We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Ranked #99 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed January 19, 2012

nomads terrible what has happened here. bed bugs, noisy and rough as. will never recoment this hostel to anyone. on a rough street in heart of city near the strip clubs sleep didnt really happen partys in the hall way staff who did nothing at all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 326 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

I booked this place because of the fab location, but that's basically all this hostel has to offer. The place is very run down and the rooms smell horribly.
After we checked in and went to our room there seemed to be no available beds. So I went back downstairs to tell reception. We got moved to another room. Only after the Staff moved some clothes and freed up the beds though. I got woken up in the middle of the night by a fellow backpacker who told me that I'm sleeping in his bed!!! Quite a bad experience.
Also the facilities were not clean at all.
Wouldn't stay here ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thuyvi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

monster size place, prices unusally high, staff arrogant and bed bugs galore! this property has actaully turned me off nomads. luckily there's always nice travelers to be found in big places, not counting the staff

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend, we didn't really know what we were in for with all the reviews but it was really good. Great friendly people, great location, the bathrooms and showers were cleaned everyday! The bar downstairs had great drink specials. I wouldn't stay here for a long period of time but a couple of nights is fine!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOz1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Everything about this hostel was terrible. There were doors hanging off their hinges, only one toilet out of 8 was in working order. It was noisy with people drinking and singing outside peoples bedrooms until 5am and the staff did nothing to stop this. The bunk beds had no ladders so bad luck if you were on the top bunk, the beds also squeeked so bad that you woke up everytime someone moved. It was dark, dirty and cramped and the staff on more than one occasion gave us wrong information regarding trams or anything else we wanted to know. They also don't give refunds, probably because if they did everyone would request one!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

chose this hostel off the free beer at check-in it states on their advert in airport b/c looked and cost the same as other hostels advertising at airport but with this extra perk. when arrived, they dont do free one beer anymore and havent for a while. this was first let down. on top of that, bathrooms were dirty, wooden floors very loud and room smelled. the location is great right next to southern cross station if your only staying one night and have to get up early to catch a bus or train, but i wouldnt advise staying there for multiple days. they should change their advert at airport.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyaah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My friend and I stayed in a twin room on the top floor. When we first opened the door, we were surprised to see an empty room with two bunk bed and a heater only, we got new sheets and pillow case, which is good. I personally love the room because it reminds me of the apartment where Carrie Bradshaw stays in "Sex and the City" minus all other amenities. It has the best location for public transport. The City Tram circles station is just a couple of steps away, and it is within walking distance to South Bank, Southern Cross Station and even Federation Square. We didn't interact much with others in the kitchen area or the staff at the reception, but I find the people there are generally very nice :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#116 of 155 in Melbourne
491 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 155 in Melbourne
654 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#111 of 155 in Melbourne
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 155 in Melbourne
425 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#13 of 155 in Melbourne
821 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#52 of 155 in Melbourne
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads All Nations Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads All Nations Hostel

Address: 2 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $26 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads All Nations Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads All Nations Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing