We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, hip decor, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location, hip decor, helpful staff”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

United Backpackers is a great option for affordable accommodations in Melbourne.

The hostel is centrally located right across the street from Flinders station and caddy corner to Federation Square.

There are a number of sights and restaurants within walking distance and virtually any other location is easily accessible by public transit right outside the building.

Despite being centrally located, noise wasn't too big of an issue. The building is fairly insulated, but as with any hostel stay, a set of ear plugs and a sleeping mask never hurt.

The kitchen is expansive with lots of electric stove tops, refrigerators and stove tops.

The communal spaces are pretty large with decent free wifi available.

The staff was very friendly and offered great insights into tours and events going on throughout the city.

Storage was a bit limited, but not overwhelmingly so.

With an amazing location, several amenities and friendly staff, there's no real deal breaker with United Backpackers. If you're looking for budget accommodations in Melbourne, this is your place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseole0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    185
    60
    12
    9
See reviews for
2
42
345
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed in this hostel coming from adelaide into sydney, i managed to get a room upgrade which was great.
the rooms were clean and spacious and i had no issue with the wifi and also had an ensuite.

i only stayed one night, but really liked the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GP W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Understanding that the hostel is relatively new, these guys are doing a great job.
Service is better than in other places and the rooms are fine, with plenty of space. Kitchen is nice and dining area exciting in the evenings. Air con in the internal rooms is definitely something to go for, particularly in summer.

However, the bathrooms are limited and with many people trying to use them, you could be waiting for a long time.
The kitchen is a little small, and there isn't always enough of every piece of equipment.
TV lounge is ridiculously hot and stuffy.
Also, the wifi is very temperamental and sometimes difficult to connect to.

They could improve by organising more events, and trying to add more bathrooms - (or even separating toilets and showers into separate rooms to avoid long queues. There is also no laundry facility, although I believe they are adding one.
Other hostels have their own bars, and I think that would improve this place a lot.

All in all, the location is perfect with bars, clubs, food stores and tram stops just outside the door.
I'd definitely recommend and will go back when I return to Melbourne.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aldeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Aly D!

Thanks for leaving your feedback. We pride ourselves on offering amazing services to our guests (and I reckon our kitchen/dining area is one of the best anywhere!) - the third floor air-con can be a relief on a hot day eh?

We do have the required number of bathrooms per person in the hostel - but yes they can get a little jammed at peak times, as can the kitchen (if only there was a way to make everyone do their dishes there would always be enough equipment!) - but we do our best to tidy it up every hour and have someone monitoring the kitchen 7 nights a week during peak times to make sure everyone is doing the right thing. The wifi is a bit temperamental. We have (and are continuing) to work on this issue and hope to have it completely sorted soon!

We offer (mostly) free events 4-5 nights a week. Everything ranging from our infamous Thursday walking tour to our (even more) infamous St Kilda and City pub crawls! We also host travel talks, comedy nights, trivia nights and more every week...we are always working on ways to grow our events program, seriously - watch this space!

The laundry facility is under construction as is our amazing bar (did you read our minds?) - we hope for these areas to be completed sooner rather than later!

We look forward to seeing you back at United soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my boyfriend. We only booked 3 nights but ended up staying for a month. Just kept extending. We stayed in alot of different rooms from 4 bed dorms to 10 bed dorms. All the rooms were so clean and the bathrooms. The beds were so comfortable. The staff were amazing here!! Every member of the staff were so helpful and polite. Nothing seemed to be a problem for them and they were always willing to help you with everything and anything! Travelled the east coast stayed in quite a few hostels and this is by far one of the best!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lib121991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback (everyone loves to hear good things about themselves!).

I think we have the best staff in the business - I'm glad to see you noticed this too. We truly love what we do and we love our city - so can't wait to share it with everyone who walks through our doors. Nothing is too big or too small for our guys.

We hope to see you back in United someday soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for location (right in the city) and social life this is ideal but if you want somewhere well managed with good facilities maybe not for you. The wifi was really poor and often didn't work, no laundry and kitchen was hot and over busy. They are really relaxed about hanging out and having drinks which is great altho some of the hostel staff act like they'd rather be chilling out and it can feel cliquey...
The rooms are clean but very noisy due to pipes and no air con meaning you have windows open in an inner city hostel plus very heavy fire doors that slam when anyone goes in or out!
Other than this it is clean and bathrooms all new and nicely kept

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello Caroline K!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. We take all feedback super seriously - and really appreciate it! I'm glad you found lots to like about your stay - you're right, this location is right in the heart of the best that Melbourne has to offer and we work hard to create a fun atmosphere too.

We are aware that there have been some issues with the free wifi and are in the process of reviewing this service so that we can improve it very soon! Our laundry room is under construction - hopefully it will be ready sooner rather than later, but in the meantime the closest laundry is just a 15 minutes walk (or 5 minutes on the free tram!). Yep, the kitchen sure does get busy at peak times. The slamming doors were also an issue that has been addressed!

Thanks for noticing how clean we are! We think it's one of the most important things in a hostel and work around the clock (seriously, there is someone here cleaning close to 24 hours a day!) to keep it that way.

I hope you had an amazing time in this incredible city - we love to share it!

Safe Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay with the greatest value, this is the place. With amazing facilities and very hospitable staff, you'll never go wrong. Location is very central and handy to both public transport and many restaurants, etc. I highly recommend this to anyone. If you're a singled out sort of person, you'll probably not like it as there is a great opportunity to meet and greet with your roommates. I enjoyed every moment of it. Thank you UB.

Room Tip: In order to get along, you gotta go along. It worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for leaving your feedback and kind words. We're super glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked an 8 bedroom dorm, but there were also people sleeping on the floor (?!?!) Really disappointing when you just paid $68 at the counter. The music from the kitchen was anoying to hear in the room on the 2nd floor. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable, but if I'm paying for an 8 bedroom dorm, I expect an 8 bedroom dorm...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanfey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Sandra,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Did you come and see reception about the extra people in your room? To be clear, at no time is this ok and had we been informed we certainly would have addressed the issue. People are sometimes unfortunately very sneaky!

I'm glad that you got to enjoy our super comfy beds and super clean rooms - we work really hard around the clock to keep them sparkling!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,707 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
993 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Property: United Backpackers Melbourne
Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing