We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Really loved this place for great location, nice staff and very new hostel.

Stayed here in December 2013 after arriving in Melbourne after midnight. Luckily got probably last bus straight to this hostel.

Hope I can come back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 623 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Really enjoyed my time at the United!!! The place is all new, clean and tidy!! But the best thing was definitely their staff!!!! :) Everybody was incredible amazing, friendly and helpful!!!!!!!! :) :) Their organized free tours are really fun, and the tour guides were awesome!! Not mentioning the location of the hostel.. right in the middle of the city which made it veeery easy to get around and explore that extraordinary city!!!! :) Totally recommend it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steph-rsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

very very very good kitchen (big and well equipped), rooms (and beds) have modern style and are clean (as is the rest of the house), toilets and bathrooms are all clean... staff is always nice and friendly, location is great... free internet didn't work that well when i was there (but it was the first week after they opened it so they probably have fixed that)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dominator1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My friend had recommended this place to me for its location, unknowing that it had just reopened days prior to my arrival, and I had a GREAT experience! I was only supposed to stay 2 nights, and then move into a friend's place, but when she saw it, we switched our accommodation to stay for an extra 3 nights. The staff was super friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about what to do in the area. The location is perfect as it's right across the street from Flinder's Station (one of the largest metro stops in the city) and near tons of shopping and site-seeing areas. I stayed in a 10-bedroom dorm, there was an outlet next to each bed, a light, and a locker (You'll need your own lock). The kitchen was massive with brand new appliances and dishes. There is also a TV room with comfy pillows and pads to rest on. Since wifi is only available in the common areas, it makes it really easy to meet people, though the WiFi got a bit sketchy when everyone was on it, but free is free! They're also in the process of adding a third floor with more rooms and opening a bar in the basement. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone! Overall:
Clean. Friendly. Affordable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hi there!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts about United Backpackers. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay! You can't be this location - right in the thick of things and surrounded by the best that Melbourne has to offer and top notch facilities to boot!

We've worked really hard to open what we hope is set to become the best hostel experience in Melbourne. The third floor is now open for business and the bar/laundry room is on track for early next year.

We hope to see you again soon
Jess Miller
Operations Manager
United Backpackers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Kitchen is absolutely beautiful although it does get very busy. Lots of fridge space, the best beds I slept in during three months of traveling and a great common area in the kitchen to get to know other travellers. Tons of bathroom/shower stalls. Fantastic location for seeing the city, free tram of the main attractions directly across from the hostel. Super helpful, polite and fun staff. Power points and light for every single bed. Cons: no air con (more of an issue for bedroom smells rather than heat) and no laundry facilities just yet. 9.5/10!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jdub271707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hello!

Thanks for your amazing feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back at United Backpackers some day soon!

Happy Travels
Jess Miller
Operations Manager
United Backpackers

PS: The air-conditioned third floor is now open for business and the laundry and bar are on track to open early next year - you'll have to come back and check it out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Arrived knowing this place was new with high hopes...i was very dissapointed only 2 floors open and on our floor the bathroom was shut so 2 toilets for women between 2 floors there were also 2 unisex cubicals but they were discusting no loo roll and the men were just peeing all over those toilets needed to be cleaned more than once a day! So paid $36 a night to go in a 8 dorm (very expensive but we were desperate) nice new beds but cramped room no air con just a fan and a window that opened a smidge so one girl and 7 lads a hell of alot of farting = 1 smelly room! No washing machines either they werent ready so had to trek down the street to a nasty coin laundry! All the while none of the issues were stated on the website it claimed to be fully up and running so i felt like we had been conned!! Now the kitchen was brand new beautiful yet no one was policing it so it was a state! Wifi was rubbinsh could onky get it in the 'communal area' which was a bit of floor space outside the kitchen so you were constantly having to step over people and the wifi never worked anyway they need a proper area sat on the floor in the way is no good for anyone! All in all it maybe a nice place one they get over the teething issues but in my eyes if its not ready dont open and claim to be fully functioning!
Bonus was the location but it was noisey!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review United Backpackers and for being amongst the first people to stay with us. I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we have been getting in-house has been really positive with most guests understanding in the first week of a large hostels operations, there are naturally going to be some operational teething issues which our amazing team are working around the clock to rectify.

We have been very transparent with our advertising even to the point of using construction photos on all websites and very clearly stating we have a basement level still under construction which is to be the bar and laundry due to open early next year. Our 3rd floor is now open for business. This floor not being open has had no impact on our guests, it just means we've had less beds.

Unfortunately we have had to do some unexpected further repairs to the bathrooms and recognise that this will have been of some inconvenience to you for which we can only apologise.

We feel that the kitchen and TV lounge is a generous space for communal area and the lobby also has extra seating and wifi access. Travellers love free wifi and will sit wherever they can to use it – if I had it my way we wouldn’t have it all – but imagine the reviews then! We’ve also worked hard to ensure that the kitchen is checked around the clock – every hour to be exact – and we do our best to keep on top of it – there is only so much you can do when people refuse to clean up after themselves – which unfortunately can be the case at times.

We would love to welcome you back to United to see the changes we have put in place to rectify the teething issues – we’re confident that we are now on track and bet you’d be pleased with the way things are running now!

Safe Travels
Jess Miller
Operations Manager
United Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Originally booked this hostel for just 3 nights as there was not very many reviews but we extended and would of extended more if we didn't have plans to move on.

The hostel only opened on the Friday as we arrived on the Monday so we got a special price for the first few nights but even when the price went up slightly it was still well worth it!!

It's in a perfect location on Flinders St right across from the train station and the trams (the free sightseeing tram stops outside too) so it's easy to get around with what ever your plans are. There are lots of places to eat nearby and the side streets are really querky. Shops are close by too and you can walk to many things nearby.

We travelled as a couple and had bunk beds in a 10 bed dorm, beds were really comfy and the toilet/shower facilities were really clean and available when needed. They have a massive kitchen with fridges and shelves to store your food/drink. Although was everything before you use it as backpackers aren't the cleanest of people!! ha!! WIFI was available but doesn't work very well when everyone is logged in!! There is another floor of rooms currently being finished and a bar in the basement due to open.

We attended the hostels first night out to St Kilda to watch the sunset, see the penguins and drink beer :-) which was good.

Would definitely recommend a stay here!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamiA987UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback - and more importantly thanks for being amongst the first people to stay with us! What lovely things to say! I'm super glad you got to take part in some of our amazing events (lead by superstar local staff) - Sunset Beers by the beach and Penguins is a truly unique Melbourne experience - and just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to great events in the hostel!

We hope to see you back at United someday soon (the bar is on track to be ready in early 2014 and the third floor is now open for business - you should definitely come back and check us out!)

Safe Travels
Jess Miller
Operations Manager
United Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,697 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 162 in Melbourne
5,079 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
674 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $26 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing