We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Ranked #96 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had an OK stay, nothing great nothing bad. Location was good the biulding is looking a little tired. Looks like they are trying hard to clean it up a bit. Didnt make to many friends, not a very sociable place if your not a big drinker, they have a busy bar next door

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleG692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are constantly renovating our lovely old building and you would be surprised how much we have improved since you stayed here.

Come and stay with us next time you are in Melbourne to check it out!!

We hope to see you again!

Happy travelling :-)

Love All Nations ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 317 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights with a big group of people and after reading the reviews here on TripAdvisor I was absolutely terrified about how I would manage to survive. My own experience of Nomads All Nations is different in that it is a basic enough place to stay that is not exceedingly uncomfortable. The bathrooms required a high-pressure clean and were generally clean enough to use and the beds were comfortable without any bedbugs. I also couldn't hear the nearby train/tram services and managed a decent sleep so there are no real issues there. The free pasta and rice does not look edible so steer clear of that. If you simply need somewhere to sleep at night then this is the place for you. Also lock your belongings up or take them with you when you leave for the day, as I did not trust the staff or many of the other guests one bit. Be wary with keeping your door shut at all times: we had a rather unpleasant experience getting a drunk out of our room one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geographyguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you soooo much for your review! We are really happy to hear that you were positively surprised and that you felt the previous were not justified.
Security is always a top priority for our staff, which has been with us for years. We do constant property checks to avoid any doors being kept open or unwelcome visitors in the hostel.

We hope to see you again when you will be back in Melbourne :-)

Love All Nations ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hostel was the only one available because of the Grand Prix and we were dreading it as it has such bad reviews. When we arrived it wasn't as bad as had expected, the staff were friendly, the dorm seemed ok and the female bathroom was pretty clean. There aren't any lockers in the dorms which was not so good, and I wasn't very comfortable leaving my stuff in there as it didn't seem the most secure. The main downside of the hostel was that the hostel has a tram stop, train track and main road right outside so don't expect much sleep! As it was hot we had to have the windows open so it was very, very noisy. I expect that if you get a smaller dorm near the back of the hostel then it wouldn't be as bad.

Also, this was the most expensive hostel that we stayed in, yet the worst! $40 for an 8 bed dorm bed which is very noisy is not very good value in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hey, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased to hear you had a better time than expected. Our staff pride themselves in being a friendly bunch and they are pleased to hear you appreciated them. As we are located in the city center, we can't avoid the noise from the trams, but we do offer free earplugs at reception for everyone's convenience
We are working on getting lockers and safety boxes for our rooms, but in the meantime we offer lockers on the second level for our guests to safely store their valuables.
The Grand Prix is one of the busiest events that Melbourne has to offer. Due to this, most if not all accommodation providers will raise their rates.
Thanks again for leaving your feedback, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks Nomads All Nations ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hostel was filthy when we arrived, the floors need to be cleaned, the bathrooms needed to be cleaned. Lights need to be fixed. The whole experience brought me to tears. I have never stayed in a hostel as bad as this one, and would definitely advice everyone I know to avoid this hostel at all costs. We've been backpacking and have stayed in some very basic places, but none as bad as this. Basic cleanliness is all I would have liked. I left after 4 nights covered in bed bug bites, and determined never to return. A nightmare!!! I've never bothered to write a review of a hostel before, but felt that after this experience other people should be warned!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!! Base St Kilda is in a much better location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hey, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very sorry to hear didn't have a good experience with us while you were in Melbourne. Unfortunately we weren't able to confirm you stayed with us in the past as we have not had a report of bed bugs in the last 12 months. If you would have informed management straight away, we would have been able to help turn your experiences. We have procedures in place to prevent you backpackers carrying bed bugs from hostel to hostel.
Following up on your review we have thoroughly checked all our rooms for any signs of bed bugs and could not find any evidence.
Next time put your onions in the fridge before you start chopping willy nilly or come and see management ;D
Pleasant travels.
Love All Nations ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived outside the Nomads All Nations backpackers hostel and a guy on a bench told us it was disgusting and not to bother. We had already reserved a 12 bed dorm for 3 nights so leaving wasn’t an option unless we wanted to lose some precious backpacking money. We went to the reception and found the staff extremely helpful, again we couldn’t ascertain which beds were empty and they changed 2 that they believed were. In the end it worked out they weren’t so they came and changed another two. There were no lockers in the room, there was a luggage room secured by key card and CCTV if you require it. The beds were clean and had a soft rubber cover on the mattress that you didn’t notice and ensured no bed bugs. The hostel has a mixture of rooms ours was mixed with a mixed shared bathroom. At first I felt awkward using a communal shower room but that feeling soon disappears and you just get used to it. I often saw hostel staff cleaning the showers/toilets/sink areas and they were very powerful shower with hot water. The cubicles were large with space for toiletries and clothes on a shelf and were really maintained. The kitchen was clean and large (a bit battered from constant use but completely functional) it had pigeon holes for food and large refrigerators (keep your food in bags as other backpackers will take what they think you won’t notice. The hostel provides free rice/pasta/tea/coffee/sugar that is always in full supply. For a 12 bed mixed dorm that was large and clean with all the above included we paid $26 p/n each which was among one of the cheapest. The building is an old refurbished hotel and it has some great character. You can hire dvd’s and pots by the submission of your ID as a deposit. They have a laundry room and a good communal lounge. Honestly my only criticism is that there was no air conditioning so we had to open the windows and the trams run right outside all through the night which was noisy. I honestly thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hostel. I heard some of the other rooms weren’t as nice as ours so I cannot say for sure they are all as good as the one we stayed in, but we were happy.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya10091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hey, thanks so much for your review. We are stoked to hear you had a great time here with us while you where in Melbourne. Our staff pride ourselves in being a friendly bunch and they are glad to hear your appreciated them.
Happy travels and we hope to see you again.

Love Nomads All Nations ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Do NOT stay here!! Building is old and in disrepair. Hallways are dimly lit and creepy. Lockers cost $4 a day and there are only 20 for the whole building. Some nice people, but also some seedy folks walking around too. Building wasnt very secure especially at night. The kitchen smells like the bathrooms at many other hostels, and you don't want to know what the bathrooms smelled like (that is the ones that were working). I walked into my 8-bed room and found clothes and rubbish everywhere. Sweltering hot throughout the building in the summer and no outside chill out area. Inside common areas small and people only used the tv room for sleeping. I've stayed in noisy places before but this was beyond anything I've experienced. Hostel is adjacent to the rail and tram lines and shake the building everytime they go by, which is constant after 5am. I booked three nights and tried to get a refund after my first to no avail. I gutted out a second night before moving out. Put a big damper on my first two days in Melbourne. Only positive things to say are that the folks in the travel booth downstairs were very helpful and the bar was fun despite being a total dive. Believe me you will have to drink a lot if you see have the misfortune of staying here. Please avoid!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike4567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you very much for honest feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to get back to us.
We are aware that our lovely building is over a hundred years old and are constantly having renovation and maintenance in progress. Currently we are renovating all bathrooms one by one and due to this some of them might have been closed when you were here. We apologize for the inconvenience. Also we are sorry to hear that your roommates were not very tidy backpackers. If you would have informed us how you felt we would have been able to help you out and have a chat to them. Our staff procedures are to clean the room daily, but we are not allowed to touch guests belongings.
We are happy to hear you had good fun with travel girls and the "dive of a bar", which is loved by all backpackers coming here for its great atmosphere and cheap drink specials!! :-)

Happy travels!

Love All Nations ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our last night in Melbourne so we could catch an early train. Didn't need our alarms as got hardly any sleep due to near constant noise throughout the night and no obvious noise policy. Parties in corridor to all hours.

Whilst noise depends on sometimes unthinking fellow occupants the hostel facilities were below par too. No signage on arrival to indicate reception is upstairs. Staff were indifferent and luggage room was full so had to keep luggage with us room available. Room was very basic. Price points for private rooms in hostels these days not much different to better equipped budget hotels. Main issue with accommodation though was filthy bathrooms and toilets. We put up with it for one night due to the convenience and lack of other options but wouldn't want to have stayed any longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hey, thanks a lot for taking the time to share your opinion on our lovely backpackers.
Our night staff have procedures in place to keep noise to a minimum. Sometimes it just takes them a minute to get up on the floor top control fellow backpackers. Being based in the center of the city obviously bring public transport noise with it, however next time you're here come and see reception for some free earplugs. :-)

Happy traveling!

Love All Nations ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#108 of 153 in Melbourne
154 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#113 of 153 in Melbourne
489 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 153 in Melbourne
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 153 in Melbourne
424 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#52 of 153 in Melbourne
125 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 153 in Melbourne
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads All Nations Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads All Nations Hostel

Address: 2 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $24 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads All Nations Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nomads All Nations Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing