They had so-called free WI-FI, but it was useless. You could not get a good connection, and even in the lobby where the signal was strong, it took ages to load a page. Forget about Skype or videos. The showers where also dirty. The water temperature was the most unstable I have experienced. The shower heads were also mounted in a position where even at the lowest position would only hit above my waist, and I'm not short. Please avoid this place! Spend a few more dollars and go somewhere with some standards.

Room Tip: Don't get it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

I came to Elizabeth Hostel by accident, looking for any room in Melbourne. It is quite comfy place, situated in nice but not noisy neighborhood.
The hostel is big but because of its size you have opportunity to meet many people form around the world and with whom you can continue your adventure in travelling around Australia.
The rooms are clean and safe, the wifi is available. If you don’t have many, there’s a possibility to work in the hostel as a payment for your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarzyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked out a 6 person dorm for a Saturday night only after another hostel 'lost' our booking and we needed somewhere in the same area. The bedding was dirty and had cigarette burns on ALL the pillow cases, which was only sorted out by buying $2.50 mattress protectors to put over the sheet and pillow (which happened to be sold at the convenience store/reception downstairs). My group of friends was 4 males, myself and one other female - I felt safe coming and going with the boys however had I been alone or with only a female friend I would have felt highly unsafe given the type of men I saw roaming the halls (I did not see any other female guests). I can't comment on the showers as I didn't use them, but the toilets were akin to the average highschool toilet block; lots of graffiti and just clean enough to be bearable. We did not use any of the common areas and kept to our dorm as the entire place felt incredibly seedy and dangerous. I would NEVER recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLucy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

WORST place I've ever stayed! Booked for 3nights for Grand Prix, only lasted 1 had to find somewhere else it was that BAD. Reception shut at 11pm, because we gota late flight and got there after reception was shut nearly got turned onto the steet for the 1st night (which would of been an upgrade) Security guard was a complete p*ick, staff were useless couldnt speak english, sheets were dirty, graffiti in rooms, people doing drugs, the list really does go on! Would strongly urge no1 to stay there, particulary FEMALES no matter how large your group! Better off in the Mcdonalds opposite. If this place caught light it would do it a favour. I used to think people wrote bad reviews to spite some places but every bad review you read about this place is ACCURATE itsthe good 1's for this place that are lies. I have photo's if you need further confirmation haplessbackpacker@yahoo.com This place needs to be shut down!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here! I cannot stress that enough. haplessbackpacker@yahoo.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hapless b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

how is this place allowed to stay opened,its a crack house,people openly doing drugs,smoking,fighting at night high on drugs,i was told by dutch guy of his roomates smoking meth in his room late at night,the kitchen has nothing worth useing,lots of old people living here of the dole,drinking all day,reception is at the asian shop hext door,police had been here 2 times in 1 week,sleep in the street its safer

Room Tip: their is no good rooms in this hostel,sleep in the street its safer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paddy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

this place is a homeless shelter. drunks and drug addicts everywhere they steal your stuff beg for smokes and money.there was people going to the toilet in the tv room.fights everynite(no security).men going to the female toilet and shower.there was a drug overdose a suicide and a stabbing in the week i stayed there.reception dosent speak english.NOT RECOMMENDED. SINGLE FEMALES STAY AWAY FOR YOUR OWN SAFTEY.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank brett94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Dont ever stay there. Even if you book before they dont know about you booking the room. In the end we had to stay in single room, still had to pay 70 dollars, doesnt make sense. Reception is in the shop, if you get after closing hours you have to enter the place behind the fridge. The room wasnt great either, hair on the linen, carpet wasnt cleaned for while and fridge either. If you go to the bathroom its liked being 30 years back, everything is yellow and not clean or it doesnt work. So wish good luck if you stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#74 of 162 in Melbourne
1,082 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#107 of 162 in Melbourne
431 reviews
Central Business District
No photo provided
Discovery Melbourne
#69 of 148 in Melbourne
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#110 of 148 in Melbourne
483 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#50 of 148 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads Melbourne
Nomads Melbourne
#13 of 23 in Melbourne
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Hostel

Address: 490 -494 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $18 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Elizabeth Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Elizabeth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing