We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hostel is perfect, literally right out the front of flinders st station which is melbournes main train station. The service was a bit slow but the staff were really helpful and friendly. We had trouble with our room keys and had to get this fixed 3 times but considering the hostel is still finding its feet, it can be forgiven. The rooms were basic but comfortable, however the whole hostel was really hot, especially the bathrooms which had no ventilation. Not a bad choice for a quick stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts and (more importantly!) thanks for being amongst the first people to stay with us!

Yep - we had a few small teething issues in the first weeks that we couldn't anticipate (thanks for your understanding) but I'm happy to report that with a whole load of hard work from an amazing crew we've worked on rectifying these and are back on track!

You really can't beat this location - right in the heart of the best that Melbourne has to offer and with some of the best staff in the business!

We'd love to see you back at United someday soon

Happy Travels
Jess Miller
Operations Manager
United Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for United Backpackers Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 603 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Currently the united backpackers website advertises a full open and fully functioning hostel. (Not the case) an entire level is not even opened yet this includes the laundry (which the website states the have laundry facilities) so as we turned up with laundry got told to walk to the nearest facility all the way to the other end of flinders street, great stuff, along with the info you are staying on level two however the toilets have just been finished renovating and are out of use you will have to drop a floor and use level 1. Now as you can imagine the hostel is fully booked two floors and around 10 toilets!!! Nightmare, queues, no toilet roll, drunks leaving "mess". As well as this the common area is tiny so people are sat literally all over the hostel which is horrendous on laptops, phones, tablets using all the WIFI. Until fully renovated avoid this place as its cramped, over priced, and in a way they have lied about facilities!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomgun89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JM_travels_sometimes, General Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review United Backpackers and actually be our first Tripadvisor review. Clearly we did not meet your expectations which we can only apoligise for. The feedback we have been getting in-house has been fantastic with most guests understanding in the first week of a large hostels operations, there are naturally going to be some operational teething issues which our amazing team are working around the clock to rectify.

To address a couple of your points, we have been very transparent with our advertising even to the point of using construction photos on all websites and very clearly stating we have a basement level still under construction which is to be the bar and laundry due to open early next year. We do not advertise having a laundry anywhere but to save confusion I will change content to make it clearer specifying we do not have a laundry. Our 3rd floor is having the final touches put on it this week and will be open this weekend. This floor not being open has had no impact on our guests, its just means we've had less beds.

I'm not sure what size dining and kitchen you would consider an acceptable size as ours is large and then there is also the TV lounge which comfortably fits up to 30 people. Travellers like using the free Wi-Fi and this means there are a lot of people hanging out using it. If I had it my way I'd have no Wi-Fi so people socialized more but imagine the reviews then!

It would be great to welcome you back to Untied Backpackers if you return to Melbourne as I'm confident within a few weeks the place will be running like a well oiled machine.

Happy travels!
Anna Heaton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Escolha se possivel um quarto com menos pessoas
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Icaro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine M, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank _Paty1993_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine M, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WAN TZU H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank mnsintic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine M, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine M, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,618 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,011 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $28 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing